1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dumb dude looking for help with buying a new video card.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Riuoken, May 17, 2012.

  1. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So i bought a plain ASUS CM1630 model desktop at bestbuy a year and a half ago and im trying to run Diablo 3 and its alittle choppy at the lowest settings so im trying to purchase a new video card to try and boost it. Unfortunately im not very techie lol so i need some help with making sure i don't buy something and it not work for me...

    My Computer >
    http://www.asus.com/Desktop/Entertainment/Essentio_CM1630/#specifications

    What im looking at to upgrade to -
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005C8RTTU/?tag=tec06d-20

    i know ill need to upgrade the power supply because i think its just a 300watt but i just want to make sure by asking some smart folk if this will work for me :). or if you guys have any better/cheaper suggestions ill be extremely grateful. Thanks guys for taking the time to look at this and help!
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You will need to upgrade the PSU whiles you're at it. newegg has a Corsair 430 quite cheap. Also another forum member has one BNIB for like 28$
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,370 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    I think a PSU upgrade is in order, just to be on the safe side. But you can try anyway.

    edit: Also, make sure you have an open compliant PCI-E slot to put it in.
     
  4. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    lol, I have never seen a desktop computer ship with 300w in a regular form-factor. Unfortunately a new PSU will be required in this instance no matter what you put in it.

    While getting a cheap PSU sounds nice, it might not be a bad idea to get a nice $700w. The PSU is one thing inside of a computer that never really gets outdated (aside from the few interface changes that happens once every decade)

    PSUs are incredibly easy to fix also, mostly having to do with blown capacitors. If you have the money, make the investment.

    Also dont forget to check out the B/S/T section of TPU for great deals. There is a 6950 flashed to a 6970 that I saw going for the same price as the 6870 you posted.
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Most of the time a prebuilt PC tries to get away with the lowest possible PSU to reduce cost. I would not doubt it having a 300W PSU
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    that spec dosnt really state what processor or how much memory , i mention it because rams very cheap and 8 gig maybe 16 is the way to go

    If you fill in your system specs in your user CP ,it makes it easier to help :)

    welcome to TPU

    I personally would go for a 500CX system builder corsair Psu as its a good inexpensive Psu thats capable enough to take pretty much any gfx card, bar some odd dual gpu cards (older 'GTX590's,6990) the Gfx card looks good ,after dipping a toe i can only but recomend buying of a forum member tho.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    It makes sense of course, as the vast majority buying them will not upgrade them.
     
  8. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, i added my specs. Hopefully that helps some.
     
  9. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    yep, I recommend a cheap, minimum 500w, recommend 550w, psu and that flashed 6950 ^^..
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,478 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,761
    For the OP, Atleast a 550 Watt Powersupply for that machine.

    Seasonic, Antec, Enermax, PC Power and Cooling, XFX


    You must of not been building or fixing computers in 98-2000+ era.

    For OP- really no need to flash the card, risk instability
     
  11. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Man, I feel for the OP. He just bought a computer (If I'm correct), and now he has to spend another chump of cash just to play Diablo 3.
     
  12. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nah, i bought this computer a year and a half ago.
     
  13. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Oh, well I guess it's a perfect time to upgrade then!! :)
     
  14. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im not trying to be a smartass by any means because im grateful for all the help. But as i stated in my original post i know ill need to upgrade the PSU. And that it was not my main focus for this topic. I just need help buying a better video card and wanted suggestions for the card i picked or if others had any other models suggestions. I just want to make sure the video card fits in my motherboard and works with my computer. I will worry about the PSU afterwards when i finalize my decision on a video card and find out how much of a PSU it needs : )
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,478 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,761
    its because it was an IGP machine. Atleast he has 1 PCI E 16 port to plug a Atleast a 6750 Into
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would go 7870 or 7950 if you have it in the budget
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i know this will make it alittle harder, but i cant devote too much cash to this endavour unfortunately so im trying to look to spend below 200$ on both the video card and PSU.
     
  18. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  19. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    The 6870 you listed is good for Diablo 3. I would personally go for a 6950 because it's newer than the 6870. But either way, both card will play Diablo 3; however, I don't think you will be able to play ULTRA on a 1080p screen seeing that many of the people are capping at 60fps (V-Sync On) with a high-end GPU.
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Have you though about buying a second hand 6950 unlocked shader card on the forums? Throw up a WTB thread for that or a 560TI/480GTX
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually i take all those suggestions back ( i know i keep throwing them out there but im looking still at the moment) what about this one ? -
    SAPPHIRE 11188-22-20G Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit G...
    i know its 200$ but at least i wouldn't have to upgrade for a while.
     
  22. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Great card, and a nice price too. You'll need at least a good 550w+ PSU (with dual PCIe connectors) to run it, though. That'll set you back about $60.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,478 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,761
    Thorough Driver Removal is a must, plus you want to disable the IGP,

    Last effort would be to upgrade that CPU to a Quad Core Athlon II or Phenom II

     
  25. Riuoken New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thorough driver removal? what does that mean? Like the drivers on my computer? or removing the old video card? oh and the disabling IGP... like i said im a noob so i have no idea what that is : x
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page