1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Durango To Feature 16-Core CPU?

Discussion in 'Games' started by xenocide, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,945 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
  2. Captain.Abrecan

    Captain.Abrecan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    175 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    MA
    Yeah, the best games would be several years out on the platform's life. Which at this rate, is looking to expand on the stretched life the current generation is using now.
     
  3. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    It wasn't. It was the actual nature of the extra processing units that made it difficult in practice, not their number. I get what you are trying to say, just being a wee bit nitpicky :pimp:
     
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,130 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,657
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    It really needs to have a gpu up to par with at least a 6850/7770 or the like. the old current one had a fairly recent/powerful gpu for its time when it came out as well as the older one (first xbox).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xenos_(graphics_chip)
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
    More than 25k PPD
  6. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    I hope they use a highly customized chip like they did when the 360 was in development, the R500C1 was the most advanced. GPU and ever made at the time and was the precursor to the entire Radeon HD line
     
  7. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Something to keep in mind for the GPU, the original Dev Kit 360's came with X800-ish GPU's, and the final release was the Xenos (X1800 with additional features). So just because the original dev kits have HD6670's, it's entirely likely they could be bumped as much as to a HD7870 level GPU. :x
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page