1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

e6300 to 3.5ghz+??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by whitrzac, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
    system
    intel bad axe 2 d975xbx2
    Koolance water cooled case
    e6300
    corsair pc6400 CL5
    evga 9600gt
    OCZ 500w psu


    I have a stable OC at 3.01ghz, at 1.4v(could go less but I haven't tried) 1.5v northbridge, 1.7v southbridge.

    FSB is at 430(1720) ram is at 430(860) also.

    temps are 50* max after a 1hr run of prime95 after a fresh repast.
    the other 2 temps that the intel desktop center reports stay in the 30-35* range


    if I jack the FSB any higher, the system will not post, I'v tried lowering the memory clock, and raising the timings, with no progress...

    is there any possible way to go faster?:rockout:

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1635399

    [​IMG]
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I wouldnt take the voltage any higher, seems you have hit a wall? keep it at 3Ghz
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    From what I remember the 975X chipset has not only memory limits, but the FSB was tough to get much past what you have now. Especially under air cooling, as the voltage needed to pass the "bar" that is set now will be exponential and not linear. (in simple terms, I dont think you have the cooling needed to go much further)
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Have you ever thought about changing motherboard and CPU? you could get a nice AMD 785G and 45nm AMD quad cheap nowadays
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Exactly my thoughts also. most(90%) of 975X boards topped out between 425-432fsb with ram 1:1. At this point, you may want to look into a cpu/mobo +possibly ram upgrade.
     
  6. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
    so it is a board issue:(

    I should add that my idle temps are 29-33* while surfing/music/etc


    I have 2 of these, but I only have adapters for mobos that use screws....
    does anyone make an adapeter that I can hack onto it?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    can you give us the model number of the case?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @Brandon
    The case?! How would that effect an fsb wall?

    @whitrzac
    I doubt those are going to help at all. It's not a matter of temps causing instability.
     
  9. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Did you see his post above mine? he was curious of what those parts were and from his first post, it seems hes using a water cooled case. i just wanted to know the model number of the case :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
    are there any boards that could get me to the 3.5+ range??


    I might have a small bet going with the local scuzy PC place....:rolleyes:
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Wow! I haven't seen a PC2 in a LOOOONNNGGG time. You sir :respect: Yah i totally get the "never can be too cool" thing but i don't think they would help at all for what you're trying to do. Sorry man, I think it's time to retire the e6300 if it just doesn't give enough performance anymore.

    EDIT:

    To answer your question above, P35/P45/Nforce 7x0i. Not worth it though when you can get an AM2+ configuration that's a touch faster at same price of the s775 mobo.

    @brandon

    1.86Ghz
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    What is the stock speed of this E6300?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
    1.86...

    for $60 I picked up the case and a "top of the line" amd socket A board at CPU+other parts(sold for $120) along with another $80 case on newegg...
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    look for a used DFI Blood Iron on ebay or something;) Otherwise I wouldnt drop too much money into replacing bits to make that system run better.

    @B64, stock is 1.8ghz
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok then, the CPU you have is the 65NM version. As Jr said, its time to retire the 65nm dual core for a Newer 45nm or 32nm quad

    *EDIT*

    There is two versions

    45nm

    65nm
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI


    CPUz says 65nm
     
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    just looked, there is a blood iron on ebay for $40, and I will assure you, that $40 will push what you have until you hit the limits of the CPU. My BI ran well over 500 FSB without any extra voltage.

    $40-50 will spring a lot of life into your aging parts.
     
  19. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
    I would like to keep an SLI capable setup....

    before you say anything I have the hacked drivers/sli mod drivers for my board....
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    sorry I only saw the one 9600GT in your specs. If you got a bunch of money to throw at your quest for more performance, by all means look at the AMD suggestions the guys are throwing at you. I was trying to increase your performance with the least amount invested.
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Only reason why I am against this route, my old P35 Dark just recently died in the hands of normal day-to-day use with my buyer from about a year ago(e5200 R0 @ 3.6Ghz 1.25v, 1066 ram @ 333fsb, stock nb voltages). Board was about 2 1/2yrs old, the BI is a little older manuf date wise. I just don't want to see the OP go up "in smoke" without a board to fall back on if he gets rid of the current 975x.
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  24. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    I love how its assumed that when a guy shows up to TPU, you all assume he has money coming out of his ears. Did it ever cross your mind that if he is here asking how to improve his aging system, he may not have the kind of money its going to take for an upgrade? I say we wait for the OP to give us a budget before we start throwing what he cant have in his face;)
     
    JrRacinFan and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Also true peet, lets see what he wants to do for now
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page