1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does Vista Ultimate recognize dual socket F or quad socket F processors?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by B1gg3stN00b, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    I'm planning out a workstation/media build that could take place of my current PC. Could I take advantage of dual processors if I got such a thing?

    Also, on a Tyan server board, will this function like a normal desktop board? It has the memory support I need and everything. Can it run non-ECC memory?
     
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Dual yes, quad no.
     
  3. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    So it can support dual quad cores?
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Yes, that's what I said.

    As for the motherboards, ECC and in some cases registered. Apart from that there isn't much difference between single and dual socket boards. You'd be better off with i7 though, better availability.
     
  5. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    I really don't like using Intel, I've never had good luck with an Intel system, nor bad with an AMD.

    Do you HAVE to use ECC memory for the boards though? Or would regular 32gb of 667 DDR2 work?

    Is ECC that much better?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page