1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dropped Packets when gaming or using Furmark

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by cedrac18, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Basically as the title says when my GPU is handling a heavy my PCI wireless card starts making my pings go high or drops packets all together.

    I have tried putting the wireless card to my other PCI slot but still does the same thing, tried the latest drivers for the card, tried using the PC with less fans no HDD, and no CDburner just the SSD and still does the same thing.

    I bought a Dlink Wireless card and a Corsair 650w PSU today i don't want to unwrap them yet as they will charge me a restocking if they end up not being the issue. Could my mobo not send enough Juice when my GPU pulls to much power from the PCIE slot?

    My specs
    SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ
    OCZ Agility2 90gb
    SAPPHIRE 100283L Radeon HD 5770
    Thermaltake V3 Black Edition
    ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 AMD 785G
    G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1333
    OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ500MXSP 500W
    AMD Phenom II X3 740 Black Edition
    LITE-ON Black 24X
    Rosewill RNX-N300X wireless adapter
    CoolerMaster Hyper212+
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Sounds more like increased CPU load to me (or PCI-E bus loading). What's your CPU doing at the time?
     
  3. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Just processing Furmark. It happens right after a reboot. The game it happens the most on is vindictus not a heavy game by any means. I tried killing my overclocks and it still does the same thing.
     
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Sorry, I meant what's your CPU usage look like at the time.
     
  5. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Let me check. But i think its around 30% on all cores. I have Windows 7 Ultimate on the HDD and windows 7 Pro on the SSD it does it on both. Oh running Prime95 does not affect the the pings.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    seems your pci-e bus is getting overloaded or something....
     
  7. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Yeah that's what it feels like. So most likely a defective video card? Should bother testing the new PSU or the new wireless card?
     
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I'm thinking mobo..... does this happen with other GPUs? if not, monitor if there is a rise of ping with the other cards
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    What all do you have on your PCI-E bus?
    GC, NIC ... anything else?
     
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,442 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If you are running any A/V and firewall try disabling it/them.
     
  11. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Forgot i have this also. EVGA 100-U3-EU30-TR. PCI express x1 USB3 card. I don't have any other GPUs i can try i'll have to ask a friend to borrow one. I am running eyefinity with 3 1080p monitors its worst of course when i game on eyefinity since it requires more power from the GPU. I am running Windows Firewall and AVG free, I did a clean install of windows 7 with nothing but display drivers and MSi kombustor and it still dropped packets/
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    You have the latest drivers for your wireess card?

    Try taking out your USB3 card, does it still happen? if so is it to a lesser degree or amplitude?
     
  13. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,442 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Is your MB bios up to date? Version 2105, I believe.
     
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Can you connect to your router wired to see if it make a difference?
     
  15. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I have tried the latest wireless drivers from the rosewill website and it made it worse. Mobo BIOS is on 2105. I will try removing the USB 3.0 card. I will move my PC to the living room and try wired. Wired will be using my Mobo NIC.
     
  16. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,442 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    The GPU is on the PCIe bus and the wlan card is on the PCI bus.
    They should not affect each other, unless the drivers are conflicting in some way (like not irq sharing friendly) and your system and/or OS are trying to share interrupts.
    If that is the case you may try to set your wlan card to a different one.
    If you need to free up some interrupts then disable your PIO and serial ports in the bios (if you do not use them).

    Just a thought.:)

    Edit:
    A couple of tweak ideas:
    Make sure you are using High Performance power setting.
    Also, another thing you might want to check is under advanced power options.
    You might want to set your Wireless Adapter Setting > Power Savings Mode to Maximum Performance.
    And, Make sure your wlan card is set for maximum performance/output in device manager.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  17. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I'll check for IRQs thx for the idea and also disabling serial and parallel and maybe my 1394 ports. I am using High performance, and yes the adapter was on the max performance setting. This article on the OCZ had ssd tweaks and upon them i set these settings up.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  18. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Well its not the USB 3 card. Still does it. I messed around with the power saving mode in the advanced tab in the wireless card properties and setting it to Max_PSP seems to be better but still jumps from 1ms to 3 to 500. When the GPU is not doing anything i get a constant under 1 ms or = to 1 ms pings
     
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Try to change you GPU or wireless card etc to another slot of available

    Do you have another GC?
     
  20. cedrac18

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    99 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I changed the wireless card to different and it was still doing the same thing but i think i found the issue. On my DIR-655 router there is an option called Chanel Width i changed it from Auto 20/40 Mhz to 20 Mhz only and i have not gotten the issue yet. I ran vindictus at the same time as Kombustor running 2560x1440 and pings stayed a solid 1ms. I will see tomorrow if it stay stable. ty for all the help guys
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page