1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E5200 4Ghz, Do you think my budget build can do it?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by NamesDontMatter, Jan 25, 2009.

?

Will the E5200 hit 4Ghz at reasonable temps/volts?

  1. Yes

    10 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. No

    10 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. I bet you could get 4.5 Ghz!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Alright everyone so I just ordered the rest of my brothers budget gaming build.

    OCZ 500 Watt Stealth Stream $25 AR (Installed during the week already)
    CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 $25 AR
    Sunbeam CR-CCTF $30 AR (http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2271&page=5)
    E5200 $65
    Gigabyte Mobo $53
    Sata DVD Burner $22

    So everything for 220$ total! And they got the video card free from me, a HD 4850 with a Coolink Gfxchilla (at a cool 40C idle 50C load, which is a great improvement from 85C idle 100% fan speed)

    Do you think I can hit 4GHz stable with this sucker on reasonable volts? I built a rig using this same setup, but a lesser XIGMATEK HDT-S963 last week that easily did 3.6Ghz 1200 FSB at 1.3175 volts(30C idle) without breaking a sweat.
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    you can try but there is no guarantee you will reach 4 GHz.
     
  3. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I know no guarantee, just a for fun thread :D.
     
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    I reckon you will.
     
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    JR, can hit 4.2 with his DFI P35 dk board. I suggest that you talk with him on what he did with his.. You can probably hit around 3.5.. But, it is all a guess. But, I will all ways say talk with JRracinfan on how he did it. And, I'm not lying on how high he got it! I got a text while in a meeting because he was getty! lol.. But love him like a brother!
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  6. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    447 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    Uhh you better
    1. get at least 2 120mm fans, a pci exhaust fan, a 80mm place it under ur disc drive blowing towards cpu cooler
    2.redo all the thermal throughout the board
    3.get nb and sb fans
    4. Heat sink on capacitors around socket
    5. unlink the ram
    6. Get 3d glasses(it makes bsods look so much better)

    GOOD LUCK!!! TEST RIGOROUSLY!!!
     
  7. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Fans? You Think that I use fans? Hahahaha, I laugh at you!
    :laugh:
     
  8. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    447 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Possible for 4Ghz? yes, for 24/7 stable? Could, if you like giving a cpu high voltage 1.48v+. In all honesty, I leave mine at around what would be the same performance as an e8500, 333fsbx10 1.36v.

    @Cold Storm

    Luv ya bro!;)
     
  10. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I don't really plan on doing a suicide run, my hope is I don't need to go over 1.45 to get their.
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well if you dont go over 1.45v, I say 3.8Ghz stable max.
     
  12. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I`m 4GHz 100% stable at 1.4V. And 4.25GHz stable on 1.45V but on J&W P35 pro (dead now)
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    See theres a few exceptions to this. That chip you haev is godly in the e5XXX world. ;)
     
    r9 says thanks.
  14. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Actually this is fifth E5200 that I have. And when P7N platinum died I get from work P35 pro along with this E5200 that I have now and I have not tested other E5200 on P35 and P43 board so I`m not 100% sure if it is the mobo or the CPU I was assuming the are the boards. On P31 neo-f, P45 neo3-fr, P7N platinum 3.8GHz on all CPUs that I have tested.The current one was never tested on this boards only on P35 and P43.
    And the current one is hotter and with one temp sensor stuck. The stuck sensor never drops below 54 even when first one is 40 and below at idle.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Screen 1 and 2 are same CPU and on different boards it is CPUZ and BIOS is reading different VID 1.15 and 1.1375 is not that some thing that boards reads from the CPU how is possible with different boards or same board different BIOS to read different VID ?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 4GHz.jpg
      4GHz.jpg
      File size:
      206.9 KB
      Views:
      598
    • P35.jpg
      P35.jpg
      File size:
      205.6 KB
      Views:
      512
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Which board is that on in your second SS?
     
  16. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    J&W P35 pro. With the worst BIOS EVER. 90% of combinations FSB/multi/mem ratio don`t work. When OCing only 1:1 mem ratio works. And even CPU voltage it is not set correctly. For 1.4-1.5V set in bios I was getting 1.45real.
    Had cold boot also. But when was going to start it was stable. Some times was failing on soft reset only power down then power up works. And milion more bugs. BUT it was hitting 4.25 at 1.45V :D go figure it out.
     
  17. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I think one reason is you have the M0 stepping, supposedly that one does a little bit better.
     
  18. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I`m watching some screens and others were also M0.
    But I came to conclusion that this E5200 CPU overclock better on budget boards.
    On P7 platinum it could not post above 330 fsb with 1.5V CPU and 1.5 VTT FSB even 1.6. And the same CPU I have put on G31 that does not have Volts options in bios and was posting on 350 fsb. From all boards that I have tried :
    MSI P31 neo-f
    MSI P45 neo-3fr
    MSI P7N platinum
    J&W P35 pro
    MSI P43 pro this one is the best overclocker all combination work FSB/CPU ratio/mem ratios at least the one I tried. It is running my memory great current 930 4 4 4 15 at 2.2V.
    I don`t know how this board works with C2D maybe it can`t go over 400 FSB who knows but for E2XXX-E5XXX it is great.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  19. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
  20. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,590 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    was the 2 different 3.8 setups using the same ram? only it could be them letting you down and not the chips limits.

    i think most 45nm duos will hit 4ghz if your cooling is upto it and your willing to give it some juice tbh.

    good luck with it tho and have fun :D
     
  21. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    This is great fucking chip. 4.233GHz at 1.41V.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      206.3 KB
      Views:
      483
  22. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    It is the same ram SS is with 2 sticks. And the same ram is screan above only all 4 sticks.
     
  23. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,590 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    blows that theory out the water then :)
     
  24. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I have killed two mobos in two days, I`m planing to keep this one for a wile. I`m not going any further especially with my CPU cooler on the review I read it is worst that intel stock cooler :D.
     
  25. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    When i upgraded from AMD to a E5200 i expected it to run at 4ghz, and i was dissapointed badly, 3.7-3.8 is a more reasonable target. What Gigabyte mb did you get?, cause if you got the one i got (EP43-DS3) you will probably hate it as much as i do.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page