1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DOS Win98SE PC Build

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by KieranD, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Bump for a pic dump.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    "IT'S A PEACH" is funny because here in Scotland peach is a slang term for awesome.
    Shame as i really like those cases but i would definitely miss the ATX features like PS/2.

    Okay so ive decided to keep one of the cases and sell the other and look for an ATX case and PSU. Probably will use one of the cases for a 486 project but not right now.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  2. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Sorry i dont update this much but im still looking for parts. Right now i could just spend a bunch and get them my the aim is not to do that.

    I need a Voodoo 3 or upwards, socket 7 or socket 370 CPU cooler, 120gb IDE HDD the newer the better, case, power supply and optical drive. Missed out on a few cases. Any help locating these would be fantastic bearing in mind my location.
     
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,666 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I used to have a 133mhz P1 MMX, too bad I didn't hold on to that. It was a full system that worked too, an old Sony Vaio.
     
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Gutted, Pentium1 MMX would have been great, if you disable the cache a lot of the games made for 486 and 386 work fine. An AMD K6-2 rig mainly does what i want it to do, its as close as i can get to an all in one 90s gaming solution.
     
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ive bought a CREATIVE ENCORE DXR3 PCI for £5.99 so that is coming in the mail, i still need a DVD Drive but that is not a problem. I also have a 5 1/4" floppy drive in the mail, not any use for this project but might be handy for another.

    Got a WTB thread up so any help is appreciated.
     
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ive acquired an ATX case; its basic but it comes with DVD drive, CD drive, floppy drive, card reader and some fans pre installed. No idea about the model, it has a Novatech badge at the bottom so its either a Novatech re branded case or was a prebuilt machine from Novatech.

    I only paid £11.50 so that was pretty sweet.

    I'll post up a pic of it once it arrives.
     
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    As you can see the case only has 7 expansion slots but the motherboard has 8. Luckily its only an ISA slot at the end that i wont be able to use. The case is well built, it looks clean and simple but not anything aesthetically pleasing. What i like is it has the late 90s early 2000s sort of look but its not a beige tank :laugh:
     
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,085 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,414
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i like the material of old case, they are pretty solid :toast:
     
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    That is a great point, this case is very well built and feels strong. The metal is thick and the only plastic on the case is the front panel. The top and the side panels have a nice textured feel to them. All the metal is nice and smoothed out, there are no sharp edges, no damage or big scratches, so the condition is great.

    I just got a bundle with 2x Voodoo 2 cards so i can hopefully SLi those, a Geforce 4MX and some pci USB and Firewire cards.

    EDIT: I've asked a mod to move this too Project Logs.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  10. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Geforce 4 MX420
    [​IMG]

    Voodoo 3 3000
    [​IMG]

    Voodoo 3 2000
    [​IMG]

    2x Belkin USB pci cards, 4 port USBcard, 3 port firewire card
    [​IMG]

    There is also this connection on the blue Belkin USB card
    [​IMG]

    Turned out to be 2 voodoo 3s rather than voodoo 2s, no problem.
     
  11. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I love the mobo and it will make the perfect win 98 build. Super socket 7. I have been looking for one of those to do another build for a couple years now but the price on them is through the roof.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Yeah they are genuinely hard to find. I got lucky on ebay with the motherboard, cpu and ram bundle.

    The expansion cards i posted, they only came to £6.25. The fact i dont have 2 voodoo 2s taking up pci slots means i can maybe install one of the USB cards.

    All i need now is a power supply, hard drive and a cooler.
     
  13. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,631 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Mexico
    I used to have a case like that with a PII 350 Deschutes. Mine said "Dark Power" though... :toast:
     
    KieranD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    My aim was to get a 80 plus psu for top end £20ish, struggling to do that.

    Just wondering if a generic oem Seasonic 80 plus 350w with 34A on the 12v would be sufficient for this build? I was thinking it would be but better to ask. The model is: SEASONIC 350W SS-350ET.
     
