1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DVD ROM drive, flash card reader, and hard drive slowing data transfer speed

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SuperPanasonic, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. SuperPanasonic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hello!

    I need help with three issues, but they might be related.

    Issue A: When I put a CD/DVD into my DVD, the system (My Computer/Properties) recognizes the hardware, but it will not play. (Drive letter "D".)

    Issue B: My computer will not recognize my data (flash?) cards from my digital camcorder/camera.

    Issue C: My computer's hard drive (Drive letter "C") once accepted my Firewire uplink (1333). Now, my NLE (Pinnacle Studio 9 Plus) give the error message "Drive C is not capable of capturing DV data", meaning it's date transfer rate is too slow.

    How can I fix these issues? Do I have to buy a new hard drive? Please help me. :(

    Here are my computer's specs:

    *Motherboard - L4S5MG
    *800MHz Front Side Bus System Board w/Intel 865PE Chipset
    *Intel Pentium 4.266 GHz HyperThreading Processor.
    *It's made by Viscom (V2 Premier).
    *120GB Western Digital 5400RPM EIDE Hard Drive
    *SIS 64MB AGP Video
    *Creative Sound Blaster Live 24 bit sound card
    *DVD-RW/CD-RW Drive (working fine)
    *DVD Drive (being fickel, as well as my floppy disk drive)
    *PRO-9 Compact Flashcard Reader with Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro, SmartMedia, MicroDrive, Multimedia, Secure Digital, xD, and FireWire ports
    *OS is Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    *NLEs are Adobe Premier 7.0, Pinnacle Studio Version 9 (the program where I do my data rate test), and Sony Vegas
     
  2. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    1st ? What wattage is the power supply
    assume that all work well untill recentlly or have you installed any new hdware?
     
  3. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,372 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,222
    Start-->Control Panel--> Performanca & Maint-->System-->Hardware Tab-->Device Manager


    In the new window that opens click the + sign next to the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers. In the listing below double click the Primary IDE channel. In the new box that opens select Advanced Properties.


    Now either you can type out what is in the Current Transfer Mode boxes or use Shift then Print Screen to create a screenshot. YOu paste that in Paint and save as a .JPG file and post that.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. SuperPanasonic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    I believe it's like a 520 PSU, but that's off the top of my head.:eek: (I'm not at home right now).
     
  5. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    520??? on that rig more likely 220/320 but if not the psu prob the ECS motherboard .the 5400 speed hdd should be alright >>IF its not too full ie.90+gb
     
  6. SuperPanasonic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll give that a try. I have gone into the Device Manager and changed it from DMA to PIO Only and then back. But I'll try this method, too.

    Wondering (and anyone reading this can answer, because I need help!), is there anyting in BIOS that I need to change to make the data transfer rate on my hard drive read the correct speed of 7200MPS?
     
  7. SuperPanasonic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Your sig is HILARIOUS!
     
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,372 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,222
    I believe you mean 7200RPM. If the BIOS stated 5400RPM then it truly might be.


    Western Digital did make some high capacity drives with the older 5400 spec.



    And your system specs are abit strange. 800MHZ on a 865 chipset was about 4 years ago. And unless your CPU was upgraded or you have overclocked then 4+Ghz is not true. Possibly a HT chip that is 2.4 X or a 2.0 X 2.


    The reason I was having you check your transfer mode is a PIO (Parented Input-Output mode, the CPU is part of the transfer equation,) as opposed to DMA (Direct Memory Access) that has no CPU load and allows independant timing and high speed read and writes directly to system memory. And the DMA mode will determine if there are or have been errors during the read and write process.


    Windows will automaticly drop the read-write speed if the drive or controller reports errors or if the data transfered is corrupt. It does this with no user input, and the only way to tell is to check or to look it up in the registry.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    old mb 2002 mdl
    spec:CHIPSET
    SiS®650 & SiS®961 Chipset
    SiS®650 Host/Memory controller with AGP4X North Bridge Single Chipset
    Built-in High Quality 3D Accelerator
    SiS®961 MuTIOL Media I/O
    LPC I/O - IT8705F
    System Hardware Monitor: Built-in IT8705F
    LAN: RealTek 8100/B (Optional)
    AC97 Audio Codec
    Compliant with AC97 2.1 specification
    prob reached end of life ...fast way back when...:)
    but from Issue A B &C prob south or north chipset starting to fail.. p4@2.66 Ghz most likely all it will support
     
  10. SuperPanasonic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you everyone. I guess I'm going shopping for some upgrades!:cool:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page