1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E7200, which temps are correct?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by P4-630, Jul 24, 2008.

  1. nomad New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I will give that a try now with a little higher FSB, doing those settings;
    Here are my current settings for 3.81 GHz
    CPU Ratio 9.5 on auto
    FSB Strap to NB 333MHz
    FSB Freq 400
    PCIE Freq Auto
    DRAM Freq Auto
    DRAM Timing 4-4-4-15-auto
    Clock Over-Charging Mode 0.90V
    CPU/PCIE Spread Spectrum Disabled
    CPU Voltage 1.4125V
    rest auto

    Now What I will try
    Above same
    CPU Voltage Reference 0.63x
    CPU Damper Enable (no change)
    PLL Voltage: Auto (but i believe to be 1.6 if this is VIN1 in CPU-z)
    DRAM Voltage 2.10 (same as auto)
    NB Voltage Reference Auto (0.67x, 0.61x)
    SB Voltage: Auto (1.05V, 1.20V)


    So basically no changes yet, just to confirm the basic settings you have with a quick 2 minutes ORTHOS, if it is wrong it should break within those 2 minutes, then I will slowly increase the FSB and see what happen.

    Hope this make senses...

    ---

    I just love your temp, what is your room temp? here i need a fan not to sweat...
    Real Temp 2.70 after 2 minutes of Orthos; 67/27 and 67/28 with min 46/46 and max 68/67

    ---

    Now with Small FFTs - stress CPU, the proc temp reached 71C with peak at 71. TJ 24/25.
    CPU Voltage droped to 1.38V from 1.40V max, humm, i guess the pencil mod need redo... later..

    ---

    FSB 425, VCORE unchanged

    BIOS boot ok, Windows corrupted... reset... no boot, power off then
    back on, BIOS increase VCORE 1.425V, Damper disabled
    BIOS boot ok, Windows corrupted...
    FSB 415
    BIOS boot ok, Windows boot ok, oops no desktop icons, some apps not starting... or actually very slow .. Idle 99% ...

    Have any pointers?

    ---

    Damper Enable, SB 1.20V, PCIe 100 (Forced minimum) still the same.

    Boot to OS X now, no problems, boot fine and XBench (w/o disk) score 351 over 333 from before).

    Maybe my windows is more sensitive or got corrupted... or the IDE drive cannot follow...

    I'll do couple more tests
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2008
  2. nomad New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Now increased FSB V. to 1.34

    humm, it seem that Avast is my problem... needed to be re-registered... damn

    Now: Clock Over-Charging Mode 1.00V
    CPU Voltage 1.4250
    CPU Voltage Reference 0.63x
    Damper Disabled
    PLL Voltage 1.62V
    DRAM 2.20V
    FSB Termination Voltage 1.34V
    NB Voltage 1.45V
    NB Voltage Ref. 0.67x
    SB Voltage Auto

    Good boot, windows ok, ORTHOS seem good too... for only 27 seconds... on small FFTs... DAMN
    But ok on Gromacs core.

    Ok, enough for tonight, I hope someone can reply and point me what to do.

    Now my AVCC is at 3.38V, VIN1/VIN2 at 1.64
    VCORE 1.42 and Min/Max at 1.40/1.42

    but not stable...
  3. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    Hiya all, well I upgrade some stuff mainly my motherboard and CPU which are listed in my computer spec profile, with that CoreTemp reads my temps at 47c-48c while RealTemp reads them at 36c-37c. Which would be most correct?

    I upgrade my bios to the latest version. I posted here since my new cpu is a 7200 wolfdale. Any info would be great! :)
  4. nomad New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    kuroikenshi,

    It is know that the new E7200 uses 45nm technology, now for some reason which are still not clear, Intel has changed the way the sensor work/report and therefore most temperature reading tools will report wrong temps.

    Apparently RealTemp (RT) is the only one that can accuratly, or at least very close, report the proper temp.

    I use mine without any calibration and so far seem more accuraty than even what the BIOS is saying. I dont' know why ASUS did not put some fix in the BIOS for the 45nm temp sensors...

    Some says that if you read the CPU Diode sensor, that one will give you a very good figure, even from other tool, about your temp.

    What cooling system you use and what is your room temperature? 36-37 seem that you are in an A/C room with stock CPU FAN, which is very good.

    My temp, from the bios and other monitoring tool had to be tweak to report alarm at 80c and even for some at 90c, while RT will report peak at 71c under very heavy load.

    Hope this help
    kuroikenshi says thanks.
  5. nomad New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok, as for my status with OC'ing, well i'm back to my original settings that give me 3.81 GHz which proven to be very stable. I ran OCCT for 6 1/2 hours without errors.
    Anything I touch or move out of AUTO cause the system to become unstable.

    I wish there was a way to find out, after booting the "current" values of each of those settings, If someone has tools or the know how please let us know!!

    I will post the results on mediafire today and share what it reported during that test.

    OCCT Results PNG and JPG format now.
    As you will noticed it ran for over 6 hours then i cancelled manually

    PS: My room is not A/C and can get very hot at times.. I'm waiting to get a thermometer to monitor the ambient temp.
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  6. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    Nomad,


    Thanks for the quick reply, as for your questions here are the answers.

    What cooling system am I using?: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm (in my system details link.


    Not quite sure what my room temperature is at and I have no AC in my computer room, although that will be next on my list. I had cleaned off all the gunk from my heat sink and used the Arctic Cooling thermal paste remover set and applied new Arctic 5 on my CPU.

    If RealTemp is the most accurate out of the bunch then that eases my mind. Now I am hoping that when I OC this later today that the temp wont go too far up.
  7. nomad New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    check the link i post, you will have what i am using now for 3.81GHz

    I know of some that are running it faster, but i haven't been able to do so reliably, which might due to a warmer environment i have here or some missing settings on my mobo (or knowledge to do so...)

    I had it boot up at 3.975GHz but had problems with Windows (used for benching) that was absolutly unstable.

    Hope this helps

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page