1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual loop in a aurora 570. Help please =[

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by diablo170, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. diablo170 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire, England
    I recently got a EK graphics water block (EK FC88 G92) for my evga 8800gts 512. I was looking to watercool the thing but already have a 3D Galaxy 2 kit installed in the Gigabyte 3d aurora 570 case. I would have just hooked up the waterblock to the orignal loop but the block from what I have heard is restrictive and the pump is rated at 400 l/ph so I was going to use a XSPC 750 Reservoir + Pump (http://www.watercoolingshop.co.uk/store/p27-pumps/X2O-750-Dual-5.25-Bay-Reservoir-Pump.cfm) mount it at the front and install a slim magicool rad or fat pa120.2 on top of the 2 120mm exhaust fans so internally depends really on space. It maybe overkill for just gpu but I was planning to add a northbridge block and a second gpu at christmas (ill have the money). I wanted to stick with 1/2" tubing but don't mind im basically going to try and haved the same colour scheme as the galaxy 2 kit.

    So really my questions are is the pump/reservoir combo any good? Any other way to mount the radiator or is even possible to mount it on those dual exhaust fans (directed more to owners of the case.)? Any other ideas I have not thought of I am willing to mod if necessary?

    System Specs:
    Cpu: Q6600
    Mobo: Evga 780i A1
    Ram: OCZ Reaper PC 8500 4gb
    Gpu: Evga 8800gts 512mb (g92)
    Harddrive: 36gb Raptor, 250gb and 1tb 7200rpm storage
    PSU: Xigmatek NRP 750
    Case: Gigabyte Aurora 570 (Black)
    5 5.25" bays top 2 used, space for 3 maybe 4 as fan controller can be relocated.
    Cooling: Gigabyte 3D Galaxy 2 Kit

    Any help appreciated =]
     
  2. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    TBH I think it would be better if you invest in replacing the gigabyte kit w/ a true custom kit. That way you can run it off one loop (w/ the hardware you have).

    I don't hear many good things (mostly mediocre) in regards to the builtin XSPC res/pump combo, I rather get a MCP355 and the XSPC res top for it.
     
    diablo170 and phanbuey say thanks.
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Exactly... this is a great suggestion...

    Also post some pics and ideas you might be having as to how you would like to mount the rad...

    Some questions:
    Do you have a current picture of your setup?
    How comfortable are you with a dremel/Nibbler? Would you be willing to drill a 2x120MM space for a rad mount in the top of the case?

    If the second answer is yes, then you can easily put a 2x120MM intake rad right after the PSU

    As far as mounting rads goes - there are alot of ppl here who can help you 'find' space :D

    Here is my midtower with a Swiftech MCR220 and MCR320 in the same case:

    [​IMG]

    You can always just hang a triple off the back if you don't care about squeezing it all inside...

    Something like this, but with the rad inside and with a radgrill... that leaves space for a big dualie at the back. You would lose 2 5.25" bays, but seriously, how many DVD rom drives do you have?

    [​IMG]

    And then one like this

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
    diablo170 says thanks.
  4. diablo170 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire, England
    Sorry for the late reply. The reason I was looking at getting a second loop was really the cost, it would have been cheaper to get a basic loop then get a complete custom loop. But after looking around my case felt it would not be practical trying to fit it all in especially with my poor cable management so im going to save a bit extra and get custom kit to watercool gpu, cpu and northbridge (maybe southbridge) in one loop. As for use of a dremel I know someone that could do that for me so no problems with that. So here is what I have for it so far a EK Full cover gpu block, tubing (1/2" ID), Barbs and led fans (so not much). I was going to order a d5 pump then mount it in a typhoon iii reservoir as i like having the pump and reservoir together, EK supreme waterblock, ek clear 780i northbridge block or a bitspower freezer 780i full motherboard kit (really depends on price of importing from america) as for the rad i was looking at a rx240 and would use the mounting method shown by phanbuey but mounting on the inside using the 2 exhaust slots. My loop would probably go Pump > Rad > Cpu > Gpu> northbridge > Pump. As for a picture I will upload a couple tommorrow

    So my questions are really is the rad strong enough? Is the loop setup ideal? Are there better waterblocks I can use? Or any other suggestions?

    Thanks in advance
     
  5. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    I'm going to be using a XSPC RX240 in my latest built w/ a Phenom II 720 (currently 3.6 on stock volts on air test bench) and a highly oc'ed/overvolted 4850. I think one of these nights I'll get to starting the worklog for it.

    It's a thick rad with a low fin/inch count, so you don't need to have super high RPM fans to get good results! If you can... put a shroud to space the fans a little further to get rid of dead spots!

