1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does your HDD cause any stuttering in games?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by LifeOnMars, Jan 9, 2012.

?

Does your HDD stutter sometimes in games?

Poll closed Jan 19, 2012.
  1. I have no stutters, my rig rulez!!

    24 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. I have these tiny stutters in some games, it's normal isn't it?

    10 vote(s)
    27.8%
  3. All my games stutter I want an SSD NOW!!!

    2 vote(s)
    5.6%
  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    The majority of my games run fine but I do have tiny half second stutters in a few different titles. Namely -

    BATTLEFIELD 3 - Single Player Campaign - Savepoints

    STALKER - SOC = At various points (AI engine as I understand it)

    MOST UNREAL ENGINE GAMES - Alice-Madness Returns, Bulletstorm, Batman AA etc checkpoints/new events

    TRINE - In the very first tutorial level as it keeps popping up help messages

    COD - All games in the series have certain stutters in specific areas.

    CRYSIS - Binoculars zoom in and the obvious save/checkpoints

    PORTAL 2 - As I enter a new chamber

    I have previously had an HD 5870, GTX 460 1GB, an HD 5770 and currently a GTX 560 TI and the same stutters have remained. My PSU is a brand new Corsair HX 850w. I have also tried stock clocks, looser timings on RAM, higher voltages on certain things at stock and also with my chip not unlocked yet still the stutters remain in the same games. They are not gamebreaking in any way but they have made me curious.

    I thought I would try this poll to see if it is a common thing to have these little stutters in games and do you just accept it as the norm or maybe there is a slight IO problem I am having with my particular system.

    Be honest and it will be interesting to see results.

    Thanks.
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    I have always had some stutter with mechanical hard drives, in RAID, single drives, multiple drives with split duty.


    The only time I have not had stuttering worth mentioning is with my current drive setup, and it still has a little hiccup on some games. But it is unnoticeable unless you are looking.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I have an SSD as my operating system drive but my steam games folder is on a mechanical drive and I cant say that i experience any stutter in these games... I think it could be your HDD but also the amount of system ram and VRAM you have to preload in.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Interesting, although I do only game at 1680x1050 and have 8GB RAM. Does your GTX 580 have 3GB of VRAM? And is your steam folder on the raided samsung drives?
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,250 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    No stuttering at all. Not even in Alice, and that's about the most complex game I'm playing atm.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Never had a stutter due to HDD . Never .
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  7. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    i've been on SSD for some time now. i got like 4 SSD's. not a hint of stutter. Actually all my games, from Crysis 2 to Skyrim play amazingly well with excellent frames even in 3D mode.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  8. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    Nothing i really notice, i found call of pripyat used to have what i assumed to be a hard drive orientated stutter, but it dosent do it anymore, even when i moved it from the ssd to my mechanical drive. (Maybe because the mechanical drive is not running the OS anymore?)
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  9. candreae New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Depends on the game

    Hard drive access speeds can cause stuttering in certain games if they are too slow. A perfect example would be World of Warcraft. Many people experience smooth gameplay when questing by themselves...but in large raids, busy cities or jam packed battlegrounds they complain of a lag effect. They add memory, upgrade their CPU or graphics to no avail. This is because the problem here is related to access times. While the game world and 3d effects the program can predict to happen will already be loaded into memory, the objects, textures and effects it can not predict will have to be pulled from the drive. These unique and unexpected objects come most commonly from the unique textures that make up other character's appearance and activity.

    Games like first person shooters are able to load pretty much every required rendering file into memory since the number of players is often very limited and the number of simultaneous effects can be predicted quite easily.

    Again, it's about what you play...there's no blanket answer to the question of hard drive stutter or lag. But for my mmorpg playing customers, I will continue to suggest solid state drives (and if mechanical hdd units get any more expensive i'll suggest them to everyone.)

    My first post here...try not to flame me too hard. :nutkick:
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  10. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I need to update my system specs, i no longer have raid samsung F1's... using just one at the moment (and the other in my secondary rig). The GTX580 has 1.5gb vram and i game at 1920x1200
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    I noticed some stutter lately in Skyrim, but a couple of days before I was using the same mods, and no stutter. Probably it's because of random background programs which I forgot to check. It's hard to determine whether stutter is due to the SSD/HDD or whether it's due to mediocre cpu performance or mediocre drivers...
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  12. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,349 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Hell
    Yeah I have them sometimes. Especially in some scripted and triggered situations or in giant scenes of distruction in some games.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Not that i notice, games on raid 0 setup.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    We either have a bunch of enthusiastic liars :laugh: or I have been suffering for years with an affliction that no one else has.



