1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E8400 with XIGMATEK Rifle CPU Cooler running how

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Reynardin, Jul 6, 2008.

  1. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    For some reason, my 8400 runs at temps around 44C idling, and up to 70 C (using TJmax 95 on realtemp) under load. I'm using a XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler with Arctic Silver 5. Cpuz says the voltage is at 1.2V max. Is it just me or is it running much hotter than it should be? I've tried re-applying the AS5 and re-seating the cooler,but neither seems to work(I might be doing something wrong here).
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,774 (12.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    Are you positive you have all of the push-pins installed correctly?
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yeah, that's hot....I get ambient temps at idle, and around 45-50ish under load.
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,834
    I had the same exact issue with my E7200....make sure you have updated to the 5-08 bios from DFI. Its 45nm support and my temps dropped in load by 20*C!
     
    Reynardin says thanks.
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,586 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,490
    Location:
    US
    Wow that is hot... I never had a issue with push pins my self..
     
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,855 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    820
    I hate teh push pin system. Worst design evar!
     
  8. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm running Pheonix - AwardBios v6.00pg as my bios. could that be the issue?
    right now it's running ar 62-63 after 3 mins of orthos stress testing
     
  9. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I tried wiggling the cooler, and it seems to be very secure as it is. I know that I have the pins installed correctly, I spent like an hour making sure that I did the second time around.
     
  10. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,448 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    @Reynad i have a Xigatech cooler and E8400 as well and my 780i read the same temps, 40~45C idle stock volts and speed.

    I just ignore that because the E8400 have bad temp sensors supposely Heat wont be an issue unless you overvolting it by alot.
     
    Reynardin says thanks.
  11. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    it would make sense if it was just my idle temps, but doesn't the temp measurement get more accurate above 60C? I don't think that it should be reading anywhere near the 70 that it is now reading after 15 mins.
     
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,834
    @ Reynardin do you have CPU-z installed?

    If not here.... http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

    Open CPU-z and at the top are tabs, tick mainboard. You should then be looking at this....
    [​IMG]

    As you can see it will actually show the date of the bios on that mobo. My guess is, your date in CPU-z wont match mine!
     
    Reynardin says thanks.
  13. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ooooh that 5-08 was referring to a DATE... so I should update it? mine is 3/11/08
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,834
    Well I went from the 12/07 bios. But if you read the 5/08 specifically states its an updated bios for 45nm support. Worth a try, mine dropped 20*C @ load after I flashed!
     
    Reynardin says thanks.
  15. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok, so how do I install the new version of the bios? i've never done it before.
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Do you have a flash drive or floppy drive?
     
  17. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    will a 2 gig flash drive do? i don't have floppies.
    one sec, i'm experimenting with my fsb speeds right now, i gotta restart my comp.
     
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yes that will do! Floppy drives are easier tho!
     
  19. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    yea, i know. Still, it's what i have. so how do I flash the bios?
     
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  21. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    also, if what Xazax says is true, then will it actually be necessary to flash the bios?
     
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    well the sensor is bad but updating it will help you in other ways too
     
  23. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    could you elaborate? I don't want to run the risk of a bad flash if I don't have to.
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You wont have a bad flash if you do it with a floppy drive. Updated bios' can sometimes up the max FSB and help OCing sometimes.
     
  25. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    my bios says it can do up to 700 bus speed, and right now, I'm using 395 which I think is enough...
    rated fsb in cpu-z is 1581
    core speed is 3.557
    1.2 V core voltage
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page