1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Drastic decline in performance.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Aksh_47, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Hi guys, to begin with, i had a standard GTX 560.. i play on a resolution of 1366x768.. so the 560 could handle my games maxed pretty well.. Heavily modded Crysis 2 with 40-50 FPS.. Crysis warhead with max settings and AA with 35-50 FPS.. BF3 with 60FPS etc.

    But, due to some prob my card died.. ive now got an AMP Edtion as a replacement.. which the reviews claim to be as fast a a 560 ti.. so i was expecting some more performance.
    But instead, FPS have drastically reduced.. by about 50-75%.. FPS in crysis are in the 15-20 range, Crysis 2 doesn't go above 25.. similar story with other games.

    in most of the games the GPU usage also stays pretty less, temps dont go above 60. I thought there might be windows and drivers issues, hence i installed a fresh copy of windows and installed the 306.97 drivers.. still the issues exists.

    What could cause such an issue?
     
  2. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    378 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Is it a non-Ti amp? If so then your performance is not unexpected; less shaders and texture units even though it has high clock speeds.

    Other thing you can try is do a Driver Sweep/Driver Clean on your machine then install the latest drivers again.
     
  3. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I remember you asked in another thread if your PSU can handle this card. 430W is borderline. Maybe the card downclocks. Check in Afterburner or whatever monitoring sofware you use.
     
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Look for overheating/downclocks, I don't think PSU is a problem. Try other drivers if you have to.
     
  5. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Ive tried 301.42, 306.23, 306.97 drivers.. still, the problem exists.. here is a screen shot while running the GPU-Z render test.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,405 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    overheating and faulty psu, maybe even a dying hd.
     
  7. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    Re-seat the card. I had a problem with a Geforce 9800GT doing the same (after cleaning dust from the card/VGA cooler and putting it back in the PC), under-performing in all the games I had, it was literally a performance reduction of 2/3. After re-seating it the Geforce videocard performed the same as usual. So you should try re-seating the card (perhaps several times) before e.g. returning the videocard.
     
  8. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Should i turn down the clock settings to the values of a normal 560? Will that help?
     
  9. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    and while in games, the temps (as reported by MSI afterburner) are always under 60.
     
  10. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Update : Tweaking GPU clocks doesnt help.. There is still low GPU usage in games. Will try re-seating the card.. And this card is just RMAd, got it 4 days back.. dont want to do it again :/ So i hope its not a GPU problem.
     
  11. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Okay so i re-seated the card, and for the first 2 minutes of the games i ran, the card performed how it should.. I got 120 FPS in borderlands 2 and GPU usage went up till 90%.. but then the GPU usage decreased and so did the frames.. GPU usage came down to 40% and frames to 20.. :/ Please help me guys! this is really irritating!
     
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Sounds like heating issues to me, run furmark to confirm throttling?
     
  13. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Sorry i dint get u.
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    How does your CPU usage look? Is it possible that you're bottle-necking on your CPU? A 3ghz 1156 i3 might be struggling. I would watch your CPU usage while you play.
     
  15. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    CPU and GPU usage while Borderlands 2 was on.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    have you tried a more powerfull Psu?


    try running furmark and checking if the performance drop is there as well. if its there, its time for a better PSU. 430W for a 560AMP edition is cutting it too close.
     
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    How do other games perform? I'm assuming you have vsync off as well.

    My Phenom II 940 did the same exact thing with certain games on a single 6870 and come to find out that overclocking the memory gave me performance improvement because the game was limited not by the CPU or GPU, but rather by memory speed. Could you change your memory speed to see if it makes a difference, faster or slower, it shouldn't matter. If memory speeds strongly impacts your performance that is why. Your memory is running in dual-channel mode, right (might want to double check that it is)?
     
  18. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I would almost say the PSU but it worked before with the other 560.

    This looks like you should probably RMA, you've done all you could from what I see.

    It is definitely not your CPU. They are not not throttled so much as they scale with your CPU, and the gains are miiniscule. This is not your case.
     
  19. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Maybe you are having issues with the power distribution to the Zotac GTX 560 Amp Edition. What did kill your last GTX560 anyway? You really have bad luck with GTX560s.

    Anyway, when did you buy your Corsair CX430 PSU and how old is it? And how many hardware/components did you hook up to the PSU, including case fans, harddrives etc.? Perhaps you should let someone check on your PSU if it's really working properly. It can't be a coincidence that your last GTX 560 went defective while your current GTX560 Amp Edition is also having issues. So perhaps it's the power supply unit? Voltage that falls out of spec, Ripples and noises can damage hardware.
     
  20. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Okay guys so here is a screen shot while furmark was on.. it was locked at 30FPS, benchmark was done at a resolution of 1366x768, with no AA.
    [​IMG]

    I also ran 3D Mark 11 with performance preset and the scores are as follows :
    [​IMG]
     
  21. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Hmm.. so is the PSU the culprit? Rite now RMAing it would be difficult for me.. any way so as to i can reduce the power consumption of the system so that my GPU doesnt suffer?


    And the stuff im using rite now, Intel Core i3 540 processor @stock, 3x120mm LED fans, GTX 560 AMP, 1x1TB HDD, normal intel CPU cooler.
     
  22. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I see the GPU freq at 631Mhz? It seems that your CPU is suffering, the Physics score is awful, is it running at 3.06 GHz?
     
  23. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    i think psu...
     
  25. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Umm.. i dont have enough funds rite now for an upgrade :(
    Any way to temporarily lower power consumption? disconnecting all the case fans would help?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page