1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual Power Supplies in One Case

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hv43082, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    I was just wondering if anyone here know anything (articles, personal knowledge, etc.) about using two power supplies in one case and how the process works. I've been trying google but nothing relevant so far. Thanks in advance.
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    The newest method for the second PSU is the new 5.25 bay Video card PSU. It was introduced by ATI and many company's are offering them now; with more to come in the future. The 2nd PSU only powers the Video card(s) and takes the demand off the Main PSU.
    They are also rated to supply exactly what the video card needs without sharing amperage witht the entire system.
  3. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    The only one I can find right now is the Thermaltake 250 W. I don't think this is enough for the upcoming ATI/AMD R600 card. I also don't want to cough up $200 for a power supply.
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
  5. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    ktr, do you know if they sell the mobo adapter separately?
  6. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I have no clue...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page