1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DVDRW makes entire pc unresponsive

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by shevanel, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I have burned about 8 DVD's in the past 3 days without error..

    But when I went to install borderlands the pc became very slow.. so i walked away for an hour and came back and it was almost done.. cpu usage under 10%

    Then now im trying to install another game and as soon as it begins to install the entire pc become slooooow.. as soon as I cancel install the pc comes back to life.. cpu usage never over 10%

    I uninstalled in device manager and allowed it to reinstall the driver.. no fix.

    Anyone have any suggestions as to what may be happening?
  2. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Tried updating firmware?

    To me, sounds like a dying drive. I've had heaps of drives that lock the computer up completely when installing/burning (when the drive is on its last legs). I dunno, they just don't make 'em like they used to.
    shevanel says thanks.
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    worked on your PC lately? is the cable loose? does the drive loud?
    shevanel says thanks.
  4. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    well, i just uninstalled dataram and rebooted.. now its installing without a hitch. I wonder why dataram fucking TKO'd that drive like that?
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2009
  5. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Yes its the shipping that most likely killed it. Why would someone ship without padding. Thats really sloppy. :(
    shevanel says thanks.
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    intresting sounds like a focus range problem. like it can get to the focus point to burn but it seems like ita having trouble focusing for read ops. but not sure id say it may have gotten bumped and now its off 0
    shevanel says thanks.
  7. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    but now i uninstalled data ram and boom, its installing the game right now and ZERO lag like it should be..

    weird?
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    un installed what?
    shevanel says thanks.
  9. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ramdisk utility

    it's installing so fast i dont even have enough time to drop a deuce before this game loads..
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    intresting any BSOD reboots? maybe its config got messed up
    shevanel says thanks.
  11. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL

    only time i get BSOD is if I run mem tighter than 666-18... other than that.. ive never seena bsod on this machine
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    intresting and no power owtages or any other type of instant power down?
    shevanel says thanks.
  13. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    nah the pc was up for about 1.5 days.. first reboot was 10 minutes ago.. but prior to me installing the game the 1st time i was running circles around aps.. then once i fired up the drive to install.. it choked.
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    hmmmm well im not too keen on ram disks but id advise the following from my SCSI exp and my SCSI controller card.
    r card if you can
    first id test the stick of ram you use for the card if you can.

    second id try reinstalling it and going to properties (hardware properties) and seeing if theirs anything you can adjust here. but thats all i can suggest as im not that good at ram disks.
    shevanel says thanks.
  15. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i think that the installation was using the ram disk to write temporary files for installation.. and since the ramdisk was so small it was causing some sort of error.. and not completely crashing..

    thats all i can think of.. cuz the ram disk available space would dip really low everytime i started to install from dvdrw/disk

    now that the cd has a larger amount of space for temp files and ramdisk is uninstalled there arent any problems.

    im only speculating though.
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    its a possability though it doesnt explain why its happneing now...unless you had a pagefile on your HDD's at the same time. id try with a bigger stick of ram if you could if not try running a page file on an HDD and the ram disk. maybe making the pae file a fracion of however big your ram disk is...for example

    your ram disk is 512mb

    try making the page file on the HDD 128

    if its 256 try a page file of 64 see if that fixes some things.
    shevanel says thanks.
  17. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i dont miss the ram disk tbh.. im doing a fresh install this weekend.

    thanks for your help though. i do appreciate it.

    i'll keep this thread and your info in mind if i ever do a ramdisk again.
    Solaris17 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page