1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual E5645 mini-build log

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by twilyth, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. twilyth Guest

    Ah. OK. Good point. I'll take a photograph of the bios screens
  2. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Just saw his post after mine lol.

    Perhaps Server2008 is in order?
    http://www.microsoft.com/download/e...b00000c932fd0rjc7_5p3t&displaylang=en&id=5023
  3. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,034 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,407
    Location:
    Wyoming
    KieX could be correct. Not sure why it would not be showing in the bios to be honest. that really shouldn't be affected from the operating system. Hmmm, very odd indeed.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. twilyth Guest

  5. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,034 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,407
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I don't know, its really not showing either a single chip or 2 chips. I think it is because both chips are identical. I think I would load up Windows 7 Professional and see if the second physical chip is seen in Windows.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Think you may need to go back a couple of steps. Advanced> Hardware Monitor

    It should show you temps and such for both CPU's. If it's not.. then yeah HW problem.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  7. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    CPU-Z somehow is showing your E5645's as E5620's? Last time I checked E5620's are quad Westmeres and not hexes. So did you get CPU0 and CPU1 to show up?
    stinger608 says thanks.
  8. twilyth Guest

    It looks like it is seeing both, but one is very hot and has no rpm on fan speed. Will double check connections, but both fans are running.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: dling server 2008 R2 SP1
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,034 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,407
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Looks like you have one of the cpu fans plugged into a chassis fan header man. But yea, both physical processors are showing up just fine in the bios.

    Server 2008 R2 will cure the issue in windows :)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. twilyth Guest

    Thanks again. Burning the disk now. Will power down, double check headers, and install. I did check the headers the first time but I will double check with the manual now.
  11. twilyth Guest

    UPDATE: pulled off the cooler on cpu 2, de-spooged and reapplied paste - this time with Noctua (couldn't find it the first time around). Fired it up and the temps were identical.

    The first cpu is right next to a case fan so I think I'm getting better temps with the Noctua paste but the extra airflow is helping cpu 1.

    Anyway, halfway through the install. Have to run an errand and will re-install boinc when I get back in about an hour.

    Oh, and it turns out I was hallucinating. I did indeed have it on the wrong header. I could have sworn I checked it though. You see, this is why I have OCD. I really can't trust myself. :toast:

    edit: have to take a shower, so I guess I'll go out later.
  12. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Don't worry much about having different temperatures since the chips don't necessarily have the same V core. As I can see from the picture your CPU 1 is running at 1.212V and CPU 2 at 1.218V.
    My 2 old Xeons also have very different V core and run at about 10C different.
    KieX says thanks.
  13. twilyth Guest

    @Repman - thanks buddy!

    With Win server 2008 installed I now have 24 glorious threads. I can almost hear the angels singing!!!

    [​IMG]

    That one angel looks a little gay, but as long as he can crunch . . . :cool:

    Thanks everyone for your help. I never would have figured this out on my own. My team rocks!!! :rockout: :respect: :rockout: :respect:
  14. gplnpsb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Q2WV's are A-0 stepping engineering samples that are basically equivalent to the B-1 stepping mass production E5645s. I should note that they have locked multipliers, as they have a dual-qpi link. Only the single qpi link gulftown engineering samples (ie Q3FE) had unlocked multipliers. If it interests you, your chip's batch number C9300170 indicates that it was manufactured in the 30th week of 2009, basically the last week of July.

    CPU-Z sometimes has issues generating the name string for engineering samples that are from before the qualification sample stage. The name string is basically an estimate of what the cpu should be based on the cpuid values it reports. The specification string is the one to trust, its an ASCII string reported directly by the cpu. Here it just reads "Genuine Intel(R) CPU", indicating that this is a pre qualification sample ES that was manufactured before the Gulftown chip specifications and branding were finalized.
  15. twilyth Guest

    @gplnpsb: Thanks man. Interesting stuff. Not to be argumentative, but the ASUS board did let me kick the multi from 18 to 19 and get a final clock of >2.5ghz. But either way, it's cool. I'm just happy to have the damned thing working. I feel like such an ass too because I'd already contacted the seller, but I just sent him an email, so that's settled now too. Miller time.

    btw, if you think you might want to contribute some cpu cycles to the cause, we'd be happy to have you, but either way, welcome to TPU! :toast:
  16. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    24 thread! What The Funk! Nice rig man. Makes me want to upgrade my SLOW dual E5420s.

    How about a doing some benchies for us to drool over
    Like Geekbench
    Or cinebench R10 or R11.5 / CPU parts
    Or gflops bench
    Or Fritz
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2012
  18. twilyth Guest

    Ahem. So . . . let me see if I understand. You want me to use some of my precious CPU cycles to do benchies.

    Hmmm. Why don't you ask my buddy Smeagol how we feel about the precious.

    [​IMG]

    :laugh: j/k. I AM a points whore but not THAT bad - yet. :cool:

    I have to go out (never made it before), but I'll dl those guys now. :toast:
  19. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    I find running benchmarks very boring too! And a few % here and there isnt important. But seeing how much your new rig ZOMGS my E5420 workstation might encourage me to do something about it...! I'm either going to upgrade the CPUs for an extra 15-20%. Or I'll junk it and get a whole new rig. :pimp:
  20. twilyth Guest

    I understand, I was just busting your chops.

    It seems that I should probably keep my sense of humor to myself. I had posted something to the team thread that didn't go over very well either. I had trouble pronouncing Shistosoma so I wanted to change it to Snoo Snoo. It probably didn't help that it made no sense whatsoever, but that was sorta the point. Oh well . . .

