1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

don't know what the problem is, but computer is really slow :[

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by XPSP3, May 15, 2008.

  1. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have no idea whats wrong with my computer, just a while ago it was working really slow so I decided to install a fresh copy of XPSP3, I was on SP2 before. I wiped the HDD with a random pass then I wiped it with a DOD 5220.22 compliant 3-wipe process. I installed windows, used the drivers from my mobo cd, and other cds, I downloaded latest nvidia drivers, and direct x 9. It was working okay, but I didn't really test it.

    so let me sum up the rest. I installed kaspersky and turned proactive defense on and everything. This computer started working like a bitc*. for every 1 minute of use I had to wait 5 minutes for it to load something.

    Now even with kaspersky off Im having lots of problems for one I can't install poweriso

    any idea whats wrong with it?

    why did I buy AMD:banghead::banghead::banghead:

    computer specs

    amd 3200+
    8800GT
    1 gb ram 400
    500gb SATA II HDD
    asus A8N-VM CSM
    OCZ 500W GameXStream
     
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  3. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it doesn't let me run the program...
    going to reboot, and try something else

    EDIT: it might be some clusters I will run a chkdsk
     
  4. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  5. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Were you on SP3 even before the slowing-down problems started?

    If not, I suggest you do a re-install using only SP2.

    SP3 had some issues with AMD processors... (mainly consisting of pc rebooting, I dunno if you're getting that stuff as well?)
     
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  7. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just a note when I log on to my comp I get this [img=http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.a08ff0866e.jpg]

    then when I opened my browser to go to TPU hornymatches.com opened up, I have been on almost no websites on this comp other than google tpu, and yeah thats about it. Just now as I switched tabs antispyware master opened up out of nowhere, I saw a downlaod box appear and then disappear. I believe that I do have a virus, but where is it from
     
  8. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  9. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had about 500gb worth of stuff prior to my reboot, I didnt want to get rid of it all, lets just say I got myself a version of XP SP3 *not in the store* original build, well commented. it could be that source code had been put into that. other than that I just had a whole bunch of torrent things, I scanned all with kaspersky but detected nothing
     
  10. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Run CCleaner and see if that helps out, you may be surprised.........
     
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  11. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 4:55:27 PM, on 5/15/2008
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP3 (6.00.2900.5512)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\Program Files\PCI Audio Applications\Bin\EchoCtrl.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Mixer.exe
    C:\Program Files\cFos\cFosDNT.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Rundll32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\SetPoint.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logitech\KHAL\KHALMNPR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVP] "C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0\avp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Hardware Abstraction Layer] KHALMNPR.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [C-Media Echo Control] C:\Program Files\PCI Audio Applications\Bin\EchoCtrl.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [C-Media Mixer] Mixer.exe /startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [cFosDNT] C:\Program Files\cFos\cFosDNT.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Svchost1] c:\Windows\Temp\SecurityHackers1.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Svchost2] c:\Windows\Temp\SecurityHackers2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [1cc3c4e6] rundll32.exe "C:\WINDOWS\system32\qsxrbhew.dll",b
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BM1ff0f77a] Rundll32.exe "C:\WINDOWS\system32\vlmlydtr.dll",s
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
    O4 - Global Startup: Logitech SetPoint.lnk = C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\SetPoint.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Web Anti-Virus statistics - {1F460357-8A94-4D71-9CA3-AA4ACF32ED8E} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0\SCIEPlgn.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99f7-4bb4-88d8-fa1d4f56a2ab} (YInstStarter Class) - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yinsthelper.dll
    O23 - Service: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0 (AVP) - Kaspersky Lab - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0\avp.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe

    --
    End of file - 3355 bytes
     
  12. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    don't want to double post, but im going to go find that xpsp2 cd
     
  13. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    try to run in diagnostic mode.

    run>msconfig>select diagnostic mode>apply>ok, then restart.

    See if this helps any
     
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  14. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I can tell you 100% what your problem is as I've experienced it in the past so I can sympathise. It's regarding your internet connection being unsecured. You were most probably targeted by a random Port/IP scan and because your node has responded, companies have most probably installed spyware/ad ware/phishing applications silently. I'd had this happen when doing fresh installs of Windows XP even after a format. The only way I prevented this was to buy a router with hardware firewall which had better SPI defense.

    1.) Press control, alt delete, and double check that no applications are using an abnormal amount of CPU or RAM
    2.) download Spybot and do a full system scan.
    3.) are you using a router with built in hardware firewall? - if not get one! (check the logs)

    So it's definitely some form of virus/spyware/adware

    XPSP3, did you download SP3 from Microsoft or another reputable source, could there be a chance that your copy of SP3 could of been packed with viruses by someone malicious? Also do you own a router with built in firewall?
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2008
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  15. vexen

    vexen

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    192 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Svchost1] c:\Windows\Temp\SecurityHackers1.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Svchost2] c:\Windows\Temp\SecurityHackers2.exe

    NO GOOD!
     
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  16. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you I will do another reinstall of windows, and change all passwords from a secure comp
    I just don't think that messing with this comp will do me any good. I will install kaspersky before I install mobo drivers. so I can't at all connect to the internet.

    the one question I have is, can a virus resurface after I would clear the HDD with one pass of 0s, by that I mean overwrite every file with a 0. I am going to reasearch this right now
     
  17. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Do a fresh format, a format will kill any virus.

    XPSP3, did you download SP3 from Microsoft or was it using P2P, could there be a chance that your copy of SP3 could of been packed with viruses by someone malicious? Also do you own a router with built in firewall?
     
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  18. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Lets just say I got XPSP3 *not from microsoft* probably was, but it was well commented so I thought that it was legit.

    I will do a fresh reformat with a new XPSP2, and if that still is *virused* then I will just use my old cd when I find it
     
  19. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Yea, it does sound like you got some real funky version of XP. Use a legitimate copy of XP.
     
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  20. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wish I could mate.
     
  21. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Service Packs are one of the most popular downloadable files period, alway download from Microsoft or a website which you can be sure is legit otherwise you run the risk of noobs putting viruses inside. Secondly, if your not using a router, I suggest you buy one tomorrow morning, don't trust software firewalls only. My router stops hackers before my software firewall is aware that there is an intrusion attempt.


    Seems like you should be appologising to AMD
     
    XPSP3 says thanks.
  22. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I... I.. I ap.. ap... apchuuuuuuu AMD

    ROFL, I made myself ROFL

    unbelivable, first time
     
  23. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    AMD forgives you! :laugh:
     
  24. XPSP3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah I thought it was AMD, but I was wrong,

    1 more question, is it possible for viruses to inject themselves into iso files? XP ISO primarily?
     
  25. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Well there is no official SP3 XP release yet (only sp2). We might see them in stores next month as OEM, but there is nothing for now.

    The copy you downloaded was modified with nlite, and it is possible to inject software (which includes viruses) which will be pre-installed and load when the XP installation is complete.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page