1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does Windows Vista Support DirectX 11?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Ravenas, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,692 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Hey there,

    I have a copy of Windows Vista Ultimate laying around... Can anyone tell me whether or not Windows Vista supports DirectX 11? Thank you.
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,837 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,777
    Yes.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,692 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Thanks new just haven't used it in forever! :laugh:
     
  4. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    yes, but you need the service pack that adds it
     
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,692 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I'll download it np... not paying $187 for windows 7 right now.
     
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,674 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    US
    Get the service packs you'll get up to date much faster than letting vista download by it's self.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  7. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    If it at all helps, you can get it on the egg for $95.
     
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,609 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Australia
    I would strongly suggest getting the windows 7 that he has linked to^ Thats the price i get it for at Wholesale price here in Australia :S
     
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,692 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Well... Firstly if I were to buy Windows 7 it would most certainly be on Amazon.com because Newegg.com charges me tax and shipping. I don't have any problems with Windows Vista though, and this is just a storage computer basically, so I will be running Vista in XP mode plus will have all of the graphics toned down! Thanks for you help guys and your advice/opinions. It is much appreciated! :toast::toast:
     
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Ohio
    So why do you need DX11?
     
  11. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,692 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Because this computer has a backup DX11 card. :slap:
     
  12. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Ohio
    How does that answer my question? I see no reason why you need DX11 support when you're not doing anything that utilizes it.
     
  13. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,692 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I may or may not play games on the computer due to its location in my garage. If you must know. Thus, yes, I have the possibility of utilizing DX11. :slap:


    However, the computer will mainly be used for storage, like I said before.
     
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,397 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    Location:
    London, UK

    Read your stuff, you come across as not very helpful, i dont actually know what you are even trying to ask?


    He wants to know if vista can use DX11, someone else answered this already why troll or be a smart ass when their is no reason.

    If he wants dx11 let him have the damn DX11 why should it matter to you? he doesn't even need to answer you...
     
  15. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Ohio
    Alright, well that makes sense now.
    Maybe I was trying to save him some time by pointing out that he might not even need it in the first place.
     
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,692 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    The manner in which you went about it was rude. Thanks for offering you opinion, but try doing it with a different attitude. :cool:
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page