1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

dual screen problems

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by chirp, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. chirp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have a GeForce 7900GS with a Gateway FPD 1975w hooked up for a desktop monitor. Some months ago I added a Sony Bravia flat screen to my office wall so I could run DVD's in my computer and watch them on the TV. I was able to run both screens simultaneously and things were working great.
    I now have a problem running the DVD's and watching them on the Sony. When I move the Windows media window from the desktop to the wall tv, the dvd increases in playing speed and either plays real fast or goes black and won't play at all. I don't know what I did to mess things up.
    Can anyone help?
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    is it the same button as fast forward or something? that seems like a weird problem o_O

    Listen to mussels!
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2009
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    sounds like a codec/player problem.

    Try with a different media player.
  4. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Playing video on MONITOR OUTPUT 2 causes problems with so many GPU cards. You are not alone.

    To truly solve this, get yourself a dedicated GPU for the SONY Bravia. They are not expensive. You only need one with media acceleration, you dont need 3D performance. A PCIe x1 or PCI slot is good enough for driving a TV.
  5. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    crtecha says thanks.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    noooo not k-lite. k-lite is terrible, will you people never learn?
    even after this pack stopped people playing fallout 3, people still dont get the hint.

    If you want to reccomend a codec pack, use CCCP.
    http://www.cccp-project.net/
  7. chirp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The Plot Thins

    Here is an update to those who have responded.

    I didn't mention previously that I have a dual boot system. It appears that the dual screen is not a problem when booted up in Vista. I can view DVDs and move from my desktop to the sony and things function properly.

    That leaves the problem on the XP side of my boot up and that is the system side that I would need to use both the monitor and the Sony most often. I am able to view videos that are in "My Videos" folder that were downloaded from a video camera. I use Windows media and move the video from desktop to Sony....it works fine. Once again however, if I view a DVD on the desktop monitor, then move it to the Sony it seems to run at fast forward speed and, the video itself shrinks in size while the WM window stays fully open. I failed to mention this previously.

    I decided to remove the video card and "air dust" the tower. It has not fixed the problem. I am thinking of removing the video drivers and reinstalling them. Also considering the same for my DVD drives.

    The last of my efforts will be directed towards the codec downloads. I figure you guys are probably on the right track with the codecs but, I am a bit nervous about going that direction for two reasons.
    1st...the XP boot was playing the DVD's properly on both my desktop and the Sony until recently...wouldn't that mean I have the proper codecs already on my system? If so, then I am thinking that I accidently tweeked something with the DVD drive or the Video card settings. Please tell me if I am wrong.

    2nd, and more importantly...the last time I downloaded free codecs off the internet they carried the virus known as "2008 anti-virus" onto my hardrive. It basically destroyed my system and I had to reload the XP. Obviously, that was a disaster! I am really uncomfortable about doing that again. Okay, call me "chicken".

    What do you guys think? Are you still convinced that it is a codec problem? Do I have to worry about bringing a virus in again if I download from the sites you mentioned?

    Thanks for your help!!!!!
    chirp
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Those links are safe, no worries... remember to always go on know sites and download known program to not get virus :p I still say to try the codecs and maybe reinstall those drivers...
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    The fast playing puzzles me, though a completely black screen is completely normal. Change the screen to primary and it should fix that. (and then show a black window on the other screen)

    It's an issue with overlays. Disabling hardware acceleration completely for instance solves it too.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    i have an idea. since you mentioned its only happening with DVD's, that would explain a few things.

    When playing DVD discs, your video card gets invovled and accelerates the playback to alleviate CPU load - however i do recall something saying that secondary screens dont get hardware accleration in XP.

