1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Driver Install Problem

Discussion in 'General Software' started by tater, Jul 15, 2007.

  1. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
    OK so i just aquired a Gigabyte K8NS-Pro. (thats what i was told it is and thats what everest says it is i cant find model #'s on the top of the board)...OK anyways i installed windows onto my hdd (currently have 2 installed (1 WD 20gb, 1 Seagate 20gb) neither has given me any problem ever.. But ok so i go to install lan, audio, chipset and whatever other required drivers for the motherboard to function properly and for some reason drivers just wont install. Ive downloaded them from the correct page

    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/...rboard&ProductID=1783&ProductName=GA-K8NS Pro

    Yeti cant visibly see anything new installed. I installed everest onto the computer to make sure its not just some fluke where my hard ware is going crazy and wont let me install anything.. lol so anyone have suggestions on how to fix this little problem?
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Try downloading to save on desktop. Then sign off I-net, turn off Firewall/AV and install drivers from desktop to mobo.

    :toast:
     
  3. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
    but i have no way to get to the internet....to my knowledge absolutley no firewall/av is installed ...(i know for a fact no av but only firewall would be windows) I used a USB flash drive to transfer the files from my laptop...

    *EDIT* lol ill just stick a PCI ethernet card in it to get online for drivers then hope it finnaly lets me use my onboard
     
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    :confused:First wile online - download the drivers to your desktop...(save to desktop)...

    But, if your Firewall/AV is'nt causing the problem then, save drivers to Flash drive, load them to desktop then install. You will have to UNZIP them first.
     
  5. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia

    you cant unzip an Executable :laugh:

    And i have been using a flash drive to download the desktop and try installing them
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,559 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,095
    no floppy in house?
     
  7. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    I downloaded your drivers from the link you gave(but did not install). They were saved to my desktop as a WINRAR (zipped file) so, I assumed yours would be zipped.
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,559 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,095
    pretty sure the last time I rewrote my OS ,I took my thumbstick and ran zipped files to my machine...said "oh shit"...."no winrar installed yet"....clicked the rar file and WINZIP took it out anyways! Seem to remember an issue trying to bring over .exe's w/o zipping and got errors on load saying that some file cant be found....setup must close or similar crap.

    Not anything personal tater but i think Nammy is on the right track here !!!! For that statement just being typed( if you may have seen our past) I gotta be pretty sure he's right....sorry
     
  9. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
    Idk Im just used to my desktop (in specs on left) its a gigabyte board and its nothing to download all my drivers to my flash drive then move em to the desktop and very easily have everything working Ive never had a single problem with it..(then again every computer is different)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page