1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Driver Finder

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by Solaris17, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    Very small program I made that direct links to the download page for many popular manufacturers. It beats manually searching the site. It doesnt need to be installed and takes up just over 1MB. It DOES require .net 4.0

    XP users, you are going to need atleast SP3 and .net 4


    Stable: http://www.sudvd.net/Downloads/Driver Finder.exe

    NIGHTLY BUILD: http://www.sudvd.net/Downloads/Beta/Driver Finder.exe

    Fancy BUILD: http://www.sudvd.net/Downloads/Beta Fancy/Driver Finder.exe

    The life and adventures of Driver Finder

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,300 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Thanks, Solaris17... 'scribed!:)

    I am going to definitely look at this and give feed back, as I think this might be a nice/helpful app for my tool kit.:toast:
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  3. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    "" Ello ""
    just tried it in xp pro sp3 got this message

    "" to run this app you must first install net framework V4.0.030319 ""

    thought you would appreciate the feedback
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    i thought this was about the spammy fake driver apps of the same/similar name. good to see a useful driver program for once.


    You should add c-media to the audio, as lots of high end cards use their drivers.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    @Sol

    What do you mean by "isn't updating"?

    Also...

    Are the site links hardcoded in the utility? If so, it will break if the site moves the driver page(s).
    I would make it so the user could edit the page links and also add buttons for additional links if they want to do so.
    95Viper says thanks.
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,300 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    +1 and agree.

    Each user could tweak the app to their needs, as each system/user has different needs/hardware, and this would go a long way to reducing clutter in the apps screen.
    Maybe, an add, delete, and edit option, for the buttons, in a settings menu.


    Also, under universal, Microsoft Hardware button/link might do.

    This might be helpful for those hard to find drivers: Microsoft®Update Catalog

    And, a TPU forum button?;)
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2011
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    Well im trying to set it up to auto update and it publishes to my site fine. However when i start it up it doesnt detect the newer version on the server and theirfor doesnt update.
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    That's kind of difficult to answer without seeing the code that you are using to check for the new version. :/
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    im simply trying the update wizard using oneclick method.
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I've never used that. Sorry.
    In my app at work I check the version of the running assembly against the version out on the server.
    I've had problems using the automatic stuff in VS, so I just coded my own because I grew tired of trying to get it to work the way I wanted. (shrug)
  11. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Looks like a very good program, but I also have this issue:
    [​IMG]


    I do have .NET 3.5 SP1 installed. I didn't see the need to install the 4.0 version. Although I had the idea that windows updates already had done that for me. :confused: Seems like it didn't.
    Anyway, could you please add a link for VIA chipsets (Hyperion divers) and another for SiS? Some people still use boards with those chipsets, including me lol. Oh, and ASRock as a manufaturer. Auzentech also seems to be missing from the Sound/Audio list.
    Thanks. Keep up the good work. :rockout:

    EDIT: VIA also makes tons of network chips.
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2011
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    ok guys thanks! im plugging away at your suggestions, custom edits will come at some point. I'll continue to work on the updating. im adding new manufacturers. I'll have a new version up in a few minutes. and all before lunch,
    95Viper and _JP_ say thanks.
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    I already had mine. :p
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Switching from WinForms to WPF would make things a lot easier for doing custom stuff with the UI.
    Just ask ForGT90Concept how much fun we are having converting one of his apps to WPF. :laugh:
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    I wanted to see about trimming it down and just let each button call the same form, but if you want to browse more then one site that can get irritating.
  16. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Launch a WebBrowser control and have the buttons add tabs.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    New version uploaded!


    you would need to guide me. this is my first time with VS im not sure were everything is. I was using code blocks before.
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    Have to go to work work a mid today :( major UI work being done and hopefully getting updates to function new build probably tommarrow.
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    new version up. Enjoy
    95Viper says thanks.
  20. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,290 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    nice little program i think i will try it out next time i need to find some driver easier than google :D
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  21. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    You could try having all the sitelinks in an AppConfig file. That way, you could ahve the user replace that file with the latest verion which you host on a web server
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    Updated XP users shouldnt need to update to .net 4.0 please test.
  23. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,300 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    New version is OK with Windows 7 64bit.
    However, the "Bug Reports" button has no function... this is in both versions, 2.0.0.7 and 2.0.0.13.

    And, don't know if you noticed, but the border around the window can be resized, however, the box with the tabbed data remains fixed... I know, I being picky.

    Under Network/Wireless Tab, there could be others, like Cisco, Trendnet, Bigfoot Networks, etc.

    Maybe, a external port tab for like USB drivers and such. Or, RAID/IDE/ACHI drivers tab...

    Wow, there is a lot when you think about it.

    Thinking (this is dangerous for me to do) that, maybe, you might want to go to an alphabetic soulution?

    Just some innyput.:)

    Thanks for mentioning me in the credits.:respect:
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    Love the feedback I live for it. The bug reports is a place holder I have to take care of some things server side. I'll implement the suggestions soon :) if I don't give the fiancé attention I go to the dog house so coding has slowed. Thanks again
    95Viper says thanks.
  25. Meow9000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    283 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Wales, Uk
    This one is going on my USB, Will save some valuable time when fixing someone's PC after a Format.

    But I also have a suggestion, how about some visual cue for the sites. people will spot things quicker by the company logo usually.

    For instance here is some quick mock-ups.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Solaris17 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page