1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual channel memory causing excessive bsod, but single ram is running fine

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by debojitk, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I had the same problem with asus p5q-ws
    Probally you screwed your mem controller on the mobo, nowadays they are on the cpu, on s775 on the mobo, try set everything manual or get a new mobo
     
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Have you tested the graphics card on another machine? If not I suggest you do it; it could be fine.
    Remember that we're talking about a failed memory controller on the NB chipset, which could be the same cause of the garbled characters on screen (the whole NB might be dying/dead). Everything points at NB.

    New mobo time! Don't RMA the card before testing it another machine (<-Important)
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,301 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Could also be a failing channel on the mobo, not necessarilty the cpu or the memory.. Yea, they really make it easy to figure out which is failing.. XD Try different sticks in different slots..
     
  4. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi I ve uploaded the snaps
    Please have a look
    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @scaminatrix
    I have already given for rma. sorry !
    But the thing is with my old card that is evga 8600 gt it is running without any issue.
    if the nb chipset is dying, is there any way to repair it? I mean would it help?

    edit:
    if i go for a mobo, is there any board that can be fit with my existing cpu c2q, and later i can upgrade the cpu to i series on the same board.
     
  6. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I don't trust speed fan for it's temperatures.
    Let alone trying to decipher where some of the temperatures actually originate from.

    Your RAM timings are fine.
    The single stick of RAM should be able to run at 1T but i guess it was left like that after having two sticks installed.

    There is no way to repair the NB besides RMAing the board.
    No simple fix for a failing NB.

    There should be plenty of used 775skt motherboards out there on the market.
    Especially at the moment with Ivy Bridge being recently released and people upgrading.

    Where I live, there is always some P5Q Pro for sale.
     
  7. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i got the rma-ed card

    Guys,
    Yesterday I got the rma-ed card, and it seems running fine and quiet, also performance is better than previous zotac 560; seems must be having some problem with the previous card.
    But.... now the bsods ar coming even with single ram stick. After installation of the card, i got 3 bsods, and one with rdyboost.sys.
    Windbg can't help.
    Who should be the suspect; the cpu; the mem controller on the mobo, or the gfx card itself.
    If it is a mem controller then i need to replace the mobo. In that case could u please suggest some good board for lga 775 skt; because retail shops stopped selling 775 boards in our locality; and at this moment i dont want to replace the cpu if it is not dying. FYI, I live in Kolkata, India.

    Waiting for your reply.
    Thanks,
    Debojit
     
  8. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I would bet unspeakable parts of my body that it's the mobo. I got an LGA775 mobo in my FS thread; that might aswell go for free. I'll test it with a Q6600 I got here and if it proves stable; you can have the board for price of postage if you like?

    Check sig for FS thread :)
     
  9. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    which card u are having
    I live in india
    would u please let me know what would be the postage cost and how can i transfer it to you.
     
  10. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    In my city i am not able to get a high end used lga 775 board.
    can u help me on that part
     
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    The most high end board available at the moment unfortunately is a transition type board (DDR2 and DDR3 slots).
    We usually have one seller who always has some high end motherboard for sale and is reputable.
    P5QC which and the seller wants to sell it as a package with processor and ram so sale price including postage would currently be unreasonable to send to India.
    I'll keep an eye out for decent motherboards though.
     
  12. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Widjaja,

    But a last question:
    We are all sure that the culprit is the mobo, no one else right.
    I mean is there any definitive way to point out the problem creator.

    Every time i start the pc it gives a random bsod like irql not less or equals; i have got one old pixelview play tv pro 2 card. Whn i run the software for the card it gives another bsod.
    I am not sure, and i dont want link anything.
    Tomorrow i will post the mini dumps, and let u guys analyze the dumps.
    I tried analyzing dumps with !analyze -v, but i could not figure out anything..

    Thanks,
    Debojit
     
  13. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    now even with single ram stick it gives 2 bsods on every startup. if i change the ram slot for few days it runs fine but it starts reoccuring.
    the gfx card is running fine and cool, with full load temp max is around 70
    i am fed up with the issue, how should i cope up with this.

    thx
    debojit
     
  14. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I think the motherboard is dying(the northbridge).
    Since you have a Core 2 Duo, the memory controller is on the Northbridge(MCH=Memory Controller Hub). I assume the RAMs to be ok since they work flawless when they are single as you stated. The only cause is the Northbridge not able to handle the higher bandwidth of dual channel RAMs.
    A rare chance is the RAM VRM is failing maybe it is not able to supply sufficient power to the RAM when two are connected. But it still points to the motherboard.
    Also the graphics card problem you mentioned may not be in the card but the motherboard as well. The PCIE lanes are connected to the CPU through the Northbridge. If the Northbridge fails, PCIE will fail and graphics card will not operate.
    So all in all the Northbridge might be failing. You may try to reapply thermal paste in the Northbridge if it's heatsink can be opened to remove any overheating issues or else RMA the board if it is under warranty.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
  15. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    i was not able to get a very good board, though i managed to get gigabyte g41-mt-s2 rev 2.1, which has all solid capacitors; rest of the parts are mostly normal.
    Also took 2x2gb gskill ripjaws x ddr3 ram pair.
    after installation everything is running fine as expected
    Another problem:
    you know that i have corsair gx 500; should not be any power crisis right with zotac 560 board;
    but from today i dvd rw drive is acting crazy; sometime it is taking long to get detected by bios itself; if it is detected by bios; i put a cd start copying; but middle of the copy the drive got disappeared from "my computer". again i restarted but again it is taking long to get detected by bios; and finally it does not get detected.
    Guys please help me out resolving this problem.

    One more thing;
    I have two 120 mm system fan but my new small board only has one 3 pin fan connector; and one fan alone is not able to clear all heats; i need to start another fan also;
    can u suggest some altered/tweaked connectivity setting so that i can enable the spare fan with the board. Any sort of help is appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Debojit
     
  16. debojitk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Also with this board the northbridge chip is most hot chip in my box. Is there custom cooling solution to cool the northbridge a little.
    Thanks in advance
    Debojit
     
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Switch the HDD and the DVD drive around so they are using each others SATA ports.
    This is just to see if it's the SATA port on the motherboard causing the issue or your DVD drive.
    Or possibly the SATA cable.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page