1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Driver Errors need help!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Xazax, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    I have a huge problem, it started at first in SUPCOM the screen would flicker black and i would get a message "Driver has stopped working and recovered" ok.. so i press on... it contiunes to happen in supcom for another 5 times and when i try to play another game it completely crashes the game.

    I updated the Driver the 169.28 but no luck. So i abandon supcom and play some other games like COD4, MTW2 and CoH, but now i get that problem in every game where is didn't use to happen at all! The screen flickers black the game stops working for 3 seconds, then it recovers and it playable again, what i noticed just recently when trying to play MTW 2 it be fine for the first say 20 mins give or take then the errors occur.

    Well im lost at what to do? updating didnt help, i uninstalled the driver, use driver CLEANER-PRO to remove it, then reinstalled and still the same problem.

    i am at a total loss of what to do? any help, ideas, suggestions? i sucks i cant play anygames!

    Look at Sig for Computer Specs!(using Windows Vista ultimate 64-bit)
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  2. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    US
    lol, you don't have any sig
    but anyway, i would try to may be reinstall Vista
     
  3. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    I see no sig or system specs filled out....

    Are any components overclocked? What, if anything has changed since this started happening?

    SUPCOM is a killer on systems. Anything that is unstable will crash and potentially corrupt drivers/BIOSes/drives.

    We need a little more to go on, specifically what has changed/installed/removed recently.

    If you have System Restore enabled, take a look at the recent restore points to see if there was anything that could contibute to the instability.
     
  4. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Just added my Sig and System Specs.

    I cant do system restore because no restore points were created during the time it started screwing up

    E6750@ 3.8Ghz/ Zalman 9500
    EVGA 780i
    EVGA 8800GT 700/1750/1000
    4x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1066Mhz(5-5-5-15 2T)
    ASUS XONAR-D2
    2x250GB RAID 0
    PC Power&Cooling 750 Quad Silencer
    Antec 900 Gaming Case
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  5. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Please go back into your User CP and System Specs tab. There is a dropdown at the top that you must select "yes" to show others your specs.


    Now that you've put something in your post above, it looks like the overclocks aren't gonna work that fast while gaming. Try kicking some back and see if the same thing happens.

    I know, I know. Nobody wants to back off their OC, but instabilities are instabilities.

    You still haven't let us know if anything recently changed....
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  6. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    you think its the OC? i ran Prime95 and it was stable for 8 hours with that OC speed. I was thinking more along the lines as something got screwed in Vista.. but what?
     
  7. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Well that's fine for your CPU, but you've got an extra 100MHz on your GPU core and I'm not familliar with shader clocks.
    Gaming is a different ball of wax in regards to stability.

    Are you saying that this is you initial foray into Vista? Meaning as soon as you tried to game in Vista, you started getting the recoveries?

    There has been a lot of documentation regarding that error in Vista with ATi and NVIDIA cards. I have not experienced it.

    BTW, if your specs are what you are currently running, your RAM timings look pretty tight, Have you checked them with Memtest or some other prog?
     
  8. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    No, i just completed this build with Vista 64-bit i used Vista 32 bit before so i know how it works,

    well after a stress test of gaming using SUPCOM this is what i found out

    The game will run fine with no errors for a good 20-30mins, then errors start occuring when things get "heavy" first there infrequent, from time to time, then during one part of the game it wouldnt stop, it would go black screen, then recover, then black screen, recovered, every second until i got a BSOD.

    I might of found the problem, i started to think it was the ram so i went to swap it out and when i did the RAM Modules were really hot, not enough to burn your hands but they felt too hot for just some RAM.

    So ill test with the RAM i put in see if i get the same errors, if i do, well then its obviously something else.

    As for OCing my 8800GT does 700/1000 like a charm many companies have there own "factory OCed' to this very speed so i dont think that can be the problem.

    Thanks for the help anyways!

    Update: Well it wasnt the RAM i still got Driver errors, any idea i really need some help here, either then a complete reinstall of Windows Vista i dont know what to do!
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page