    I consider a stutter any sort of lag or jumpy gaming either while entering a large new area on a game, or due to lack of resources.

    Loading a level in HL:2 with the new cinematic mods installed on all high settings and then the first couple seconds as the textures are fetched there is a small amount of stuttering.


    Skyrim, transitioning to skyrim with ultra settings on (some adjustments in the .inf file and to AF/AA) I occasionally get a stutter, or when entering a new area like the snow in the mountains with a long view distance I get occasional stutters. Nothing that is gameplay stopping or bothersome, just barely noticeable on a game that is enveloping and immersive on a 46" screen, 5.1 and a dark house with a few creaks of its own from the hardwood floors heating and cooling.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,250 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    Just thought that there could be some microstuttering, but it's nothing I notice. In games like EU3 there is some stuttering going on when running the game on max speed and there's a lot going on and you move the map around but that is expected.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,906 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Florida
    I dont have stutter at all, but i have 6 HDDs and everything is spread out. I have a 60GB mushkin callisto SSD (OS only)
    programs/user folder drive
    Music/movies drive
    Work drive
    Gaming drive
    backup/image drive

    my games are seperate from everything even programs run off of a diffirent drive. my pagefile is setup on my backup/image drive as that drive is used once a month.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  17. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA

    You must understand that not all mechanical drives are created equal. Take for instance the Samsung Spinpoint F3's. Arguably the fastest mechanical drives on the market, and they are pretty fast. One of those drives will outperform a RAID 0 array of some of the older WD Caviar drives.
    Now you take 2 of those drives in RAID 0, and you're talking EASILY well over 200MB/s throughput. Now take four of those, short stroke them and use a dedicated RAID controller (Perc i5/i6), over 400MB/s AVERAGE throughput.
    And I highly doubt that 8ms of access time is going to cause any sort of stutter in games. Before I went with RAID 0 array's, I had stutter in games such as Oblivion. After RAID, not a one.

    But there's a little bit more to it than that. It depends on the controller as they're not all created equal. Some newer ones are actually slower than the ones from 7 years ago. Then there's partitioning and short stroking for head placement optimization and so on.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,601 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,274
    Defragging is a must for a HD, not sure how it affects SSDs...
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  19. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,336 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    Oregon
    Rarely have shuttering Ie always used mechanical drives. When I do its a when there is a lot of activity in a game. I dont think its the drive doing it. By then all the data is in memory. Unless its writing to page file.

    Are you using ahci mode? I use to have shuttering in IDE mode. Also I never Defrag but 7 does it automatically
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  20. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    i have super tiny stutters on SOME games but it's almost un-noticable and I use a WD 1TB green. I was using my SSD and i had none but i need more space then my current ssd so im going to hold off as my 1TB does just fine.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  21. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,576 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    No stutters, but then I'm very strict about what I have installed. I keep installed apps to a minimum. I keep my HDD completely empty, except for OS and games (BF3 and APB Reloaded). All of my downloads (Firefox and Orbit) are set to go straight to my backup drive.

    Keep your drive as empty as possible and don't forget to defrag.

    You brought some usefulness to the table, you're all good :toast: Welcome to TPU! Land of the Genius and Home of the Great :)
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  22. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I sometimes get stutters on Bf3, but then my PC isn't BF3 ready, and I have tons of photos and videos stored on it.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  23. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    723 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Using a WD 500GB Black for my Windows install and a 750GB Black for games and i have not experienced any stutter on any Unreal engine games (aka UE3.0) and Trine.

    Cant confirm for the rest though.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  24. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Wow nice replies people. Thanks alot for your input so far and taking the time to answer the poll.

    @Steevo - Lol, I agree. I'm supersensitive to both frame rate changes and any hitching/stutters no matter how minute in games. These are not what I consider game breaking stutters but sometimes I find myself looking for them rather than just cracking on with a decent gaming sesh.

    @Jetster - I'm in ahci mode and my disk has 0% fragmentation as I'm pretty stringent.

    @Scam - I just have os/games/drivers installed on the disk, everything else goes to my storage disk which also holds downloads and fraps.

    I'm moving onto a sandybridge setup with SSD raid and a 2nd GTX 560ti sli'd within the next couple of months hopefully. I will report back with any improvements/observations :)

    Keep posting and voting guys and gals, it's all good.
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,610 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,067
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Which Alice are you talking about?
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page