1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DX11 in World of Warcraft Cataclysm?

Discussion in 'Games' started by v12dock, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,655 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    A new build of the World of Warcraft Cataclysm beta has been released along with some patch notes to go with it. http://wowleaks.com/topic68.html

    * Experimental support for DX11 (can be enabled by passing -d3d11 on the command line or SET gxApi "d3d11" to the Config.WTF file).
     
  2. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Expected it but never was sure , Im not MMORPG geek actually but i tried it and it's actually cool game , but it's a time killer , and that they are improving on graphics , i should say IT'S ABOUT FREAKING TIME!

    Seriously the game should have much better graphics we are in 2010 and they didn't seem to update them much (i don't know actually how was in 2004), i have evertything full and still , well playable , but it deserves more.
     
  3. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    This game has an immense amount of detail. :eek:

    You have to keep in mind, 99% of the wow population plays between 5 and 60 FPS. Not the 300 some of us are used to. ;)
     
  4. JUDOHAWK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    171 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    75% of the WoW community is probably on integrated graphics.
     
    El_Mayo, digibucc and shevanel say thanks.
  5. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,612 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Fixed
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  6. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    Thats one of their main selling points. A game that can run on a huge array of machines is a much more profitable one that can only play on high end ones. Granted, i think they should do it like EVE and offer a super highres pack that can be enabled if you have a machine that can run it.
     
  7. JUDOHAWK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    171 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    So true, I see so many people(same with all of you guys) that go on about how their PC can't play games when all it needs is a cheap GPU.

    Hell I was able to play games on an old PC the second I put in an HD3450 :laugh: However that computer was horrible and since then I've donated the guts to my sister as an internet/daily task box. But a 30 dollar dedicated GPU makes one hell of a difference. At low res of course :p


    But there are plenty of GPUs in the 60 dollar range that can turn a modest dual core prebuilt into something that'll handle much more than people think.
     
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,612 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Definetly
    +1

    adding a cheap offboard graphics card is the best option you can do for light gaming /heavy wow :D
     
  9. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    871 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Latvia
    Wow will have sunshafts (yes, the same that are used in Risen and Crysis), and water reflections (at last lol), and now dx 11, plus most textures have been updated in alpha builds to higher res. Game looks realy good now, but its artistic style is what realy pwns...
     
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,379 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,401
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Add me to that 99%, when I had my 4870x2 Any high pop zone or area with lots of casting and crap FPS, horrible optimization, the only difference between a 4650 and a 4870x2 is that when you are out in the middle of no where the 4870x2 hits huge FPS, but when it comes down to crunch time, they both get hammered to shit. Partially because no CF.

    The game is too straight edged, thats my only real gripe, there is no curves in WoW, everything was made with a straight edge, even circles.
     
  11. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    About damn time really.
    They need to actually optimize the engine so that it doesn't run like shit.
     
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,379 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,401
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yep, if the actually optimize it to run decently on high end stuff also it wouldn't be that bad, and added support for multiple videocards.
     
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I know your pain, a close friend of mine is running a 4870X2.
    My 5870 slaughtered his 4870X2 simply because of the outdated game engine.

    The game also favors nVidia cards since it is so ROP intensive....
    The original WoW back in 2004 is basically an early DX9 game (DX8.1-ish quality graphics), and even now it still uses the old DX9.0 rendering methods.
    They added some level of HDR lighting and shadows in WotLK, but it is poorly done and just slaughters performance when enabled.

    Simply put, this game runs like a console port because its engine is older than even the Wii's GPU.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2010
  14. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Yes it has detail but as which level , the texture resolution is like Super mario 64 , and still it runs me like 75 FPS , which is really unoptimized , yes there are vast distances of land , and I have maxed out everything, when i ramped up everything it looked better and I say it's still way playable but when you look closely those textures really are to cry for.

    You see wow like a big game but i bet they don't put any effort to the GPU department anyways because of clear fact that a lot of players can't even have those graphics.
     
  15. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,622 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yea, i gotta say i agree with ruskiSnajper, their engine isn't very efficient for what it delivers. Look at games like Just Cause 2, Far Cry 2, L4d, and RE5 all have much better graphics and perform just as good as WoW.

    I mean honestly if WoW doesn't pick it up with this dx11 graphically, then runescape is gonna outdo it.
     
  16. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,540 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    986
    Location:
    United States
    For all it's shortcomings, WoW is still an excellent game. I give Blizzard props for keeping the game playable by a lot of people who can't afford to upgrade their machines. Obviously, this is a computer enthusiast forum and we may have higher standards for the games we enjoy, but a large chunk of the population isn't much like that.

    If Blizzard does improve the graphics is the game, I hope it's not so drastic that it asses out a chunk of their playerbase, since 70% (number out of my arse) of the game's population won't have a DX11 card until 2013 or so. :p
     
  17. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    now that all the WOW people are addicted why dont they release a crysis like version (hard on hardware) to make all those people upgrade and then prices/competition may be reflective. lol
     
  18. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    They can't upgrade their machines because they are too busy botting 40 accounts... I kid I kid..... or not.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  19. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    lol my old roomate was big into wow. he played on a old pc with an 8400gs. his native res was 1920x1080 but he played the game on minimum res possible and loved it.
     
  20. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Itll be interesting to see updated graphics, i doubt it will look that much different, but probably a little bit.

    I get about 50 fps on my 4870x2 at 1920x1200. 30 fps in dal, and some fights are 25-30. Those damn particle clouds in UP on the 3rd boss fight occasionally cripple to 10.
     
  21. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,612 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    maybe its becouse its the GAMEPLAY that makes wow so great and not the graphics ^^?. compare wow to crysis, perfect example.



    you really only need mid range hardware to max out wow. anything thing over a 86/96 or even 250/260gts is just not needed.


    of course wow seems to run a bit better on nvidia then ati but a 4770 or 4850 would be more then enough. 5750/5770 being your best bet.



    add more ram and i bet you nearly double your FPS. (have you tried it without crossfire turned on?)


    with that in mind, to play at mid level graphics really dosnt take much power. a GTX240 would be overkill for mediam.

    Side note, crossfire or sli really dosnt work very well with wow unless its configured perfectly under optimal conditions.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2010
  22. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Nah i usually just keep it on. 40/50 fps is fine for me really and thats in raids. if im questing/farming its more 80-100
     
  23. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    I understand your point , but that's when the word "settings" comes to blessed worth.


    Games need to be flexible , configurable , a spot where most companies fail.
     
  24. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,379 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,401
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Because they don't need to, people who are subbed will stay subbed, why spend money producing something when you don't have to produce anything and can keep that money. Thats my gripe, I know it takes money to keep the servers up and such, but I don't want to hear some BS on how Blizz is not profiting truck loads of money each month. Eve did this a long time ago, they came out with 2 game clients, 1 for people with low end hardware and one for those that are looking to push the game.

    It shows that they don't want to push that envelope, the games been out for 6 years and has only got 1 race on each side new, and 1 new class to the game. I mean that just makes me sad. Now they will be adding another race to each side which is great, but there should be another new class, or another 2 classes with each of them being specific to each faction ala Vanilla sham/pally.
     
  25. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,612 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    yeah thats really lame, there should have been etleast 2 - 3 new class's by now and a good 4 new races.




    wow does very well with the settings options, IIRC there are 9 slider bars for various details, resolution, vsync and few other settings as well.
    as a bonus there are also a number of graphic details that can be changed via commands,
    2 off the top of my head are DX11 now and Shadow detail you can incress the shadow detail beyond what the slider will let you.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page