1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does your HDD cause any stuttering in games?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by LifeOnMars, Jan 9, 2012.

?

Does your HDD stutter sometimes in games?

Poll closed Jan 19, 2012.
  1. I have no stutters, my rig rulez!!

    24 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. I have these tiny stutters in some games, it's normal isn't it?

    10 vote(s)
    27.8%
  3. All my games stutter I want an SSD NOW!!!

    2 vote(s)
    5.6%
  1. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,029 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    I find it breaks my concentration and if it happens too much I have to stop and adjust settings as it pisses me off.

    My mechanical drives sustain 200+ MBPS and 12ms of seek time in RAID, but thats nothing to around 800MBPS read and 400+ write on the SSD's and .1 or less seek time.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  2. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I think he is talking about the new one.... Alice:Madness Returns
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  3. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,125 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    True and you never know was that a lack of resources or it's just game code that wasn't optimized or it was problems with windows compatibility . LoL and you start to run in circles download patches and new drivers, reboot your pc, run check disk and defragment, and even reinstall your game.



    Btw unfortunately many old games don't work fine under windows 7 x64 and I never knew why there's compatibility option if in 99% it never helps.
     
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,609 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,579
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I was thinking that, just wanted to make sure.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,029 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    page delta, I-O bytes per second, queue depth

    You will know.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  6. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    747 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Nope;)
    Corsair force 3 120gb FTW!!
    Also no probs/stuttering with my WD Caviar Black 2tb
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I do not recall any stutter in Alice:- Madness Returns.

    I do recall the stutter in Batman in certain areas where, sections are getting loaded but I have not played it since using a Quad.

    Skyrim does have some stutters initially smooth out while playing the game.
    I have noticed stutters and load times have reduced a lot since using a quad core.

    Stalker Shadow of Chernobyl was probably the biggest stutterer out of all games I have experiences.
    I would even get 2-5 second pauses when coming up to certain areas.

    I should try out some games since going from an old Athlon X2 to a Quad core.
    I have been told my loading times in DiRT 3 have halved when playing in online multiplayer so to an extent I do believe the hard drive is not predominantly the issue in games.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012
    LifeOnMars says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page