    I'll definitely run everything I can get for free in terms of benchies. Cinebench doesn't seem to have a free version. Intel burn test is a definite. Not familiar with the other 2 but I have them on a thumb drive ready to go. :)
  21. twilyth Guest

    I couldn't get burntest to run.

    fritz chess would only use 8 cores

    I was able to run geek bench, but the free version only allows 32-bit mode. Results are attached.

    Code:
    Benchmark Summary
      Integer Score             17482 |||||||||
      Floating Point Score      20675 |||||||||||
      Memory Score               4186 ||
      Stream Score               5062 ||
    
      Geekbench Score           14698 |||||||
    
    System Information
      Operating System      Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard (64-bit)
      Model                 System manufacturer System Product Name
      Motherboard           ASUSTeK Computer INC. Z8NA-D6(C)
      Processor             Genuine Intel(R) CPU             000  @ 2.40GHz @ 2.41 GHz
                            2 Processors, 12 Cores, 24 Threads
      Processor ID          GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 44 Stepping 0
      Processor Package     Socket 1366 LGA
      Processor Codename    Westmere-EP
      L1 Instruction Cache  32.0 KB x 6
      L1 Data Cache         32.0 KB x 6
      L2 Cache              256 KB x 6
      L3 Cache              12.0 MB
      Memory                24.0 GB DDR3 SDRAM 667MHz
      Northbridge           Intel 5500 22
      Southbridge           Intel 82801JR (ICH10R) 00
      BIOS                  American Megatrends Inc. 1209   
    
    Integer Performance
      Blowfish
        single-threaded scalar   1451 
        multi-threaded scalar   29785 ||||||||||||||||
      Text Compress
        single-threaded scalar   1897 |
        multi-threaded scalar   30001 ||||||||||||||||
      Text Decompress
        single-threaded scalar   2043 |
        multi-threaded scalar   28783 |||||||||||||||
      Image Compress
        single-threaded scalar   1922 |
        multi-threaded scalar   31426 |||||||||||||||||
      Image Decompress
        single-threaded scalar   2047 |
        multi-threaded scalar   26300 ||||||||||||||
      Lua
        single-threaded scalar   3400 |
        multi-threaded scalar   50732 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    
    Floating Point Performance
      Mandelbrot
        single-threaded scalar   1904 |
        multi-threaded scalar   36286 |||||||||||||||||||
      Dot Product
        single-threaded scalar   1048 
        multi-threaded scalar   22933 ||||||||||||
        single-threaded vector   4707 ||
        multi-threaded vector   73506 ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
      LU Decomposition
        single-threaded scalar   2360 |
        multi-threaded scalar    7672 ||||
      Primality Test
        single-threaded scalar   3903 ||
        multi-threaded scalar   43000 |||||||||||||||||||||||
      Sharpen Image
        single-threaded scalar   1447 
        multi-threaded scalar   28433 |||||||||||||||
      Blur Image
        single-threaded scalar   2935 |
        multi-threaded scalar   59317 ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    
    Memory Performance
      Read Sequential
        single-threaded scalar   4673 ||
      Write Sequential
        single-threaded scalar   6511 |||
      Stdlib Allocate
        single-threaded scalar   2954 |
      Stdlib Write
        single-threaded scalar   3030 |
      Stdlib Copy
        single-threaded scalar   3764 ||
    
    Stream Performance
      Stream Copy
        single-threaded scalar   4752 ||
        single-threaded vector   6015 |||
      Stream Scale
        single-threaded scalar   4330 ||
        single-threaded vector   5652 |||
      Stream Add
        single-threaded scalar   4677 ||
        single-threaded vector   5800 |||
      Stream Triad
        single-threaded scalar   4910 ||
        single-threaded vector   4360 ||
    
  22. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,034 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,407
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :respect::respect::respect: That is frigging awesome Twilyth!!!!!!!!!!

    Finally up and crunching 24 glorious threads. :toast::toast::toast:


    Oh and I just sent you a PM bro. Regarding something of interest for this system. :p
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    I just saw the first real numbers from your new build at Free-DC and I noticed that yours "bench" higher then Kiexs ditto 24 threads in Floating Point Speed: 2,286.91 vs 2,062.86 million ops/sec. Only time will show...

    Talking about time then I'm 3-3½ day away from my blue SNtS goal and that coincides with a trip to Africa (not a holiday destination sadly) so I will be down to around half my current production.

    Edit: sorry Kiex, more like 2 days from now
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  24. twilyth Guest

    Wow. I didn't even know we could still find our bench stats anywhere. Thanks. That 's a very cool feature of Free-DC.

    But I just checked and I think you may have been looking at a different rig.

    for 1921802 it says Floating Point Speed: 2,315.49 million ops/sec

    He also has 1696780 which says Floating Point Speed: 2,062.86 million ops/sec

    mine is still what you quoted for rig 1921792

    but it's also listed as 1921320 which says Floating Point Speed: 2,254.05 million ops/sec

    I think we both did multiple installs so in my case, those 2 rigs are the same. Not sure about Kiex but I know he did a lot of tweaking over the weekend.

    But regardless - thanks again man. :toast: :toast:
  25. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yeah, sorry about that. The current 2.57GHz is the 2315 million ops/s

    I didn't have a spare PSU over weekend, so I took it from another cruncher for the SR-2 and copied the BOINC data folder to finish off those WU. Got the PSU through post today, so the previous entry will go back to being a 2600K, and the newly finished SR-2 will take a few days to ramp up from the bottom of my list.

    Try to enjoy your trip MStenholm, should come visit here in London sometime :toast:
    mstenholm says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page