1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does this seem like a nice build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by malcolm2608, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. malcolm2608

    malcolm2608 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Does this seem like a nice computer Ill select a monitor when I make a final decision but this is my idea
    [​IMG]
  2. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,787 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    What are you planning to do with this rig? More importantly, what do you have right now (to see if its really a step up etc)? Can help us loads on giving you a verdict. ;)
  3. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,699 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    What are you using it for? For a start, the hard drive is too small and if you want to game, that 4670 is pitiful.

    Also, what is that RAM rated at? CL7 7-7-7-20 is a must for DDR3.
  4. malcolm2608

    malcolm2608 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    This is to play a few games like combat arms and call of duty
    I know this is really sad but i did it in like 30 min and its my first shot at it
  5. malcolm2608

    malcolm2608 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trust me this would be a step up lol. Right now i have an hp g60 laptop
    and before that an old dell desktop
  6. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,787 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    What is your budget? I guess it will be ok to play these games, but if you can push more dough, it can be a better pc all round.
  7. malcolm2608

    malcolm2608 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I have a $500 to $600 budget
  8. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,787 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    You can get much better, first off, you'll need to know at what res your gonna be gaming at. Then we can pinpoint a much better card (since you seem to like to stick to your hardware for long) so that it can serve you a long time. The 4670 is by standards... pretty much old. Something better would be a 5770 or a 460. Much better than what you plan to get. But again, it'll all depend on the res you re gonna play at.
  9. WordToYoMamma

    WordToYoMamma New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Malta
    That kind of rig is only good for things like WoW :// Need to try again, lucky everyone here is helpful ^^ , you definately need a bigger Hard disk, maybe 500-1tb, depending on your budget, and card I'd suggest the GTX 460!
  10. malcolm2608

    malcolm2608 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Any ressolution bigger than 1336 by 768
  11. malcolm2608

    malcolm2608 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I dont think I really need a harddrive that big. My old computer had 80 gigs on it ( 70 of wich i partitioned ) and i never came close to filling it
  12. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,787 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    well the higher the res, the better card you should get for your rig. I'd suggest a 5770/460 or higher depending on your budget. The rest seems fine, but I'd definitely go for a quad, they seem to ship for cheap these days. You might want to look at some athlon II/phenom II X4's, the cheapest sell for aound ~$100. Drop that in and you can get a decent PC that will last you some time.
    malcolm2608 says thanks.
  13. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,078 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,980
    here's a pretty good base build for your price range.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,787 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    I'm no amd specialist though, but does am2+ work with ddr3? Seems kinda odd.
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,078 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,980
    to my understanding, a am2+ cpu paired with a am3 motherboard/ddr3 ram will work together no problem
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,468 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,010
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    AM3 boards do not support AM2+ chips BUT a AM2+ board will support AM3
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,078 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,980
    you're right, I'll fix the build
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,078 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,980
    build has been fixed, now there is a am3 cpu in the build
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Samzon

    Samzon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Would this be something?

    [​IMG]

    You won't like it without a quad core and if you like some bling bling you could stick some LED fans on that Gigabyte case.
  20. Brilford Wimley

    Brilford Wimley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    That power supply is terrible. A Corsair 400 watt is better.

    Do you have an operating system?

    If you can spend $600 like you said, then do it. You will be much more satisfied.
  21. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,699 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    A GT 240? He wants to play games, not fold. GTX 460 minimum.
  22. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    493 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Some thoughts that come to mind:

    1. For only $30 more (after rebate) you can get a 5770, so much better than a 4670

    2. At a minimum you should get a power supply with active PFC, preferably one that is 80+ certified and known to be good too.

    3. AMD processors under $100...Athlon II X3/X4, Phenom II X2. Hard to tell which is the best value. Personally I would just get the Phenom II X2 with a decent cooler and take my chances, unlock rates for at least 3 cores seem very high.

    [​IMG]

    That would be a nice system for $600 with the potential for solid overclocking.
  23. Samzon

    Samzon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah I was originally suggesting a ~4850, 5770 or GTS450 but I thought he wasn't willing to put so much money in it. It's always hard to choose the graphics card because they change so quickly. I built this computer to my friend with a 240 and he ran a 37" HDTV while playing games like World of Warcraft without problem. Corsair 400W would outrun many other PSU's and are always 80+ certified. Personally I've got this Athlon X4 for awhile and it's just truly amazing. The performance was a total boost from a dual core. Runs all games at max without problems.
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
  24. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    493 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    From what I gathered the Corsair 400CX was replaced with a cheaper a unit that's not 80+ certified and has a sleeve fan with a shorter warranty. You could probably still find new 400CX units somewhere, but the 520w Antec Neo (built by SeaSonic) seems like a good deal at $60 too.
  25. Samzon

    Samzon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Overkill:

    [​IMG]

    Budget/overkill:

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page