1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

dumping cache on a 360

Discussion in 'Games' started by i nEeD HeLp, May 4, 2009.

  1. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    ok long story short, i wanted to play halo 3 but loading time were very very long. im talking 7 mins for the first mission.
    so i looked around and found that dumping your cache can fix it.
    my question is...... what does the cache have in it? and will it get rid of any
    SAVED GAMES?
     
  2. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,119 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    save games r seperate, ull need to reupdate when u start a game but thats about it
     
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  3. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    OK thanks wasn't sure if i should do it.
     
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Have you got Halo 3 installed on the HDD?
     
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    having halo 3 installed is a bad idea because it stores cache on the hard drive so if the xbox has to read large cache and the game at the same time from the hard drive it take a hit

    they recommend you do it from disk
     
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Nope, you can clear the cache whenever you want and it wont effect your saves ;) But it does sometimes delete recent game updates :(
     
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  7. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    that's ok and i paly it from the disk. i tried sigleplayer and online. split screen is really slow
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page