1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dungeon Lords 1920x1200

Discussion in 'Games' started by Violeta, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. Violeta

    Violeta New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Can someone please help me interpret and implement the following:

    http://www.gamebanshee.com/forums/dungeon-lords-93/custom-resolutions-in-dungeon-lords-ce-90414.html

    and

    http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/wiki/index.php/Dungeon_Lords:_Collector's_Edition#Method

    I am trying to get this game to play in 1920x1200. These methods tell me to open dlords.exe in a hex editor. I got two of them installed: Cygnus Hex Editor FREE and Hex Editor Neo.

    I try to search for the strings told to me in those two files. No matter what I try, I cannot find those strings. Out of 40 06 00 00 C7 05 E4 09 60 00 B0 04 I am able to find C7 05 E4 but that is it, and I have no clue what the guy is talking about when he says to look "at the two bytes starting at position 210,605" and "at the two bytes starting at position 210,615". I was able to find in the left column a 210600 and a 210610 and a 210620 but this goes up in increments of ten, not five, and the strings next to these numbers are all zero... anyway, if anyone can help me get this game to play in 1920x1200 I'd really appreciate it.

    Thank you!
     
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,522 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    This is the dlords.exe from Dungeons Lords Collectors Edition:

    [​IMG]

    Looks like the poster from the first link meant a decimal offset, not hex. Though I don't know why your editors couldn't find the string from the second link. There's seven instances of it, each one a different resolution setting. I was able to change up the highlighted one (640x480) to 1920x1200.

    Unfortunately DL doesn't want to run on my box right now and I couldn't try out the edited exe. I'm between video cards at the moment and it's either having a problem with the integrated Intel video or Vista 64.
     
  3. Violeta

    Violeta New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ugh this is driving me insane! It won't work. I can't find those strings.

    In Free Hex Editor Neo, I make sure the file "dlords.exe" is open (I don't have the Collector's Edition, by the way, I have the regular!) and click on Find... and under "type" I choose ASCII String (char[]) and then whatever I put in C7 it ALWAYS comes back with "A pattern was not found." Also selected is "search whole file" and "search down". "Find All" isn't supported with the free version but I can't even find C7 under "Find what:" Should I choose another setting under "type" when I search?

    I also have Cygnus FREE EDITION installed. I open the same file. I click on the binoculars and under "Find what:" there is a text box. In it there are four zeroes hard-coded in the text field and I can type something in after that. I can find C7 05 E4, and there are many instances of them, but NO 09 60 00 exist anywhere after the E4. The resolution in my game right now is set to 1600x1200 (whatever the default highest resolution the game provides), and I would like to set it to 1920x1200.

    Today is the first time I've ever heard of a hex editor so I am probably messing up the searching for the particular strings. I also am not sure how to change the values once I find the right place but I figured I would tackle that next after I've found it.

    Thanks for your patience and I really appreciate your help!

    PS. Also, when I try to enter the string in the text box in Cygnus FREE EDITION: C7 05 E4 09 60 it automatically changes it to 0000 C7 05 E4 09-60 ....` (the 0000 are hard wired there as I said before, and it puts that line between the 09 and 60, and automatically populates the ....` to the side. Of course when I hit Find Next I get "String not Found." What am I doing wrong?
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2008
  4. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    this should help you, it does it for you. click

    works a dream with swkotor at 1650x1080.
     
  5. Violeta

    Violeta New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    A few Questions:

    Thank you! I hope I can get this program to work.
    A few questions:

    1. Does this work with the 1.3 patch?? It is what I have.

    2. When I select the directory in which the dlords.exe file is, NOTHING HAPPENS. I have the Game Installation Folder selected to Program Files\Dreamcatcher\Dungeon Lords and yet the Patch button is grayed out and will not let me click it.

    3. Where you can type "New Resolution" for width and height, I can't enter anything here; I click the cursor in the text box and it won't take any characters.

    4. What do I do with the "patches" file that was included with the download?

    The program I downloaded does say "Important Details: Patches version 1.1. Point to the folder containing dlords.exe." So, I assume that since I'm pointing to that folder and the patch button isn't lighting up, it's because I don't have version 1.1?

    Thanks!
     
  6. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    I don't personaly have the game but I will try to answer your questions.

    1. it says it patches version 1.1.
    2.have you tryed using the 'find it for me' button?
    3. sorry I don't know.
    4. I didn't use it for anything but widescreen still worked for me in swkotor.

    it is possible that because you do not have patch 1.1 that it is not installing.
     
  7. Violeta

    Violeta New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Yes I tried using the find it button.... the patch button just won't light up, so I think it is a version issue. I'm not even sure if I should use the 1.3 version of this game; that's just the latest patch on the official website. I see there are newer patches elsewhere and I'm not sure if I should get a newer patch or not. I see people talking about a 1.4...
     
  8. Sdrol New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Solution

    40 06 00 00 C7 05 E4 09 60 00 B0 04 Collectors Edition

    40 06 00 00 C7 05 E4 B9 5F 00 B0 04 patch version 1.4

    It took me hours to find this i changed it to (90 06 00 00 C7 05 E4 B9 5F 00 1A 04) For 1680x1050

    what i did was search for ---> (B0 04) then looked back (towards the left of the screen) on the line i found looking For ---> (40 06) if it was not there i looked again and found what i was looking for.

    good luck with this this may or may not work for you but be sure to patch your game up to version 1.4
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page