1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Drastic decline in performance.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Aksh_47, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,627 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    do a research of thermal paste tests before just buying one
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,627 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    if you remove the stock heatsink you might aswell replace the TIM right then and there as if it gets damaged its worthless
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well yeah, but the way the temps act for him, seems like theres barely any on there anyways. but Yea he needs to get some. Just be interesting to know if theres much on there right now. Or if the cooler is even making correct contact.
     
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,845 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,452
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If your temps are really that bad, one of 3 things has happened.

    1. Your HSF is full of dust and has reduced air flow so it over heats.
    2. Your HSF was not mounted properly (too loose or not enough/too much thermal compound.)
    3. Your HSF is defective.

    I doubt that the HSF is defective but I would still recommend buying a new cooler. The only time I've ever seen a processor go this high is because the cooler wasn't fully mounted. (skt775 stock cooler, you know those stupid plastic push pins that lock into place? One of mine was broken so it was only held on with 3 pins (also in rough shape.) and I turned the machine on and I was at 100 degreees in a matter of seconds. It actually shut the machine down to prevent damage.

    Either way, I would replace the cooler to be on the safe side, even more so if you're using the stock cooler.
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,627 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    well majority of stock heatsinks come with a Tim Strip.
     
  8. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    u can use any termal grease..,yesturday i was just reading about termal solutions where i found sooo many diferent termal greas used(they eve include chocolate,mustard as grease)
    and u wouldnt belive how litle diference cheap and expensive compound make..
    even mayonaise make beter cooling then many comerical termal grease!"dont use chocolate it is worst!! :)
    the point is use some mid range and do not wory about it!! i think i will search for the chart for u to see!!
     
  9. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,914 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    you can try toothpaste. wouldnt matter much with a stock i3 540.
    do you have any case fans?
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,627 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    hmm so i was right about the Antec Thermal Compound being pretty good (thats what I used initially on my laptop after cleaning it and modding it slightly)
     
  12. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,627 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
  14. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    The CM 212 is kinda out of my budget :p Since i wont be doing any overclocking for now, would that deepcool be good?
     
  15. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    And thanks to all the member here for helping me find out the prob.
    :respect:

    Will update once i get the thermal compound and heat sink.
     
  16. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    no problemo!! nice to be helpfull :)
    i think any aftermerket cooler would be superb..
    let us know when u get it how it runs now!!
    i neve read if anyone answer u what is throtling..well in ur case is cpu(an that can hapen to gpu or some other pc component)...,if it get overheated,or underpowerd or something else he just lover clocks to start task all overagain!
     
  17. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Update guys, got the thermal paste installed, and temps down by nearly 35C.. using stock cooler for now.. new 3D Mark scores
    [​IMG]

    And not to forget,

    Techpowerup rocks!!

    :toast:
     
    Pehla, Crap Daddy and 3870x2 say thanks.
  18. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    GJ and thanks for posting the results of your predicament.

    We can now deduce that overheating CPU is in fact detrimental to the system.
    :D
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Nice work OP. That is a huge difference in temperature with just a thermal paste change.
     
  20. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    With those temps, either he didnt have any thermal paste, or he was using woodchips for thermal compound.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I just think that the stock cooler wasnt making correct contact, thus not putting pressure on to spread the stock thermal paste strips. So he was really not getting much heat transfer at all. With the new paste along with the reseat that has gotten rid of all the above issues.
     
  22. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,069
    Told ya it was your CPU. Glad you sorted out. Are the games working better now?
     
  23. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    I dont know wat was wrong before, but there was compound on, guess it dint make proper contact.. some pictures of what was in there before :

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Games seem to working good now.. :) The extra overclock on the AMP edition seems to have a difference of ~5 frames in games.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,774 (9.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Glad you got it solved! This had me LOLing!

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,841 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    According to EVGA and MSI you need 500w and 30-31 amps total system power for a 560 Ti. Your CX430 has only 28A, kinda pushing it on the PSU.

    And are you running just the stock CPU cooler at that OC speed?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page