1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Drive firmware upgrade?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Fitseries3, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i've read alot about how updating a hdd's firmware will speed it up a bit.

    i just got 2 maxtor atlas 15kII 36gb sas drives and im interested in seeing what can be done to get them even faster.

    where do i look for the firmware? how to i update it?
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,136 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    US
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the cheetahs are the only drives i've seen firmware upgrades publically announced for.
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,367 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,677
    Location:
    Florida
    well i update my dvd drives firmware once in awhile i should look into the hdd's but you might have a hard time looking. for example i cant find the info on my drives i need to use the firmware update utility they came with. when in doubt contact a rep though they might have an ftp link for you....or you could try looking yourself...if you have an idea of were their DL directory is you can try and manually FTP:// it i do that when i need to explore the drectories of nvidia for something spacific that i cant find a link to...who knows you might find some other treasures as well i do sometimes.
     
  5. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    Why would you need to update them, obiously there isnt any updates if you cant find any, they only release firmware if its absoloutly needed for a major flaw or problem, your drives dont have a problem do they?

    Are you dissapointed in there performance or something?

    On another note, when you get time slam up some HD tach results for us to have a squiz at..
     
  6. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,267 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Be careful about updating HDD firmware. IIRC the firmware has all kinds of settings in it that are unique to the ONE drive or the BATCH of drives that optimises how the heads move, end of drive, seek method, exactly what "head" instructions are used etc.

    If you COULD and DID change the firmware on an older HDD with the firmware of a newer HDD (even of the same model) there could be problems.
     
  7. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    Still waiting on those HD Tach results Fisty.
     
  8. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Found this Dell page with a link to Firmware "R164704" for your drive.

    Dell Maxtor Firmware

    You'll see that It's called the Maxtor Blackbird.....which Is another name for your Atlas...which you will see a note on the center of the page.

    Hope it helps. :)
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    it seems those are for scsi drives and not my sas drives :(
     
  10. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Yea, i agree with what some said above. be extra creaful with this stuff, its not the same as flashing your board, lol

    Though i'm interested to see what kind of performance are you getting right now. Is it in line with the reviews posted for these drives?

    One thing you can do to increase performance is to get a dedicated RAID controller card. The fake software RAID is obviously not as fast. I would at least consider this option, even if you do manage to find some firmware upgrade.
     
  11. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    single drive

    15000rpm sas

    [​IMG]

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    raid 0 vrap 300gb's

    [​IMG]


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    raid 0 sas drives

    [​IMG]


    ____________________________


    2x wd 10k rpm 300gb vraps = $380

    2x Maxtor 15k rpm 36gb atlas' = $100

    overall...

    SAS takes the win.

    :toast:
     
    KBD says thanks.
  13. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    omg, man look at those access times for the SAS drives, very cool, thnx for posting.


    one thing i see as a problem is a low burst rate on your veloci in RAID 0, you should've enabled volume write back cache and then you would've got a burst rate comparable to or better than the SAS drives. I'm getting almost 3,000 MB/s with my 74GB veloci in RAID 0 which is a little more than you are getting with your SAS drives. If you have that option on the Marvell controller turn it on and see what happens. Otherwise it looks great to me.
     
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i dont have the vraps any more so yeah.

    the only problem i have now is i dont have a sata drive for non sas boards.

    i need a perc 5/i asap
     
  16. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    oh, well, i thought i'd point that out. Dell Perc 5/i is great, start hunting on ebay, they can be had for around $200 or less if you are lucky.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page