1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DX10 for XP ?!?!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by mikey8684, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,428 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  2. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    dunno about this whole thing..installed both packs and all games run fine / maybe slight better ...played Overlord, Crysis & Assassins creed..all worked fine or little better ..so no harm caused..but my eye didnt catch any significant changes ..maybe cause my card is so crappy and i run them with medium settings..:rockout:
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,689 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    That's cool that people are seeing some increases in visual quality...but I think more testing needs done..before with screens and FRAPS...and after with the same.

    I haven't looked into this much, but how reversable is this...if at all? Is a fresh XP install required? I don't have a DX10 supporting card yet...so I'm not too worried, but I hope it doesn't screw those of you out there that are trying it.

    Definately interesting...looking forward to seeing more results! :toast:
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    When installing dx it's best to do so in Safe mode as it has a tendency to over write any new files in normal mode.
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well, in that case bta, I experiece no problems with RE6:Vegas. Kursah, unfortunately there isn't an "uninstaller" it would require a fresh installation of windows to remove it once installed.
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I wish someone would find a real way to get dx10 to work in XP.. I really dont want to go back to Vista.
  7. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    632 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    meh if you have a dx10 card, and you hack up Vista, It isn't too bad. anyways bottom line here is DX10 is for Vista only. Why haven't they got it to run in XP? because its very specific to the architecture of the OS. Wine can't run it because they have reversed engineered it, yet mind you. Really if you want to use your card for the reason you got it, buy Vista or do what I did. Go to college, become some sort of Information science major, and get Vista for free through msdnaa!
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Or you can always just play around with it. I know it doesn't bug me that it doesn't work that well. I just like to play around with stuff and make things work the way they weren't intended to.
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2008
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    bah there is a way to make it work there always is and always will be
  10. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Funny enuff Vista aint that bad i reckon but what do i no i seem to be in minority with that lol
  11. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    632 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    thats true but no one has reversed engineered it yet. if they can use it on wine, then they'll figure out how to use it in xp. but by then, a new version of directx will be out, vista will be the standard, and Windows 7 will be close to release.
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    i doubt vista will ever become standard i think with windows 7 on its way out everyone will stick with XP and go to W7...kinda like ME was skipped
  13. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Depends if ms drops support for xp wich it will do sometime.
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Don't they stop sale and support June this year or next?
  15. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    They sure do man this year i think june 30
  16. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    :(
  17. bassmasta Guest

    idk... I hear w7 will have a new kernel, which means it should have unreasonably huge problems with all existing software.
  18. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    its suppose to be a scaled down kernal from vista which will be less resource hungry im not sure about backward compatibility though.
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    vista had a new kernel so there is no reason that this can't be compatible with old programs. hell old windows 95 programs run in XP just fine and thats a switch from DOS based!
  20. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    ok i had 1 BSOD with Overlord when starting it but no other probs..plus my XP feels kinda cheesy dunno why? Gonna reinstall XP later maybe..will cope with this for a while..maybe other problems with my OS not with those "dx 10" files..
  21. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    I don't know why people just don't go to Windows Vista if they want DX10 that bad. :banghead:
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If you can read one of my previous posts you will see why. I just like to tinker with things. How about you? Do you enjoy making things work the way they were not intended to? I have no problem going to Vista, as matter of fact I may reinstall it again over the weekend and dual boot just for the sake of it.
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I did but I had too many problems and I couldnt even run it anyway..
  24. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    655 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Australia
    ive been all over vista since the RC1 stages (technet is a wonderful resource)
    which hardware config did you experience such difficulties with, Certainly not the parts in your sig?
    I find it hard to believe that you run the 2005 x64 release of xp without a much larger support and compatability struggle than vista...
    i used to have to dual boot for my tv card with the x64 build....im finding your arguments against vista a little hard to fathom
    i was running x64 on my 939 based amd rig the only issue i had with vista wasnt with vista persey more to do with shitty nvidia driver dev...so i ditched nv based stuff and floated on the clouds for a while...AMD howevr have been like gods with thier driver support and dev for vista.

    What i find most amusing is so called IT & T proffesionals reluctance to remain at the cutting edge with the vista os...how can you shun something that WILL BE?IS industry standard....not supporting vista is like stealing mooney from yourself....."Oh i hate UAC Cuz it makes me click between critical operations" WTF...iat least you dont need a console and sudo to do anything all in all i think its a great way to log in as root....support your industry you close minded tards.</rant>
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2008
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Major corporations don't update to newer versions of Windows very often because they use custom software that must remain 100% stable at all times. Switching to a new OS breaks compatibility with many of those apps. Hell, just installing IE7 on XP breaks some of these apps, as do run-of -the-mill security updates. Thus the reason there are still a large number corporation still using OSes as old as 2000 Pro.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page