1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual Monitor? Possible with 9800XT????

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Guttboy, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Hi guys,

    This may seem like a stupid question but do you think it is possible to run 2 monitors with my ATI Radeon 9800XT?

    What I essentially want to do is play a game on one monitor and use the other one for internet.....I am not really sure if I can do this.....thoughts?

    My OS is Win XP Pro SP2.....

    Regards!
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    if you have two DVI adapters on the back of the card YES
    Other wise no.

    If my memory serves me correctly, im pretty sure your card does.

    Additionally, even if you had a dual monitor setup. Im pretty sure that if you click on the other screen that your game minimises. As is my experience with Counter Strike Source anyway...
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yes. But the game will minimise when you click on the internet window.

    It doesn't need to be twin DVI, just one analog and one DVI with analog will work fine.
  4. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    It has both VGA and DVI...current monitor is samsung 17" with VGA. How much better is DVI than VGA anyhow.....

    I was hoping that I could run one monitor on the game and another on the internet almost like 2 separate computers....I wonder if that can be done somehow with other cards...
  5. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Sorrryyyyyyy im technically inadept :laugh:
  6. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    It will always minimize your game when you click on the secondary monitor.

    I use two monitors - one for games and the other for temps and teamspeak.

    But no matter what you do, you CANNOT surf on your secondary monitor without the game minimizing.

    'Ocre
  7. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Yep, not possible.
    Its awesome for anything else though.

    I tried it early last year...to my disappointment.
  8. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    So you could see the data on Teamspeak correct? but you could not interact with it....now if you moved your mouse across the 2 monitors would it go to the other monitor or would you not click the extend desktop to the monitor.....kinda confused on this....
  9. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Its possible in CS 1.6 with windowed mode however.

    Yes you can. If you play CS 1.6 you can interact with it. Because CS 1.6 can be run in a windowed mode, hence it will not minimise.
  10. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    but how does your mouse know where it is going....just not sure how that would work...I play Americas Army and it can run in windowed mode...but if you are frantically moving around and your mouse goes away from the "game" window....does clicking on the net outside of that window effect the game any?
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Nope. Its better to ALT+Tab and then type.
  12. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Yes you can see teamspeak and peoples lights go on when they talk.

    In the battlefield series, the game gives you a cursor on certain screens. You can actually bring the cursor over to your secondary monitor, but as soon as you click, it minimizes BF.

    It doesn't do that in WoW or any of the other games I've played recently. Also, running in windowed mode obviously wouldn't minimize the game, because its already a window. In fact you could probably drag CS:S windowed over to the secondary monitor and surf the net on the primary.

    'Ocre
  13. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    I may have to give this a shot!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page