1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E7200 OCing on air + micro review

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by OnBoard, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Got my new toy today, too tired to do serious OCing today, but here's a teaser ;) Got loads of pictures and a bit of compare with my previous E4300. edit: Results added in post #3, but I'll add 3,6GHz and 4GHz pics here too.

    1.1V CPU, 333FSB, 3166MHz!
    [​IMG]

    E7200@3600MHz, 1.1875V on bios.
    [​IMG]

    E7200@4000MHz, 1.2875V on bios.
    [​IMG]

    Mint in it's box
    [​IMG]

    Box opened
    [​IMG]

    E7200 frontal, it has a quite good IHS, just a tad of light with knife test, so very little concave. E4300 had absolutely horrible hole in the middle, but this hold my cooler with AS5 so tight couldn't pull it straight up and contact was great.
    [​IMG]

    E7200 and E4300 so their tight bottoms. E4300 was already sparse, but very little junk on E7200 trunk :p
    [​IMG]

    AS5 applied
    [​IMG]

    Cooler back on
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2008
  2. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    E4300 vs E7200

    E4300@3000MHz SuperPI 1M
    [​IMG]

    E7200@stock SuperPI 1M
    [​IMG]

    E4300@3000MHz 3DMark06 CPU test
    [​IMG]

    E7200@stock 3DMark06 CPU test
    [​IMG]

    E4300@3000MHz Orthos idle (see temps)
    [​IMG]

    E7200@stock Orthos idle (see temps)
    Idle temp is not right, now even close. Isn't even right on my E4300, shows 15c too much and this with less speed and voltage would be hotter, funny Intel :)
    [​IMG]

    E4300@3000MHz Orthos load
    [​IMG]

    E7200@stock Orthos load
    [​IMG]

    Load temps seem to be more accurate compared to each other, but doubt it's really that hot :) Doesn't keep up with OCed E4300 at stock clocks, but memory is also a bit slower and it wasn't a fair match. Just wanted to see how it would do.

    Will add same test with a little bit more OC tomorrow and see how E4300 will get crushed.

    edit: Cinebench R10 x64 compare
    E7200@4000MHz vs E4300@3000MHz / 8800GT stock
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2008
  3. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    3.6GHz & 4.0GHz low voltage OC's

    E7200@3600MHz, 1.1875V on bios.
    [​IMG]

    E7200@3600MHz, SuperPI 1M
    [​IMG]

    E7200@3600MHz, 3dMak06 CPU test
    [​IMG]

    E7200@4000MHz, 1.2875V on bios.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    E7200@4000MHz, SuperPI 1M
    [​IMG]

    E7200@4000MHz, 3dMak06 CPU test
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2008
  4. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    US
    hehe, on 1.1v? nice
     
  5. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    So anyone know how I could find out the stock voltage of the chip? Lowest on my motherboard is 1.10v and AUTO used that based on CPU-Z values (1.096v idle 1.104v load, vdroop mod goes a bit over on such low voltage).

    Core Temp shows VID to be 1.0125v and with E4300 it showed 1.325v, that was also the stock voltage. Intel page just shows VID Voltage Range: 0.85V – 1.3625V and doesn't really help. One review said stock voltage to be 1.2v for that processor. Retail box says 1.225V max and on xtreme systems one overclocker has 1.250 max there. His Core Temp VID was 1.0375.

    So far seems stable with 1.1V and 3.167Ghz. Maybe a little bit of gaming and tomorrow I'll fill the 2nd and 3rd post :)
     
  6. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, 1.080v idle/load on CPU-Z. That was just lowest possible CPU voltage and rest of voltages on auto. Easiest overclock ever :D Don't know how much more it would take, but seems like a sweet chip so far.
     
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    Ive never even heard of an E7200. Looking forward to results.
     
  8. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Wow, that low voltage for those clocks! I've been thinking of a new PC and this cpu will be a serious contender in my list if all overclock like this one!

    Well done again.
     
    OnBoard says thanks.
  9. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Somehow these seem not to have released in the states yet, or we in Europe are the bug testers. You might get M1 revision next month when the official lauch date is.
     
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Have you tryed more volts ?