    The radiator shouldn't be a problem for the CPU + GPU, but once you start putting in those NB blocks the heat starts adding up. That radiator is no slouch however if you're not going to be big w/ overvolting the CPU you should be fine (as the 6600 gets pretty hot)

    If you get the EK Supreme you should get the "Light" version as it chokes flow less and performs pretty much the same.

    I'm going to be using a Heatkiller 3.0 in my setup as a CPU block and will be using the MCW60-4870 block for my gpu. FYI

    BTW the typhoon res is sexy... but I have an obsession with tube res's LOL
     
    diablo170 says thanks.
  6. diablo170 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire, England
    The thing is i have a fairly poor overclocking q6600 which is eatin a lot of voltage to stay stable at 3650mhz (8x multiplier) about 1.52v. So judging from your comments a triple rad would be a gd idea so i was thinking a thermochill pa120.3 and mounting it on top of the case as phanbuey picture suggests and just turn the psu around so it is intake from above. What do you think?
     
  7. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Be sure you get some decent fans, otherwise rad size won't help as much as it can. On my Core i7 at 1.43v, with a 4x120mm rad and 2x120mm rad in the same loop with various fans, the temps would still get to the 80c range. Switch to all 133CFM fans and that drops 20c.
     
  8. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    You're better off w/ the RX360 or the TFC 360 rad... the thermochill is overpriced and the odd fan spacing and barb thread size makes it not worth the hassle.

    and ouch on need 1.5V just for 3.6ghz :banghead:
     
  9. diablo170 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire, England
    The only reason I was going for the thermochill is it well stocked in the uk and fairly cheap at about 55 pounds. RX360 costs about 70 here and the tfc is about 65. The tenner i save can buy me the fans.
     
  10. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    those are thick rads, and take up alot of space - in reality they only perform a few degrees better than similar thin rads. The Magicool elegant series and Swiftech MCR would be my recommendations.

    Ive had the EK supreme LT (you can see it in the picture of my case) and it is has massive impingement - too much for a multi-block set-up. Much better to get the enzotech sapphire block.

    Personally, I can tell you that water cooling your GPU is really not worth it. I have water cooled GPU's and I'm telling you this lol. Better to set up some sort of airflow direct to the card(s) by taking out the hard drive cage and putting the drives in the 5.25" bays and have the temps dropped like that.

    Here is a rad review http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/showthread.php?t=220593
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  11. diablo170 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire, England
    If I had got a picture to show you I have strung up a 80mm fan to the grill on the side panel above the gpu to blow more air but still my gpu idles at about 70C (silent). Anyways I already have the gpu block so i may aswell not waste money and use it. I have just bought a d5 pump and ek 780i northbridge block. What is left to buy is mainly a cpu block and radiator(s).

    So im pretty much set on a custom loop. Now from your pictures phanbuey I can easily do both 570 mods but would the pump be strong enough to push through two 240mm rads a cpu, gpu and northbridge? Also from the review you linked if I am going for a multi block setup then I will need best flow so from your recommendations the swiftech would be best only problem is the best price i can get one for around here is 55 delivered so 110 for two also I can't seem to find any reliable stockist of enzotech in the UK :banghead:
     
  12. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Ok after doing some thinking, i came up with this design for two loops, this would be less crowded, and offer better temps than a single loop with the same amount of rad.

    First get one of these radiators: Its an mcr 220 with a built in resevoir...

    [​IMG]

    It will mount on the back of the case where the double fans are - it has a built in rez, so you don't need one for the inside of the case. This will be the loop that cools the GPU's and NB since it has hot air going through the rad so its just slightly less effective than the first.

    Second... get a normal MCR 220... - this will be the rad that goes on top above the first drive bay. This dual will be dedicated solely to the CPU - giving you good temps even with silent fans. get the xspc 750 bay pump radiator to conserve some space, and viola... two loops in a super mid tower (or a small tower w/e)... This way you can even use the EK or the HK block without having to worry too much about flow - since you only have one block and one rad, even the dinkiest pump will work. Plus the EK block is not sensitive to flowrates - it performs well regardless - the Swiftech GTZ is another story.

    [​IMG]

    Another thing you can do is use a fan splitter and wire the two CPU rad fans - say a couple of 90CFM cooler master R4's to the CPU fan header... (they dont eat too much power) and set it so that the fan speed is dynamic with the CPU speed - once the CPU breaks 50 or whatever temp, the fans kick in to keep it there. At idle, your setup will be silent... during load - it will be as loud as it needs to be.

    [​IMG]

    lemme know what you guys think. :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page