1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Don't try this at home

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by damric, Oct 12, 2012.

  1. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    359 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    [​IMG]

    On air (Hyper 212+)

    [​IMG]

    :rockout:
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,406 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Nice :toast:,
    I cant be bothered to push mine more my board sux at voltage adjustment.
    Not that it doesn't have the option just the offset is screwy and variable between what bios is set at and what sensors report.

    TBH the AMD 8xx chipset seems to be better at clocking BD then the 9xx series.
    damric says thanks.
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,898 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    Rochester area
    1.8V ......
    not sure if insane or ....... has bottomless wallet ...
    sad part is even at 5.2Ghz a 2500K @ stock is still faster :laugh:
    nice none the less back the voltage off before you kill it and put it under some water and see what it will do
    you could probably get another 200Mhz
    is it screen-shot stable or game-stable i know it can't be prime stable so ....
  4. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,281 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Are those stock fans on that hyper 212+?
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    I'm honestly not that impressed. The dual module chips are pretty often seen of 5ghz on air for suicide runs...
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,898 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I give it a 15h before it burns ...
  7. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    359 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    2 Sickleflows and 2 shrouds.

    It never got much above 30'C even with the 1.76v because it was unloaded.

    These FX chips just tank volts. I might try higher. I could even disable the other module too.

    Right now at 45% OC. 50% is tempting. I'm also eyeing that #1 HWBOT position for air cooling, which isn't too far.

    I've had this chip since December and this is the longest I've held the same CPU since I can remember. I have back-up AM3 chips if this one shits the bed, and I'm planning on getting the FX-4300 anyway.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page