1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual Monitors Idle Temperatures

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Raven.7, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. Raven.7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok...I'm running out of patience with this and Google has been absolute useless.

    This pathetic and from my understanding, it is an ongoing issue that has yet to be resolved. Why the hell doesn't AMD solve this problem? I'm sick and tired of having to browse the web in the middle of a lava pit! There is no reason why my room should be 95F when I'm sitting on my PC browsing the internet or working on a paper.

    Before when I had two HD 6870s in crossfire mode, they would both run at 60C IDLE powering up two simple monitors. Now, I have an HD 7950 which idles at 56C while running two monitors. 56C, with a single monitor, is GAME RUNNING TEMPERATURE for my 7950.

    My room temp is 26C, I have a MASSIVE case with good airflow (HAF 932) and my CPU runs very cool 30C.

    Yesterday, I figured I'd run CompUSA and purchase a second video card (HD 5450) to run the second monitor...that ought to bring down my card to it's single monitor idle temperatures of 36C.

    Guess what...

    [​IMG]

    Someone please help me out before I throw this second monitor out the window.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  2. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    What clock is the card running at when you have it hooked up to dual monitors, and is it stock cooling or custom? 40-50 idle is pretty normal, as ATI cards run max memory clocks and higher core when you have a second monitor hooked up, even my ASUS 7970 DCII idled in the 40-50 when it was summer here in Australia.
     
  3. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
  4. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,216 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Try ATTray tools and make a profile for 2d browsing and 3d gaming.

    This should stop them from 'spooling' up whenever they feel like it.
     
  5. Sadasius

    Sadasius New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    263 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    I never noticed a temperature change going form one monitor to two. I find this weird.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,805 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,281
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You shouldn't. Has been this way since 5-series cards.

    First, lowered clocks gave huge cursor corruption, and flickering monitors. The fix was a clock increase.


    This, of course, leads to the higher temps. Then, the flicker wasn't truly fixed for everyone...


    then the cursor corruption came back...


    I used to get tonnes of comments on how my temps were high...blah blah...that's part of the reason they were recognized as "high". Nobody caught on about that though.


    the 5850 i ahve left here, and both my 7950s do teh same, high temps at idle, becuase clocks do nto sit at 300/150...they sit at 500/1250, with UVD voltage. :p
     
  8. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,805 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    Hmm. Nice to know, I have never noticed temps, but I have wondered why my clocks sometimes don't idle down as much. My Cards are sitting at 22 and 26 degrees, respectively with two monitors. I guess that's what blocks are for;)
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,281
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :roll:


    Yeah, in that case, you'd not notice too much. :p


    :pimp:
     
  10. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    847 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    Nvidia cards used (may still, I haven't really checked) to do this as well, they wouldn't down clock all the way when multiple monitors were connected.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page