    Im looking to see if theres something with my mobo and 45nm CPU's on the temps you get with stock vs OCed

    let me reboot so I can take a pic of stock with 1.1v and OC 3.6GHz idle are not that far apart :confused:
     
  11. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Your motherboard is almost the same, just different name. I'll try and do a quickie 3,6GHz, eyes are just getting heavy :) Think I'll use your voltages as a guideline that should be enough.

    edit: Not saying this is anyway stable, but Vista boot stable and Orthos + TPU forum stable at least :)
    3600MHz with 1.175V in bios: edit: needed a bit more voltage, results on 3rd post (#3).
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2008
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    3.6GHz 1.275v bios

    [​IMG]

    Stock 1.1v bios :wtf:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    DOM_ATI_X800XL_PCI-E: Yeah, I'm with 56C idle on stock and 3,6GHz too, seems we have the same weirdness. Have to try tomorrow if some setting has an effect, but at least the overlyhigh idle temps are not rising :) If you get the to drop somehow, please share. edit: you might even have the same amount of pencil, I see a familiar 1.080V with 1.1V bios setting and 333FSB :D
     
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Yeah I will, cuz thats kind of missed up as im on water :(

    yeah I put a thick layer of led on it:p

    What bios are you on ? the latest ?
     
  15. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    I hope you are using a stock cooler cos them temps are bad!!

    im getting less on my quad at 3.6ghz and 1.375v :eek:
     
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    did you look at both pics theres something up with the temp sensors on the 45nm cuz there the same :cry:
     
  17. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Nitro-Max: Yeah, temps are weird, so I don't worry about them. Thermalright Ultima-90i + 1000RPM 12cm fan. Outcoming air is just warm at 72C. 1,6GHz idle @ 1.1V 56C supposedly :p

    Added 3600MHz results in 3rd post. Next up I'll try and get 4GHz and then I'll soon run out of juice on my memory :(

    Yep latest, this had support for Q9300 (quadcore version of this). Version 0633 2008/04/18 update
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2008
  18. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2008
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Cinebench R10 @ 4000MHz

    E7200@4000MHz, Cinebench R10 x64 multicore, 9144 CB-CPU 1:36min
    [​IMG]

    E7200@4000MHz, Cinebench R10 x64 singlecore, 4713 CB-CPU 3:07min
    [​IMG]

    E7200@4000MHz vs E4300@3000MHz / 8800GT stock, Cinebench R10 x64, Multicore speedup 1,94x vs 1.86x (seems the architecture is much better)
    [​IMG]
     
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    thats a good chip you got there to bad the temps suck :p

    but in thinking of doing this see if I can get this Q to 4GHz also :D

    it works on P5B-E Plus ;) but if you know of a better one post it :toast:
     
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Heh, I'll stay away from hard mods :) Real temps works with x64 now as well. It showed 10C less load (95C TjMmax) and with it I can get to 47C idle (now that I'm idleing @ 2526MHz).

    Ambient is 23C, so stock idle temps should be something like 30C @ 1600MHz 1.1V, but they were 56C. Now I'm 13C below CoreTemp temperatures in Real Temp and CoreTemp shows 61C. That would make about 38C idle for stock and it's more believable :)

    Tried to go higher, but seems I've hit the sweet spot already. 1.3625V wasn't enough to keep 4.2GHz stable and that's highest voltage I'll go (Intel specs max). Mem is good for about 467FSB and doubt mobo would do that much more, so they are a good pair for this CPU.

    Low volts on 4GHz and everything seems so responsive and fast, I'm a happy. Now for some stability testing (read gaming).
     
  22. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Now see I'm an AMD fan, but even I can respect that overclock. 4Ghz on air out of the box at that voltage is amazing.
     
    OnBoard says thanks.
  23. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, I've been on AMD since my previous E4300 and now this. E8500 performance with under half the price is serious bang for the buck.

    Hour of BF2142 worked just fine. Don't know if this is 12h prime stable, but as long as it doesn't crash while gaming it's stable enough for me :)
     
  24. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    So have you tried for max OC yet??

    I would assume you would acquire some better cooling before attempting that though :)

    Id be interested in seeing what it can handle.......

    Thanks for the review! Good read
     
    OnBoard says thanks.
  25. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    The real temps of that chip would be impressive I expect!

    Geez.. now I want one.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page