1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dying 7600GT, stange artifacting all the time.

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by thebeephaha, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    [​IMG]

    Picture says it all, yes it was taken with a camera phone but you can clearly see little cube blocks all over. It even does it at a BIOS level and in multiple computers.

    Anyway to save it?
     
  2. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    maybe try underclocking the RAM?
     
  3. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    is the card flashed with higher clocks?

    even if not try to lower clocks with rivatuner
     
  4. redwings0921

    redwings0921 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    not the only one

    im not the only one!
    difference is i get black lines through the screens wenever im not in an application/desktop. Like if happens if i do cntrl-alt-dlt in vista and on the loading screen, and user name select
     
  5. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yes my 8800GT now has to be downclocked cause it would artifact and then BSOD so i had to downclock from 625/1500/1800 to 444/1065/750(core,shaders,memory) so u can either try downclocking your 7600GT with rivatuner http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163
    or get a card that's better than a 7600 and completely stable :laugh:
    if i were u i'd look ata 8800GS or 9600GT at www.newegg.com. and if your on a budget a HD 3650 or 9500GT
     
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The memory on the card is dying.

    As said, you can try down clocking it...unless its too late.
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    Have you cleaned it lately?

    It is summer and temps are higher. If that isnt it I suggest an RMA if at all possible!
     
  8. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Fan/temps are fine, its past warranty. I just didn't want to throw it away.
     
  9. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I would say the memory is dying, this exact thing happened to a buddy of mine with a 6600GT...You could try cooling the ram down by underclocking, or throwing ramsinks if you have any.
     
  10. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Unless it's overheating, I would also jump on the memory band wagon. Check to make sure that the heatsink is making contact with the core. I killed a Geforce 4 TI 4200 once because a heatsink pin broke off.
     
  11. angelicavoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have some proble to with my winfast 7600GT....
    how i can fixed it??
     
  12. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    underclock it or replace it.

    With the memory dying your best bet is going to be to save up for a new card, had a 6600GT pull this on me, I kept downclocking the memory till I hit 90mhz DDR or 45mhz for the memory because the problem just kept getting worse
     
  13. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yes my 8800GT has recently worsened from being stable at 444 core and having to drop it to 400 for perfect stability....for now. i can only downclock to 315 core on rivatuner so lets hope it lasts till i get hired at DQ and 3 weeks of pay, then i'll get a HD 4870 to put in what will be a P45, which i'm getting tomorrow :D
     
  14. zilla New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes, RMA time. 7600GT's, specifically eVGA and XFX were notorious for leaky caps and memory going bad - the eVGA forums have archived posts with pictures of the 7600GT's with the busted caps and the same onscreen behavior. Sometimes it's the memory going bad.

    RMA
     
  15. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    haha my GT is XFX lol, guess it serves true about bad memory, cause i tried just downclocking my gpu and not memory but memory had to be downclocked, tis depressing, but money on the way :rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page