1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

dual booting Windows and Linux

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by speedy11131, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. speedy11131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    120 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City, USA
    I was wondering if theres a way when dual booting Windows 7 and Linux Mint, to have it boot Windows by default and possibly not show the GRUB menu, and if I press a certain key, have it boot linux instead?

    Is this even possible?
     
  2. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    There's no way to not show the GRUB menu.

    Google grub-config, look for instructions on how to install it (or try synaptic, but I think you have to look in a custom repository). You should be able to change the boot list from there.
     
  3. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Couldn't you just use the bootloader in Windows 7 then tweak it with EasyBCD?

    I'm pretty sure the Windows 7 bootloader supports linux which makes GRUB optional.
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  4. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Indeed you can. Just fix the bootloader for windows after installing Linux, add a line to the boot.ini and it will give you the choice via windows bootloader. Same way OS X would do it on a hackintosh.

    It will probably go windows bootloader->grub->Linux, though. Since it gives you boot options for linux, its a good idea to have anyways.
     
  5. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    The issue hes having is the same thing that was bugging me when booting, windows bootloader shows up and after choosing linux Grub pops up anyway.
    As for how to fix it idk im linux nub.
     
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Run > msconfig > boot

    [​IMG]

    Obvious what to do from here. I don't have 2 OS's on this computer, but you do and will easily be able to get rid of the boot loader.
     
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    What I did to fix that problem was reinstall Vista...
    But I reinstalled Vista because it seemed to run slower after installing Mint...and after it had to resize the HDD...May have just been time to reinstall though...But I was right Vista does run faster for whatever reason now..

    However I ended up erasing Mint because I was tired of waiting 5 minutes and needing 50gb set aside to watch Blu-Ray's..

    Now I miss Mint because it is a Better Internet OS
     
  8. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Before you ever do a dual boot you MUST defragment. Why? Well it sucks when you have the disk looking like:

    Windows file 1 | Linux file 1 | Windows file 3 | Linux file 2 | Windows file 2

    etc.

    The disk has to do extra work bro. You really need to defrag before, otherwise both OS's will be pretty slow.
     
  9. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I think my question fits here...

    I've been thinking about using some form of linux probably something like Ubuntu, but not Ubuntu because it has issue with the sound on my board, anyway's to the point I've already got Windows installed how exactly do I go about installing another OS onto the same drive?
     
  10. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Ok so you:

    -DEFRAG. DO IT.
    -Partition the drive. Gparted or use windows, your choice. Some Linux distros have gparted built in.
    -Install Linux. Remember, lots of installers have a partitioner built in.
    -Install GRUB. Config to boot to auto to what OS you want.
    -???
    -Profit.
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Not quite sure what you was getting at with the last 2 lines of what you said?

    Anyway's now I'm just wondering if there is any more than average defragger that I should use or the one built in Windows suitable enough?
     
  12. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    I like Auslogics Disk Defrag a lot better than Windows'..
     
  13. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,246 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    If Ubuntu gives sound issues, it may be due to ALSA/Pulseaudio lacking decent support for it and then you can forget about it in (almost) all cases. So first go to alsa-project.org and use the search option to look up your audio chip (e.g. VIA VT2050) and see if you can find a changelog page that way that states wether any support for the chip has been added to ALSA. So that we can point down the cause.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page