  15. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I can't see why it wouldn't. That psu should have no problem at all with your build.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    I Ran a Skt 423 p4 off a 300 watt antec just fine back in day that psu replaced a dead customers psu when i switched to skt 478
     
  17. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    I also had that "its a peach" case only it said super micro on it... I'm guessing it was an OEM case of sorts. Mine had an amd "p75" 486 cpu clocked at 133mhz... was able to overclock it to 150. was a pretty decent system for what i was using it for, played starcraft decently and warcraft II, handled mpeg2 videos decently and was a decent machine for web browsing and gameboy emulators. had 48megs ram, a 1mb opti video card, and some combo EISA cards with IDE controllers and such combined with the video. another had the sound, com ports, and printer ports combined into one card... a very odd config lol.

    as for the mx440 not supporting splinter cell, i think that was b/c it didn't have shader support.

    and about the PSU... didn't a lot of the older stuff use more amps on the 5v and 3.3v rails?

    the build looks pretty sweet so far for some good old school gaming. that mobo is def ATX... I'm pretty sure Baby AT had the big fat round keyboard port. I really need to get my old 3DFX rig rebuilt. I keep having to take it apart for w/e reason lol. then i can use my old Gateway 2000 Anykey
     
  18. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Yeah its definitely ATX standard, at the time i was reading conflicting info but i had already ordered cases then luckily i found the current case im using for cheap. Its cool as i plan to eventually stick a 486 in one of the AT cases; got my eye on a bundle with AMD 5x86, mobo and ram.

    The rig is nearly finished now, the last parts on their way and a friend is giving me a free 80gb ide drive (its free so ill take it lol). Only need to find a PSU bracket/adapter to attach the PSU to the case. Its crap that the PSU slides in the back and sits on rails, the mounting holes are for a bracket which was probably supplied with the case at one time. Its a generic style plate type of bracket, only one on UK ebay at the moment.

    I put in a 5 1/4 floppy disk drive i had, i dont think i will need it but better to have it in there just now then i could move it to the 486 rig.

    Cheers for the replies guys, glad its nearly finished :cool:
     
  19. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    80GB should be plenty for Win98 and w/e games you'd load on there
     
  20. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Here is a pic dump for the finished article!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I had fun trying to format this drive (sarcasm) using , Ultimate Boot CD, which i eventually did after changing jumper settings. Strangely this hard drive has a 32gb jumper setting but its fully 80gb. Ive got lots of drivers to find on the internet as i dont have a lot of setup discs, pain in the arse tbh.

    Cool thing was my mouse gets recognised by default drivers, i have a Zowie Celeritas which has a PS/2 adapter for full n/key rollover and my monitor was recognised right away. Bad thing was the Voodoo 3 3000 has, a small capacitor or voltage regulator, something is broken on it so i had to use a Voodoo 3 2000.
     
    TRWOV says thanks.
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,992 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,545
    I think the jumper setting might be to limit the drive to 32GB? I remember a lot of times that drives were exceeding the OS limitations, so they shipped drives with jumpers to force them to work in older operating systems.

    Kinda funny looking at the back panel: it seems like nowadays, all the sound, LAN and I/O are built into the mobo, but back then you needed to have a card to add all those things. I used to hate having all the extras rolled into a mobo, but now I can't live without it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Yeah i guess the 32gb jumper is for partition limits, 98SE has a 120gb limit. I think this drive is from around 2005 not sure though.
    I miss having the I/O have all the inputs, some older systems didnt even come with an IDE connection on the motherboard it was on an interface card.

    Having massive headache finding drivers for Creative PC-DVD Encore Dxr3 (DVD decoder card). I can find them easily for windows 2000/XP but not 98.

    Anyone know the best drivers to use for Voodoo Cards? There are a lot of 3rd party drivers from after 3DFX closed.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    98 se has 137 gb barrier. It require specific drivers n patches to fix that
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  24. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,631 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Mexico
    I need to get off my arse and finish all my classic builds. Then we have a Win98 shodown! :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page