1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DVI to HDMI adapter work?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Chewy, Oct 1, 2007.

  1. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Someone I know wants a HTPC.. you know me I pick quality parts:p but Im wondering.. his sound system will be running off the tv (plugged into the tv.. atleast thats how I think it will hoook up)..

    I remember people saying theses new video cards were going to have HDMI built in but all I see on the 2600/2400's elc is a dvi port.. I dont see how you can send the sound signal out trough the dvi(video) port..
     
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Probably using some of the pins that aren't used or something. I believe they do carry sound, but I can't testified to this having never used it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2007
  3. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    the dvi to hdmi cables don't send sound, only video. If you want sound coming out of the tv, you can use the creative front bay or you can use external speakers
     
  4. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    ah ic, that makes sense! but I want some more assurance.
     
  5. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    You CANT carry sound using a DVI to HDMI connection.
     
  6. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    @ Homeless.

    I decided to add a sound card.. guess sound will come out of that LOL an lcd/plasma tv would have intakes for that eh? it will have a tv tuner card for dvr aswell duh :p
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Then how does the HDMI cable work on the 24-29xt cards...

    DVI/HDMI/Audio
    [​IMG]


    That's one of the cool things about the new ATi cards one cable for the TV.
     
    Chewy says thanks.
  8. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
  9. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Actually, a good tv doesn't have to have 5.1 audio inputs. In all reality, you really should just run the sound straight to a receiver, less interference that way. Sorry for the double post.
     
    Chewy says thanks.
  10. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Last time i checked the 2900XT had an built in sound decoder thats why it works.
     
    Chewy says thanks.
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Then you don't get volume control on the TV.
     
  12. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    kk got it now kool. he likes his music too so I guess I could HDMI to the tv.. and use the sound card straight to his receiver/speakers
     
  13. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
  14. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    dvi and hdmi are cross compatible, they carry the same signal, only hdmi can carry sound though, so with the converters, you loose sound since dvi cant carry it. if they want sound on atm you'll want a card that has hdmi, many mobos have hdmi onboard and some ati cards have hdmi on em.
     
  15. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Ehh personally....I'd take using a few remotes to get straight sound....but then again I also take the lazy way out, cause using the optical output on our sony to our surround sound didn't work right (wasn't dolby/dts digital)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page