1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DOS Win98SE PC Build

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by KieranD, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Geforce 2 series would be a solid choice for this imo.

    Also: TnT2 should have hardware T&L[and some overclocking potential]. It can also play UT2k3. :)
     
  2. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    How goes the search for components for your build ? any new developments ?
    :toast:
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,079 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    I dont think the RIVA or Rage Series had Hardware T & L

    Geforce 256 (GF Gen 1) and Higher have it

    Radeon 7000 and Higher Have it
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  4. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Ah yes, you're right. Been so long. R.I.P. little TNT2.
     
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I didn't really want to post about bids and stuff until i had actually won some or got an item.

    That being said i won my self a boxed Soundblaster 64 AWE GOLD, so i am waiting for that to arrive. Almost won an AT case and working PSU for £15 but i was outbid by 50p! The seller said he would look for alternatives for me but offered a big clunky IBM XT style case; i replied it was too big and gave him the specs of a motherboard i won. I've got a bid on a K6-2 450mhz, DFI K6XV3+/66 Socket 7 Motherboard (Baby AT), 512mb ram, needs a cooler i think but here is the link... www.ebay.co.uk/itm/180874849792?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

    Won the auction and paid for it :)

    Alternatively i was thinking of getting a Slot 1 PIII Celeron and if i needed later on an old i486 for much older games that are speed dependant.

    I need some other stuff too.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2012
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    robn, dorsetknob and repman244 say thanks.
  7. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    "nice"
    just pm'ed you "re stuff"
    my AWE 64 is a bare card haven't posted pic's of it in other thread yet( now i'm almost ashamed to post my pic's of my AWE 64)

    ( i will i ain't that ashamed ):toast::toast::toast:
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  8. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Nice!!! I made one last year. Its great. I love vintage gaming!! Glad to see other people building old machines instead of using dosbox.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  9. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    I have a pentium 100 or 133 that I was going to use in another build but never got around to making it. I also have like 64mb of ram, a at psu, at mobo and a ensoniq sound card I'm not using. I had two computers built but just using the Celeron for now.
     
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  10. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Do socket 370 coolers fit on socket 7? as i need a cooler.
     
  11. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,583 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,152
    Location:
    Mexico
    Another fellow Win98SE user :rockout: sub'd
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Quick answer Yes they do
    Pictures Below
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    See if you can find one with a copper core and as big a fan as possable
     
    xBruce88x and KieranD say thanks.
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,959 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,563
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    And yet another. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
  15. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,583 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,152
    Location:
    Mexico
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I did follow your retro build, its pretty cool.
    A Pentium III build would smash an AMD K6-2 build; although if there is any benchmarks you'd like me to do for comparison i could them.

    Im in the process of getting a case and psu. I need a cooler, gpu, ≤ 120gb hard drive, dvd drive and ethernet card.
     
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,959 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,563
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    DFI K6XV3+/66
    AMD K6-2 450mhz
    512mb CL3 133mhz

    [​IMG]


    The board was advertised as Baby AT but it looks like ATX standard to me, unless the mounting is just Baby AT.
     
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  19. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
  20. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
  21. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    This was produced at a time when the industry was changing from AT to ATX
    lots of equipment was sold that was cross compatable ie power supply units that had AT and ATX power connectors for the motherboard Cases often had holes drilled to mount Stand off posts for both AT and ATX
    Some Motherboard also had duel power inputs (both AT and ATX)
    Got a generic PSU that has both power connecters (250w on /off power switch at rear) in the loft Still works
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
    KieranD says thanks.
  22. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    EDIT: I managed to get a close macro picture.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Its hooked up to the 20pin power connector and SP SW case header, which is a speed switch or some type of switch header. At first i though it was there for on some old cases you had a turbo switch but that makes no sense why its soldered to the 20pin power connector.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,079 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    that board is ATX form factor. Might be able to fit AT chassis but the specs say its ATX. Also the IO port array is ATX
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  24. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I lined it up with my mates ASUS AM3+ board i have here at my house and it matched up so it has to be ATX. Whether or not it fits in an AT case with baby AT mounting is another thing.
     
  25. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I bought 2 nice looking AT cases with AT power supplies. I feel like an idiot for believing my motherboard was Baby AT as it clearly is not. I knew from the layout it looked standard ATX but i kept reading and even the listing said Baby AT mobo, i wasnt sure if such a board could exist with ATX style features and Baby AT mounting.

    About to have some bacon for lunch so right after that ill post up some pics or even a shoddy video.

    Its no biggie i just dont know if i should keep one and get another motherboard or use one for another older 486 build or even just sell both and get a really horrible looking retro beige ATX case :confused:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page