1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E6400 Engineering Sample?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by llllllllllll, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. llllllllllll

    llllllllllll

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    369 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    Hello all,

    I noticed I have an Engineering Sample E6400 processor. I have not been able to find out too much info on Google about what this means, what it is, or it's limitations.

    I am also having a hard time getting it over the 3ghz mark.

    Any ideas?
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Location:
    Kansas
    I'm guessing it'll want a bit more than 1.24 volts to get past 3.0.

    ES= Engineering Sample.
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    It's a pre production chip. It was never meant to be sold, nor get into the hands of your average user. Some clock really well, some terrible.
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    Judging by what you have going there it seems that is a descent CPU. IIRC mine took over 1.3V to get to 2.8GHz on mine. When cold enough I was able to bench it at 3.95 and boot into 4.0GHz.

    I had a P5N mobo at one point. the board should be able to take you a bit farther once you get the voltages set.
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.
  5. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,226 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    I just started fooling around with my ES. I have hit 4.8 so far.

    [​IMG]
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.
  6. llllllllllll

    llllllllllll

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    369 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    Holy crap..well, u did start out over 4 lol..im starting from 2ghz lol
     
  7. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,226 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    The E8600 is only 3.3 stock :)
     
    llllllllllll says thanks.
  8. llllllllllll

    llllllllllll

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    369 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    ooops..typo..still..it's over 3
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page