1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DVI not working on Radeon HD 4850

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by YEN, Oct 17, 2009.

  1. YEN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a HIS HD4850, and I cannot connect it using the DVI cable. I have to use a DVI-VGA adapter and connect it to analog. This monitor works with DVI on another computer. I have read about this same problem at http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=87447 (cannot reply to this thread as it is too old). Has there been a solution found for this?
  2. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    isnt there 2 dvi ports on this card? did u try the other one? weird problem try calling support
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    are you using a single link or dual link DVI cable? please provide a link to the specs of the monitor as well.
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Hi Yen, Welcome to TPU. :toast:
    If you fill in your system specs in the user control panel (UserCP) it will be a lot easier for people to help you with any problems you may be having now or in the future. It also helps in that you do not have to keep typing in system details in your posts.
  5. YEN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, tried them both. Going to try using the online support at HIS.

    Single link. I have updated my profile with PC specs. The monitor is
    MNTR CHIMEI|LCD 22"5MS CMV 221D-NBC

    Thanks for the info.

    Thanks for the quick responses all.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    my housemate has one of those chimeis, as does a friend of mine.

    i beleive you should try with a dual link cable, but to be honest my housemate has issues with his DVI port as well (black screen issues on an Nvidia 8800GT, and an 8600GT before that)
  7. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,580 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    My HIS 4870X2 had same problem i could'nt connect dvi cable to it,because it didnt fit in,but hopfully my card died,and I get new one from palit and I am using DVI on it now.
  8. YEN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So it turns out my problem was my DVI cable (DOH!). Even though that cable worked for the DVI on my other PC, it did not work for this card.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page