1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DVD/Rom not auto running.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by trickson, Mar 11, 2012.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Okay I have done lots of looking on Google and have tried every thing I know, Control panel - default programs - Change auto play settings and every thing, Yet when I put in any disk they will not auto play, Nothing happens till I go into the drive and open it up. I need to know what the heck happened and just how do I fix this. Also there are no longer any Icons in the display when a disk is put in, Like I used to get an Icon of the game on the drive that had that game now NOTHING at all! The drives all work burn and every thing, What is going on?
    This is on both HP DVD/ROM drives. Every thing you need to know about my setup is listed in system spec's and sig.

    Please help :respect:
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2012
  2. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2012
    trickson says thanks.
  3. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    i can tell whoever wrote that is not a native English speaker
     
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    services.msc with another "s" in services
     
    trickson says thanks.
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I think that fixed it! "Shell Hardware Detection" Was disabled for some reason! WTH?
     
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yep just to confirm it works perfectly now!!!!
    Thank you SO MUCH! :respect::respect::respect:

    YES! :rockout:
     
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    yea i think an update or w/e at some point disabled it as a "security" feature to keep some maleware from auto running from usb drives, etc.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Whatever it was it must have happened after the fresh install of the OS I did last month, Maybe when it installed all them updates? Thank you for the help sure is nice having them back! :respect:
     
  10. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    I remember a similar issue with default programs and .jpg files in XP, where they disabled the use of mspaint and defaulted to the fax viewer/preview thingy for w/e reason. some kinda exploit they were doing a work around for, that is until a later patch came out (i think... been a while)

    yea autorun is pretty handy sometimes, esp for installing games lol
     
    trickson says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page