1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual core 2500k Overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by james888, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    I deciding to try this just for fun. Right now I am playing a game that requires a lot of cpu grunt from no more than two cores. I used hwmonitor for monitoring. I used super pi for benchmarking, at 8 million. I used prime95 for stress testing, at the maximum heat configuration. I knew before I tried this that I do not have the best overclocking cpu. 4.5ghz at 4 cores was my limit, at those volts. The only bios settings I changed my multiplier and I disabled 2 cores.


    [​IMG]

    Super pi did show some benefit, although marginal. Temps and volts used are lower too, as expected. 4.7 ghz seems to be the best my cpu can possibly do.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
    BraveSoul says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    dang, ill have to see what my 2600k will do. interesting results
     
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    Just found my old thread. I did switch back to 4 cores at 4.5ghz. Dual core at 4.7ghz was pretty much a sidegrade. I did run it like that for a couple weeks though.

    Anyone else try this? Not exactly practical but certainly interesting.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,896 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
    this is why we have turbo boost ..... herpderp
    a better plan would be to disable the cores in the bios and then ratchet the clock speed to over 5Ghz
     
  5. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    I did disable two cores, but could only get to 4.7ghz. I have a bad overclocking cpu. 5ghz not gonna happen.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,840 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,617
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Super Pi only uses one core, can you go down to one and see what you can get that too? The old Sceincemark may be a good bench for what you are doing also.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,896 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
    try the other two cores ?
    disable cores 1/2 and use 3/4
    or use cores 3/1 ect tect
     
  8. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    Super pi works fine for what I was using it for. The game I was trying this for uses 1 core, and 5% the other. I really just needed to measure single threaded performance.

    When I have time to sit down and try this again, I just might.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    sad to say your CPU is not a bad clocker MY cpu was a bad clocker

    4.3GHz 2500k was 100% stable 4.4GHz was only 95% stable a few things would still crash it
     
  10. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Reminds me of my 2600K 4.4GHz was rock solid at 1.37v but 4.5 wasn't stable even with the voltage ratcheted up to 1.4v it wouldn't even get through the stress tests at 4.5 :shadedshu
     
  11. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    Maybe I just feel inferior to the 4.7ghz on air people. I took my awhile to get to 4.5ghz. A lot of tweaking. I used to keep it at 4.4ghz at 1.34v. I can not no matter what voltage pass 4.6ghz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,896 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
    old chipset is old would be my guss word has it that 2500k clocks much better on z77 boards
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a old P67 B2 that still OC's like a dream but may differ from board to board.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    I heard it was 95% cpu adn 5% mb that contribute to overclock results these days. Not saying you are telling me to, but heck no am I going to buy a z77 board just for a possible 200-500mhz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    currently doing 3/4 cores at 1.5v 4.8ghz 2500k i5 ,,, playing World Of Tanks,, max temps reached 63c
     
  16. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,583
    [​IMG]
     
    xvi, XSI, OneMoar and 2 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,896 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Location:
    Rochester area
    [​IMG]
     
    XSI and BraveSoul say thanks.
  18. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    feeling some disability discrimination here, cant help being 2 years slower then others ;) ,,, however, looks like ppl r waiting like flies to land on a pile of yummy stuff, two curious flies caught so far
    anywho, 3/4 cores, 1.54v 5.0ghz doesn't boot, runin 4.7ghz 3/4 cores at 1.49v for now
     
  19. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Are you seeing any benefits over say 4.2 Ghz and 4 cores? Tangible benefits.
     
  20. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    yes, game in use is not utilizing 4 cores, and benefits greatly from faster cpu clock, so 4.7/4.8ghz is giving noticeable boost to min fps in game vs 4.2ghz
     
  21. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    I thought about doing this when I played CitiesXL since it only really used 1 core. Once you had a big enough city the game slowed to a crawl because of it... BAH..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page