1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does Video Card Memory affect OS memory?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by suraswami, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Does Video Card Memory affect OS memory? Having 256mb vs 512MB vs .... will affect amount of memory left for OS? If so when does this happen? During Games/graphics intensive or it consumes the memory even if it is idle?

    Friend has BFG 8800GTS 640MB (not sure). Mobo is EVGA 680I. If he puts 4x1GB sticks, in bios and during post shows as 4G. But inside Vista 32bit shows as 2.8G. He says the video card has consumed rest of the memory.

    Is this true?


    :toast:
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    he needs to open the boot.ini file and put /PAE at the end of the line with vista so all 4 gigs of ram will be used even though vista wont detect it. a 32 bit os can only support up to 4 gigs of total memory, including the vid card memory. so with the vid card memory and all a 32 bit os only takes like 3-3.5 gigs of standard ram. use the pae switch so that all 4 gigs of the ram are used even though vista wont say it.
     
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    like this?
    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /usepmtimer /PAE
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I think he mentioned as "edit the boot.ini file and add the /PAE switch".
     
  5. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    With 32-bit, it totals up all RAM to 4GB. e.g. 4GB RAM installed, no GFX card, but it uses 8 MB onboard GFX, it shows up as 4GB. However, put a 512MB GFX card there, your'e down to 3.5GB. Bacically, it takes the total memory of everything (RAM, GPU, CPU Caches, Disk Cache (doesn't take the actual space on HDD) and even RAM on the sound card) and totals it up. If it exceeds 4GB, it takes the excess off your RAM.
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    You don't loose memory for having a video card. :slap:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    ha ha. read on.
     
  9. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Hat, what is funny about using superglue for cuts?? its a common practice, and far better than stitches, practically removes scarring. just a Q to you for why it was in ur sig :p we use it in the UK all the time
     
  10. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    stop sniffing that superglue! that thread was over days ago lol. :slap:

    BTW superglue is used by doctors in hospitals so it is ok to use but only if wound is sterilized otherwise you will seal in infection and cause serious problems so my doctor says never to use on big cuts.
     
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Ok why is SUPERGLUE people in my thread? I know superglue can be used to some pc components. But it is not the topic. Please stick to the topic.:slap::slap::slap::nutkick::nutkick:
     
  12. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    it was glued a cut finger together but thats way off topic. :toast:
     
  13. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    video cards "borrow" the system memory if they run out of their own but it only works one way. the system can not "borrow" or use memory from the video card. it is impossible.

    its a vista or OS thing causing the trouble
     
  14. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    ya ya i think its the crappy VISTA!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page