1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does TPU need a vBulletin upgrade?

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by qubit, Apr 28, 2013.

?

Should TPU upgrade from vBulletin 3.x to a later version or a different vendor?

  1. Yes, update to a later version of vBulletin

    8.9%
  2. No, stay on the current software

    73.3%
  3. Not sure

    15.6%
  4. Change to a different vendor

    2.2%
  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    There's been a lot of talk about moving from vB 3.x that TPU runs on to a later version, or perhaps a different vendor. However, the forums and the front page have pretty good functionality, W1zzard said new versions would break the customizations and they also run like crap.

    What got me thinking about this, is the thread testing out a new style for the front page. I'm thinking that a restyling is all TPU needs, as everything works just fine. If it ain't broke, why fix it?

    What do you think? Vote in the poll.
     
    laptop-hpc, 95Viper and erixx say thanks.
  2. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    I would get tapatalk installed on both TPU and GN. That would make mobile browsing much easier.

    Do not switch to IPB. I worked there so I know deep down what kinda issues that software has.
     
  3. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Perfectly functional, simple, and it don't seem broke with vB 3.8.6...
    And, the front page face-lift seems to be coming together nicely.

    Then again, I miss the BBSs in the dial-up days.:)
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Where is this talk? Did I miss something?

    The version of vB that TPU is currently using is working fine here.
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,452 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,378
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    If it isn't broken, don't fix it. I think that TPU works damn fine as-is :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I like the current setup, never any issues... As long as Dan keeps his pets sequestered anyways! :p :roll:
     
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,215 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,802
    Every reiteration of VB seems to be crappier and crappier, and other software is bloated (ie. whatever OCN is using now- awful).

    All I would want to change on the forum is updating that banner/logo that runs across the top of the page. Maybe a contest for all those with graphic design skills is in order?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,857 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,463
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I don't see the advantages to upgrading as TPU works fine as it is. That's time and money to move to something new not to mention any bugs that might get introduced by the move. I would imagine that if W1zz was considering upgrading there would have to be some damn good reasons why he would want to cause himself a headache on purpose.

    If your goal is just to upgrade and not to upgrade for a reason, you'll be doomed for failure. Bleeding edges make it easy to cut yourself.
     
  9. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    OCN??? is that overclock.net that uses Huddler or the hideous blue one that uses IPB????
     
  10. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,215 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,802
    Yeah, they use Huddler which I have found to be lag heavy.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,055 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,089
    An update is only worth if it's more efficient and looks similar.
     
  12. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    And that's a different kind of forum software platform too. It's premium hosted... so it's hosted on thier servers. AVS forums uses the same and so does head-fi.

    Also IPB is way more resource intensive then VB is. You need at least a 512MB VPS to use it. Good luck getting that working on shared hosting. I also worked there and I know how messed up it is... LOL.
     
  13. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    /vote Fine as it is.
     
  14. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    This is a snappy forum the only problem I get is black squares around the Firefox address bar after enlarging images in reviews.
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    tappatalk is a biiiiig nono, it has some major security and privacy issues, and would basically give them access to a lot of things w1zzy would not want them accessing.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  16. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    What sec. issues?
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    basically, the app has access to the forums, login details and such. should the app (or its backend) get compromised, its a big security hole. its certainly not needed, i use the forums on my iphone and ipad fairly often without any issues.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  18. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    mabye GN can have a "lite version" like TPU does. That would be nice
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    yes it would. or its own forum app.
     
  20. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,566 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,677
    I like how it works now and see no reason to change.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    I posted this in the new design thread:

    We are not making any changes to the forums at this time.

    I'm monitoring progress on vBulletin 5 (horrible at the moment), and XenForo (v1.2 seems promising)

    We will probably know more later in 2013. So little point investing time now to lose all work later this year.
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Id rather see the Mobile App upgraded. No offense Wizzard, everything you make is great, but man posting on the forums on the phone with the app is pretty bad. It capitalizes every first letter of every word in my responses, and while no other forum app does that.
     
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,916 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    i retract my vote. it just needs restyling.
    everything works great and loads fast. newer version using forums take some time to load.
     
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    That sounds like a security nightmare. +1 on leaving it out.
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Works fine as is. I don't like any of the new versions of any of the forum software out there. To me this and YaBB (open source) are the only two that seem smooth and bloat free. I cannot imagine how many security issues are in YaBB, but it's a different password on the forum I use with it than anything so it's fine with me.

    As for mobile browsing I disable mobile browsers on my fun and use desktop view for everything since I despise every mobile layout I have ever dealt with and have unlimited data.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page