1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E8400 temp problem

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Zenith, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I read on internet that E8400 are running cool. I have recently installed E8400 E0 Wolfdale chip on a Gigabyte mobo EP43-DS3 with last BIOS and checked temps with Core Temp, Easy Tune and Speedfan. Problem is that temperature of cores are always 47degC idle , no matter if chip runs at 333x6 speedstep EIST or regural 333x9=3.0GHz. Even on OCed chip 400x9=3.6GHz temps of core are 47degC. On load temps are 57-60+degC

    I am confused that cores are always 47degC idle, easy tune seems to detect lower temps with EIST on which is 25degC. Wanna give E8400 some additional lboost with OC but I am afraid that I am gonna cook the chip with not being aware of right temperatures.

    I remounted the cooler three times, also changed stock one with Xilence cooler and temperatures are always the same. Cooler seems to run warm but not as hot as P4 or P3 coolers did.

    Need suggestion on which temeperatures are the right one?! :twitch:
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,095 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Kansas
    What program are you using to read temps? 45nm chips are generally known to have grumpy temp sensors.
  3. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Speedfan
    CoreTemp
    EasyTune
  4. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    I have read some of the post here at TPU they said 45nm temp sensors are buggy
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  6. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Will try RealTemp and post some screens.
    Thanx.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    use realtemp.

    Realtemp has a way to tune the sensors in as well. Rough guide below.

    *Underclock your CPU, 200x6 should work for 1.2GHz. Lower voltage as much as you can.
    In theory, idling this low means your temps *should* match ambient temps (air/room temp)
    *click settings. there are adjustable numbers (including TJmax)> what you should do, is tune these in so that all your cores match your ambient (EG if ambient is 25C and yours are stuck reading 45C, adjust the numbers til they both read the same value, at 25C)

    In theory, that should tune your idle temps in properly when you go back to OC'd settings. It should *not* adjust load readings at all, therefore not making it 'unsafe' in any way - its merely for more accurate idle readings.
  8. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    ATM real temp says 42 idle and 51 at 100% load. Will try what Mussels suggests.
    Mussels says thanks.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    These CPU's arent actually giving us a temperature - its "distance til TJmax", which is great for knowing "X degrees until doomsday" but not so hot for translating it into temperature.

    I cant wrap my mind around the math involved to explain it properly, this link knows all :)
    http://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/docs.php
  10. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Underclocked is same as overclocked.
    Ambient is 22degC.

    [​IMG]
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    tune it in, so that they read at 22C then.
    tzitzibp says thanks.
  12. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    Actually, I had the issue troubling me and steelkane recently and I found out that many have the same problem.... I will also try what Mussels suggested!
    thanks!:toast:
  13. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    If you mean Idle calibration in RealTemp then there is +3 to -3degC option. I need like -20 degrees offset.
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    It's just whacky temp sensors. The 45NM chips do that for some reason. I have had an E8400, E7200 and E5200 and they all idle at 37*c no matter what. Load temps are the important ones, I wouldn't worry about the idle.
    Zenith says thanks.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    it has number fields, and they dont relate directly to C.

    I tuned a stick core here here with +1.2, and it changed the reading by over 5C
  16. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I have input -3.0 and it gave me like -6degC offset in temperature readings. I guess it applies that non-linear curve to readings that Core2Duo chips have. :eek:
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    yeah... they're messy as they get lower.

    oh well, tune it in as best you can!
    Zenith says thanks.
  18. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Gotta wonder, what are your voltages? Did you set them yourself or is the Gigabyte board on [Auto]? If I let my GB board do auto voltages it will throw 1.58v at the cpu... :shadedshu
    Zenith says thanks.
  19. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    45nm have a TJ Max of 95, stock coretemp with have a TJ Max of 105, u have you changed it to
    TjMaxOffset=-10
    in the settings.ini? mines oced to 3.6ghz stock vcore it runs at 40-43c idle 50-55c on load

    your coretemp sould look like this

    Attached Files:

    Zenith says thanks.
  20. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Yes, they are on Auto. Will check them at home.
  21. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    This was cooling solution also, I just decreased voltage for cpu to 1.200V, now cpu uses 1.132V@419FSB with temperatures around 45degC while usage of both cores is 100%. Not bad. Before it was 1.32V.

    Thanx for all suggestions.

    PS. Damn P43 board seems to have FSB wall at 419MHz. :wtf:
  22. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    its 100 tjmax you need the updated ver or coretemp ;)
  23. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Could need more NB volts for higher FSB's. I thought the same with my P45, but found out that I was hitting 420FSB on 1.2V on the NB, 1.4V would have gotten me much higher.
  24. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    :toast:
  25. Grimskull New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    197 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I have a E8400 ass well, just finsihed the build over the weekend and the temps are getting different readings from different software. My bios says 25C, coretemp says 36C, Easytune says 28C, realtemp says 31C... so im going by an average of them all!!! I dont overclock, but i do have an OCZ vendetta cooler on it and its very good, so hopefully that will sort it out!!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page