1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dust, the ultimate overclocking tool

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by ShiBDiB, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    .... so ya i cleaned out my rig, was a bit dusty so got in there and its lookin all nice now.. try to boot up and get bsod's.. drop the 24/7 stable clock 3.7ghz down to 3.6 and it boots no problem... what the f :banghead:
     
  2. knightlag New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Reseat your HS/F, seems like you may have knocked it a bit.
     
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    my temps r still about the same tho?
     
  4. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Get some dirt and put it back.:roll:
     
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Never heard of that one before.... Didn't break a capacitor off did you? I can't think of anything other than heat. Or the odd chance that the dust was creating a pencil mod like effect.
     
  6. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Check all your wires and make sure you didnt pull 1 loose.
     
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I have learned dust is semi-conductive (sadly) from experience. Don't let JC fool you, it could be a strange phenomenon. I have had dust make my capacitor explode... I did a controlled test on my breadboard... it was scary.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,556 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    without knowing your dusting procedure, we're just guessing.

    One common thing i see is people take the ram out to dust it, and then put them back in a different order. The order of ram sticks can easily affect OCability and stability.
     
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    It would be strange, but possible. I agree that dust is semi conductive, it just MIGHT be possible that it was affecting something.
     
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    nothing came out, just a little compressed air and wiping stuff like the gfx card down. It wasnt a major cleaning, just opened up the case cause i was gonna swap my dvd drive for a dvd burner, but lazyness got the best of me so it turned into a quick cleaning
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page