1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dying PSU?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by random, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Hey guys, I've experienced a few weird things with my PSU, one was a long time ago where the fan suddenly ramped up to 100% and sounded like a lawn mower but that was a long time ago.....

    My PC now just randomly restarts, I swapped out my GPU with a 4650 and the rig runs fine on the 4.2ghz everything checks out in terms of unit testing each component.

    But when I put my 5870 in the stability goes to shit and randomly gives me a black screen with no video output and the card's fan speed is on 100% funny thing is that it doesn't happen when the system is NOT overclocked it is then that I am able to stress test my 5870.

    So am I right to assume that my PSU is failing my system?
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Could be or unstable OC as it only happens when you are overclocked. Do you have a voltmeter to read the rails? what are they displaying in the bios?
  3. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    It can't be an unstable OC anymore, I'm starting to think its a serious problem with the PSU or GPU since now I can't even boot anymore even after CMOS clear and everything at stock with the 5870 inside my comp. :(
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Got a spare rig to test the GPU or a PSU to test?
  5. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Bump, my 5870 is officially dead, now to document things... It is a second hand card and lived a 3 year period, so it is definitely outside of warranty.

    This error code on my GF's computer with a generic 550w PSU confirms it is dead:

    Standard VGA Driver:
    This device cannot start. (Code 10)
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    They were released in 2009 so how do you figure 3 years old?
    Chevalr1c and random say thanks.
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,490 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    what 3 years how is that possible? :confused:
    random says thanks.
  8. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Source:
    random says thanks.
  9. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686

    Ahh well then you can say it's lived for only 1 and a half to 2 years my bad it just feels like I've had it forever and it's suddenly just gone :(

    Going to have to deal with a 9600gt for a while since I am jobless atm, any suggestions on down grading my system to afford a GPU is open, I can still credit in my current components to this shop

    www.itestate.com.au

    and purchase something else sigh..
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I would try RMA first, if no joy maybe try and blind flash it back to stock/lower clocks and if all else fails bake it/flog it on here or ebay.
    random says thanks.
  11. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    It is outside of warranty period would I still be able to RMA it straight to HIS?

    EDIT: it seems I will have 1200 AUD if return my components in for a credit, which would be enough for an i5 sandybridge setup and a 6950, would you guys do the same right now?
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  12. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Hell yea, what about your SSD though?
  13. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I guess I could get rid of em too for a better GPU but it will be a bit harder to do since I bought them from the US and can't exactly just return it. I may keep them for now unless I can find a convenient way to cash them in.
  14. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    No I thought you meant you would trade them in too. So you get to keep them and upgrade to SB and 6950 for free??
  15. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I guess I will, lmao wow... am I ripping off the shop? I mean they don't offer price protection since I bought them for 1436+ AUD initially and be only getting 1200 back but in turn I'd be getting newer gen and faster components :laugh::laugh::shadedshu
  16. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I would do it in a heartbeat it's a win win situation, the only thing going for the X58 setup over SB is the tri-channel memory which is neither here nor there tbh. Be sure to get an K variant of processor as you can't OC via the bclk, though am sure you're aware of this already!! :toast:
    random says thanks.
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,568 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Just checked and saw HIS only offer a 1 year warranty..... thats just downright poor! :shadedshu
  18. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Yep, I think this is the last time I buy components with only 12 months warranty.
  19. HXL492

    HXL492

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    :wtf: My 5770 came with a 2 year warranty

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page