1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Doom 3 v1.7 game engine mod

Discussion in 'Games' started by Ketxxx, Mar 31, 2007.

  1. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Title says it all. I thought I would breath one final breath of life into it for anyone wanting to see D3 in more glory and detail. This mod is pretty top heavy on systems as I added in a little eyecandy and tweaked up the audio in the game. Anyone running this mod should have a minimum of 1GB system RAM, 2.2GHz AMD CPU (or 2.8GHz Intel CPU) and at least a very beefed up 128MB graphics card. Recommended 256MB graphics card or better.

    Before installing this mod be sure to have the Doom 3 v1.3 patch installed.

    D3 engine mod changes:


    - Brightness & Gamma tweaks so you can actually SEE the D3 world, dont worry all you wonder-in-pitch-black fans. Theres still plenty of that.

    - Armour rescaled for single and Multiplayer. Singleplayer armour scaling = 1.1, MP = 1.0. This has been done to help balance things in the harder difficulty modes and to make MP action more challenging and interesting.

    - Default speaker configuration quadrophonic (4 speakers) by default D3 doesnt support this, which is why its the default in the mod.

    - Shader sounds tweaked. This increases the immersiveness, making more sounds audiable, including sounds in the the near \ immediate area. and through some doors.

    - Specular tweaked
    - Increased bump mapping
    - Smoothed game FPS
    - Optimised game levels by pre-caching more data during loading
    - By default game now uses 2x Anistropy (multisamples left to be configured via CP)
    - Player now casts their own shadow, just to add to the jumpy factor a little.. have fun shooting your own shadow :D

    - I probably added a few other things I've forgotten.

    Installing:

    Just extract the .zip to the Doom3\base folder. Overwriting when prompted.

    Uninstalling:

    Just replace the modded file with a backup of your original .cfg.

    Enjoy, an let me know what you think and any bugs.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2007
  2. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Finally, a D3 mod that actually makes it brighter, not darker :) Way to go Ket. Did you make this, or did you find it somewhere?
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I made it. Nothin really complicated ;)
  4. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Hmm.. well, just some minor stuff for you... I played halfway through MC Undeground, then a damn shotgun zombie wiped me out. Anyway, heres what I noticed:

    Some GUI's are too bright, and you can't see the screen.
    Where's the gravgun?
    Imps fireballs are whit instead of ornage (On my PC at least)
    At the startup screen, Mars appears for white than red.
    Where the hell is the Gravgun?
    Pistol seems a little too bright, and so does some panels on the wall.
    On the incoming transmition GUI thing, the sound waves appear a little too sharp.
    On GUI's (decommisioned comm centre, the send transmission one in particular), it is blurry.
    FPS drops by 30 in light areas

    Just what I found missing and buggy. Oh yeah, put a gravgun in ;)
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    damn good mod ket good stuff only thing i found a little annoying was the fps i like top turn it on but i wish it was in the bottum right in a smaller font that and it may have just been me but the mouse sensativity was too high....dont know if you did it but as i said maybe me...havent been outside yet but i havent had the trouble with the white/red thing and ill see how the gamma treats me in real light nice though keep it up.
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I didnt do anything to MP apart from alter armour strength, so I doubt those bugs are due to the modded cfg file. Imp fireballs are correct colour for me (tested with a 6800GT and X1950Pro) What graphics card and driver are you using? Mars is also the correct colour on the menu screen, I can fix the brightness thing tho, thats not an issue. FPS will drop heavily in some areas, this is simply due to some demanding options which are used. I dont advise playing Doom 3 with this mod on any card below a 6600GT.

    Once folk are happy with the mod I'll turn the fps meter off, its just on primarily so people can see what FPS their getting with the mod. Mouse sensitivity can be adjusted using the options in-game.
  7. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I'm using a 7100GS, 104 version Vista drivers. 256MB VRAM, 1GB Physical RAM. Running high quality, 800x600 resolution. 2.5GHz AMD X2. I'll try this on my second rig tomorrow, which is CRT screen and a 6200. I'll let you know whether it's OK on there. And please put a gravgun in. I'll see if theres any other weapon bugs, or monster bugs.

    EDIT: Oh and another thing, muzzle flashes seem a little too bright
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2007
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Vista has very poor OpenGL support.. an you guessed it, Doom 3 is Open GL.
  9. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OpenHL version 2.0 I think? Anyway, it has Direct3D support somewhere too, but you need to mess around with the SDK for 1.2 Beta to get that...
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Vista is likely the reason for your odd graphical glitches, nvidia may be able to patch them over, so try and find a later driver. I didnt do anything to the MP aspect of D3 apart from adjust armour strength.

    ed - heres a mod for brightness and gamma, should be alright now.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2007
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    So I take it the 1.72 mod fixes the gamma and brightness for people? :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page