1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dream Folding Machine

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by Jizzler, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    After seeing the PPD that some of you are getting with nVidia's latest generation, would it be safe to say that a 100K PPD machine is possible? Could max out on clients with eight GTX 295's!

    My question is, would having a high-end card in an x4 or x1 slot degrade performance noticeably?
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    yes putting them in an X4 or X1 slot kills them it has since the 8 series
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Yes it would. See fitseries machine thread. A 16X to 8X made 3dm vantage went down 1000 points. If it went to x1 then probably will bottleneck up to 5000points.
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Does folding also need all that bandwidth then? 3Dmark says nothing about folding.
     
  5. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    No but i'm just trying to point out that putting it in a 4x/1x will degrade performance a lot.
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    yes it does its rendering on the cards it uses the entire bandwidth
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I was hoping that with the number of boards out there with an x16/x4 or x16/x1 configuration, someone here had experienced a drop in points, and if so, how much?

    My thought was that the behavior of the Folding client was different than that of a game and might not require a full x16 slot to keep pace.

    Thanks for the replies so far.
     
  8. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    x8 slots have no affect on folding. X4 might, but I have no experience with that application.
     
  9. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Guys unless you know for a fact you should not post. You can run any card 4X for Folding without any hit in performance.

    However for benching and gaming that is not the case.

    I know this for a fact.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,038 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Ok, you can max out on cores with 8 295's, but where are you going to find a board with 8 PCI-E slots, regardless of speed? Maybe a server board, I guess, do any exist?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    my dream folding rig as of now would include eVGA x58 core i7 965 3x GTX 285's 3gb DDR3 1066 o.c. to 2GHz
     
  12. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    He is gonna wish really hard for it :D
     
  13. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I'm mainly asking out of curiosity, though it would be possible today.
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    F@H doesn't move large chunks of data (like 3D apps move texture and mesh data). We're back to that old argument where PCI "bottlenecks" an Ageia PhysX card.
     
  15. The Haunted

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    311 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    There is one thing people seem to forget, pcie 2.0 is double the bandwidth of pcie 1.
    So with a chipset that allow only 8x/8x for crossfire its still 16x...
     
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  17. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    hey fits whats with the extra mounting hardware? dosn't the dark night come with aretention bracket and bolts?
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    DK doesnt come with 1366 mounts.
     
  19. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    oh ok i see, goodthing i said somehing and you corrected me i would have been enraged if i were to order this before hand! i plan on this the 3gb DDR3 1066MHz the eVGA x58 and a 920 in late march
     
  20. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Like Cyber said, F@H only uses the GPU to crunch numbers. PCI-E bandwidth plays no part in this. So you could have PCI 8*** cards crunching and it wouldnt matter. Just more ppd for you.
     
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    HOLY CRAP!

    you better believe im getting one of these!

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    WITCHCRAFT!! :eek:
     
  23. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    HOLY SHHHHHHHHHHHEEEEEEEEEE!
     
  24. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    One of those with seven water cooled GTX 285s would be absolutely astounding for PPD/hardware density!
     
  25. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    also 4 watercooled GTX295's would give 8 folding GPU's on that board..... nice.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page