    One thing to do would be to disable any hardware accleration for video playback in your media player software, and/or in your video drivers, if an option is there. Forcing it back to software, should make it work on both screens.
  11. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Im not entirley sure about Nivda drivers, But i would make sure you have 'Froce TV Detect checked in your nivida control panel, make sure you have secodery monoter set as Defuld Video playback, and make sure you have it set on correct resalution and refresh rate, its definitly not anything wrong with media player, make sure you have uptodate drivers for your vid card,

    have you tryed draging the mediaplayer window over to the TV then starting the dvd??
  12. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
  13. chirp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Great responses everyone!!!
    I'll get to work on my end to see what I can do. I am sure it will keep me busy this weekend.
    I'll let you know........
    Thanks!
  14. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    +1 for CCCP, also since I've seen many an "illegal" download of k-lite packs, including those filled with Trojan Horses, Worms and other crap, while CCCP is simply legally downloadable from their official website.
    Switched about 3 years ago and haven't got any problems since. At all.
  15. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Try using VLC media player instead. I had the exact same problem as you do and playing them in VLC fixed everything.
  16. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    The K-lite Pack is OPEN SORCE, its not illegal,
  17. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Is it? Last time I checked it was just a pack of codecs put together. Either way it's not illegal.
  18. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Hence me quoting "illegal". The first generations of K-Lite packs were more often than not packed with a bunch of stuff infecting your system.
    After some Googling, I still don't see an "Official" base for K-Lite, which makes it still the easiest pack to catch something bad from.

    I highly doubt it's Open Source status though. Freeware is not the same as Open Source.
  19. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    yea, sorry, what i ment was Media Player Clasic is open sorce, K-lite was for that
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    MPC is in a lot of codec packs.

    K-lite has problems because its installs multiple codecs for the same task - divx and xvid at the same time, for example.

    Also last i checked K-lite was illegal, as it included codecs for quicktime and realplayer - that may not be illegal now, but it was then.
  21. chirp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks to all

    Hey Guys,
    I really want to thank you all for the help. It seems that whenever I have a problem and I throw it onto this site I get a lot of great responses. I am not a wizard with computers...it's more of a learn as you go for me but, I take the info from feedback on this site, put it to work as best I can and, it always seems to work!

    So here's how it went...
    I decided first to upgrade my video card. It was time and, they are so cheap these days I figured "what the heck". Things went well but didn't solve the problem.

    I braved up and downloaded the cccp codecs program. I decided on this one because I remember I downloaded it once before onto my Vista boot and since Vista wasn't giving me a video problem maybe it was because of the codecs previously downloaded. It helped in some ways but didn't solve my problems. First it allowed me to play some .flv files that I had saved over time that I could never get to open with windows media. More importantly, I could now move WM from my desktop screen to my sony and it would maintain the proper playing speed. The audio was still choppy and could only play at a low level and it still would shrink the video image or go completely black but, I had part of the problem solved!

    I then uninstalled my DVD drives and reinstalled them again. That seemed to help freshen up the sound and volume levels during playback. I think there are some generic codecs that come in real handy when the NERO and Roxio programs install. So I was 1 step closer again.

    I finally started to investigate playing my DVDs using another media player. I had tried this sometime ago without success but, I hoped by trying it again now it might kick start a codec or something that might allow WM to play things in better fashion. I think it was Roxio's media express that was the first to play things correctly with the crossover from desktop to Sony. I have since gone back to WM and, it is playing things perfectly.

    I can't tell you all how happy I will be today as I sit at my desk working while watching the approximate 591 minutes of a Rory Gallagher DVD given to me for Christmas. Oh, the simple things in life, huh? lol

    So I post this final message as thanks to those who helped me with this problem and also to those who know as little as me as inspiration to stick with it and don't give up....it's never easy but it is always worth it!
    Chirp
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    well if you're still having troubles, dont forget to check the link in my sig about my media PC. theres a whole guide in there about setting up media player classic that comes with the CCCP codec pack, and ways to make HD content run smoother - some of it applies to DVD movies as well.

    Just remember to check what codecs are in use (right click the video when a file is playing in media player classic, and check filters) and if you're having problems try disabling that codec (its mentioned how in the guide, by adding an external filter) and trying various ones (prefer/block) until you get working audio and video.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page